We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LOVELY PLACE”

Qiantong Ancient Town
pune
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“LOVELY PLACE”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

HI, I had been to ninghai and had a chance to visit the place. Went there in an afternoon with slight cold winds blowing, Had a fantastic time and specially had warm soya bean cake to have alongwith the sauce, it was lovely and enjoyed it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shrinagesh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    9
    10
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Still the taste of old chinese town”
Reviewed 15 February 2013

It is not as famous as Xitang, Wuzheng or Zhouzhuang, but thanks of its non-famous, it is not over-developed like other old towns. The town is not very big, maybe in one or two hours you can walk around it. But you can feel that he villagers here are still "living", this town is still "living", not just a viewpoint.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Shruye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walworth
Level Contributor
188 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“More than I thought”
Reviewed 21 January 2013 via mobile

This was well worth the trip to see. Although I researched the site on the Internet, I failed to note that this is not a museum village with re enact ours and docents, it is a real community that you are visiting. You get to see historical buildings and the people how the people living in them are stuck between centuries. For example, cable TV boxes mounted to the exterior walls while people were still washing their clothes in the stream that runs along the front of many of the houses, wells that are still used for fresh water, and beautiful stone windows that are covered with plastic to keep out the cold.

Signage in the village was done very well, multiple languages and the English was well written, not the typical choppy sentences that make you guess at the real meaning. I was lucky to be traveling on a tour with Chinese colleagues that translated the guides narrative for the English speakers.

Being a history buff, this was a real treat to experience. The areas open for tours include homes, public structures and museums. Seeing the traditional structures, architecture, narrow streets, stream running through many of the streets and small court yards with elderly people playing mahjong were extremely interesting.

As others have mentioned, there are small shops where you can buy different handicraft for what I thought were reasonable prices. I did not see any negotiating on price nor did I try. I felt the price asked for two hand-carvings were reasonable considering the wood was Teak and black Walnut. You could tell that these were hand made items and that made the price all the more reasonable.

There are public rest room facilities available in the village, I can't recall the exact number but I do recall seeing them.

A student of mine gave me book on Chinese stone windows so seeing them in real life, still being used was a really special treat. If you have the time, I recommend this attraction as a must see in the Ninghai area.

Helpful?
4 Thank Walmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of our favorites”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Though a small attraction, Qiantong is worth seeing, especially if you've had enough of China's big-city traffic and bustle. It's a well-preserved town with buildings dating from the Ming and Qing dynasties, with families still living there. On the drizzly day we went, the visitors were few, so the experience of strolling around the ancient town was very pleasant. They provided a tour guide, but she couldn't speak English. Signs include English translations, however, so you can find your way around to places like the drum pavilion, folk museum, etc., to get a sense for the layout and architecture of a small town in centuries past. Craftsmen ply their trade in little shops facing the cobblestoned streets but are not the kind who shout out to get your business. We especially enjoyed trying and buying tea at a little shop that's part of the home of a young couple. The Xing family prepares its own tea leaves (this area is famous for its green teas) and could even tell us the name of the mountain where they grew their tea shrubs.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank NCtravelstheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
Reviewed 11 August 2010

Not what l thought it would be. Went with a few locals and l was very surprised at what l saw.
have seen a lot of new China but this was great to see the old China
well worht the time to go and see

Helpful?
3 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Qiantong Ancient Town also viewed

 
Ninghai County, Zhejiang
Ninghai County, Zhejiang
 

Been to Qiantong Ancient Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing