We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing two nights at a pool villa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Raj Niwas Palace
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dhaulpur
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Relaxing two nights at a pool villa”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Wow, what a place! We stayed in one of the pool villas. There were some insects in the pool water so some kind of net to fish them out would've been a nice tool before morning swim, but that was really a minor issue. We also got a tour into the two suits in the main building - breathtaking.

Staff was extremely friendly. The place was rather quiet as it was the low season for tourism. We tried the continental and indian sets for dinner, and had a nice continental breakfast twice.

The manager sorted out our problems with our travel agent, as we were supposed to go on a jeep ride but manager recommended a boat ride on the river. We were lucky enough to see crocodiles, doplhins and antilopes.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liljis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    35
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
23
44
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Magnificent property maintained in a style that has all but disappeared. Staff and management were extremely friendly and helpful. Our "room" was a villa in the grounds, well appointed although not always as cool as could be hoped for. The food was good and drink prices were reasonable. Great base to explore the region.

Room Tip: The villas in the grounds were very quiet and restful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jogo737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaarina, Finland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights at the end of my trip to India. What a beautiful quiet place it was. For the second night I think I was the only quest.
Stayed in one of the Garden villas with own pool, which was really nice, as it was really hot this time of the year.
Visited the palace and saw the rooms there as well, they are lovely and grand.. perhaps the villa was a better option.
Food was really nice and service really friendly.
The hosts took me on a boat ride to see some birds and crocodiles, and that was really interesting. Also visited the Machkund temple complex, which was lovely at sunset.
I can recommend this hotel as a stop over when visiting the major cities and sights of India, nice calm stop over away from the hustle and bustle of bigger cities and tourists.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annamari L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwalior
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We stayed here during the Holi break with the family and friends. It is a wonderful place to unwind and relax. The staff was very helpful all during the stay. All the meals were included in the package and were prepared nicely. They had quite few things for children to keep themselves busy. Rooms are quite spacious and adequately maintained.

Room Tip: Try and opt for newer rooms available in the garden area
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RahulGwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

In 4 weeks in India, this was one of our favourite hotels. It was a quiet oasis in a busy little town. The villa was clean and spacious. Unfortunately we found there were a lot of mosquitos, particularly in the bathroom. Other than that, it was all first rate. Excellent food, excellent service, absolutely beautiful grounds.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbuddies39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We recently stayed at the property for two nights- a group of friends had gone for an occasion. The property is self-contained and the facilities are really good. The lawns are landscaped, and there are enough places to walk and sit outdoors. The service is very good, and the food was versatile enough to keep all of us happy. Do visit the Chambal River sanctuary (3 kilometers away) and give yourself enough time to take the 3 hour boat safari rather than the 1 hour safari (which due to time constraints we had to take) which is somewhat inadequate! I recommend staying in the cottages- they are well appointed and large.

Room Tip: I preferred the cottages but it's a subjective choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DGCSekhri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noida, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Its truly a hidden gem. Just off the Agra - Gwalior highway, 55 kms from Agra is the Dhaulpur Palace... a great weekend destination to soak in luxury as well as to explore the " behaads" of Chambal. Dhaulpur, a small town of Rajasthan sandwiched between Uttar Pradesh and Madhya Pradesh, is roughly midway between Agra and Gwalior, approx 1 hr drive to reach either one. Dhaulpur was a protectorate of the British East India Company from 1779 on wards. In 1949, it merged with the young Indian nation and in 1956 the princely state ceased to exist.
The Raj Niwas Palace or dhaulpur palace , as it is popularly known, was built to welcome HRH Albert Edward, when he visited in 1876.
Accomodation options in the property are 1) the huge suites in the main palace with high ceiling rooms, period furnitures and intricately designed tiles 2) the modern garden villas with private pools in the well maintained garden area.
We had opted for the garden villas ( a more economic and affordable option :-) )

At present, a young couple is in charge of the maintenance of the property.... and they do their job quiet well. The environment and the staff really make you feel pampered and royal !!

The villas are designed on different colour themes- blues and pink and beige etc. The main door opens to a central courtyard with the private plunge pool and a pool-side dining arrangement. There are separate bedroom area and sitting area. The bathroom of the villas are huge - I guess its more than 15 feet X 15 feet in size.

Our package included all meals- and I must tell you my dear friend- they serve so many things at one meal and they cook so well that you end up overeating . So please be cautious ;-)!!

We were shown around the property by their friendly staff. within their property they have an organic farm which grows vegatables for the restaurant.
Things to do - Just 4 kms from the property is the Chambal Gharial Sanctuary . You can go for a motor boat trip on the chambal river. We could spot a large no. of gharials , crocodiles, tortoise and migratory birds. The nearby Machkund temple surprised us. Built in the style of Pushkar, the place has 108 temples scattered around a central lake. So beautiful but so little known.
We also did a bit of chambal village and " beehad" walking.

Overall- the property, the service, the surroundings and the chambal - the package deserves a 10 on 10. Only if the wait for hot water could be eleminated , it would be a 12 on 10 affair.

P.S.- The management, if you are reading this - A BIG " Thank You" for the special cake on our 10th marriage anniversary

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sanghamitra_B_Jayant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dhaulpur
0.0 mi away
Raj Mahal Palace Hotel & Resort
211.8 mi away
Bijay Niwas Palace
Bijay Niwas Palace
#14 of 49 in Ajmer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel RB Palace
Hotel RB Palace
#1 of 3 in Dholpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
76.0 mi away
Ramathra Fort
Ramathra Fort
#1 of 3 in Karauli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Gaurav
Hotel Gaurav
#2 of 3 in Dhaulpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Raj Niwas Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Raj Niwas Palace

Property: Hotel Raj Niwas Palace
Address: Nihal Ganj, Dhaulpur 328001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Dholpur District > Dhaulpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dhaulpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Raj Niwas Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Raj Niwas Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing