We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Winter in Norway Snow, Stunning views and Hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Brekkeseter

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hovringen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Brekkeseter
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hovringen
Certificate of Excellence
Bilthoven, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Winter in Norway Snow, Stunning views and Hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Our addiction for over 15 years. Winter in Hovringen, staying at Brekkeseter on the shoulder of the Rondane mountain area with its stunning views. In the past is was our starting point for challenging trips through forests and into the mountains. Nowadays we come here with our children (8 and 11 yrs) and our friends, and can choose more easy routes that inspire our children and friends with the beautiful countryside of Norway. Staying at Brekkeseter has always been rewarding whatever activity during the day time. We could always look forward to the charming cabins or stay at the cozy Hotel with the kind hospitality, delicious food and fine wines, and of course the warm welcome by Kari and Bjorn.

Room Tip: The recent years we allow ourselves the treat of combining our self catering stays with the superb f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank R-E-vdG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    26
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
42
56
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Bamsebu, a cozy cabin with all the necessary equipment. The breakfast was delicious and dinner was superb. But what really set this hotel apart from all the others are the owners, Bjorn and Kari. They were very helpful and turned our stay into a unforgettable vacation.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Pieter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

If you want to enjoy Norwegian nature while having a nice, relaxing place to stay and getting top service and delicious food? At Brekkeseter you can do that, and feel that is far away from all the stress ...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at Brekkeseter as part of a touring group from Australia. We found it a well equipped family owned hotel (that started life as a summer farm) in a perfect setting with good access to the attractions in the surrounding national park

The accommodation and Norwegian themed meals were excellent and our whole stay made more comfortable by the personal attention of our hosts Kari and Bjorn who were prepared to go the proverbial extra mile to make our stay a success and in one situation help resolve a medical emergency.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Hamish007_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Brekkeseter and Høvringen were a new experience for us - a great and positive one. The hotel itself, the excellent and tasty meals, friendly people and the beautiful and breathtaking scenery. It is a perfect place for hiking in the mountains; one can choose between long and difficult hikes to easy and short ones. But all of them in beautiful terrain and with a panoramic view all around towards Dovrefjell and Snøhetta, Jotunheimen, Rondane and even at some places down to Gudbrandsdalen. We can highly recommend a stay at Brekkeseter, and we will be back for skiing in the winter. A really perfect terrain for all four seasons.
We stayed in the hotel, and the only small drawback we experienced was that the walls between the rooms are very penetrable to sounds.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hellasfarere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golspie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

Scenic location, above the clouds. Friendly personal greetings from the owners. Lovely tea in the biggest cups I've ever seen. The best meal we have ever had in Norway, prepared and served with care, very good quality food personally cooked by Bjorn.Very homely and comfortable surroundings and a very comfortable room, ,good shower, with great view. Our only regret is that we did not manage to return on our way south!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenM551806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karihs, Manager at Brekkeseter, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank you so much for your nice review. We are flattered over the nice coments you are giving us. It really help us stay alert and try even harder to deliver a good product. We are all the time working on the food preparation, presentation and the wine selection in order to always be better than last year. Also to improve the quality of all the houses, inside and outside. Thank you again for kind words. :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012 via mobile

Beautifull scenery, breathtaking views and historical buildings from16th century: with all the comfort and services you'd expect today. Great place to spend a weekend (or a week if I could)!
That is if you're looking for a peacefull place with a lot of atmosphere. Stayed in the cabin Østerdalsstua.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OutOfOffiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hovringen
0.3 mi away
Hovringen Fjellstue
Hovringen Fjellstue
#1 of 3 in Hovringen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oigardseter Fjellstue
Oigardseter Fjellstue
#3 of 3 in Hovringen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
25.4 mi away
Fefor Hoifjellshotell
Fefor Hoifjellshotell
#1 of 3 in Vinstra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Thon Hotel Otta
Thon Hotel Otta
#1 of 2 in Otta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rondane Haukliseter Fjellhotell
2.9 mi away
Smuksjoseter Fjellstue
Smuksjoseter Fjellstue
#2 of 3 in Hovringen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brekkeseter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brekkeseter

Property: Brekkeseter
Address: Brekkesetervegen 33, Hovringen 2673, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oppland > Sel Municipality > Hovringen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hovringen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brekkeseter is originally a mountain farm from the middel ages. The older original farm building is from 1772. However, Brekkeseter consists of many very old logcabins that are originally raised at Brekkeseter or set up during the last 15 years. These are farmhouses, barns and stabells all transformed into nice, cosy units for self catering. They are fully equipped with kitchen, bathrooms, sleepingrooms, living rooms all with open fireplaces for compfort and heat. At the small hotell it is possible to enjoy a better meal along with a good selection of wine. The place invites you to relax after a trip in Rondane National park. You may hike, bike, ride, look for rare birds or go fishing in creeks, rivers and lakes. All activities are nature based. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing