We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but some things are missing.............”
Review of Ramathra Fort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ramathra Fort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Cannot share the enthusiasm for the place. The Fort is very far from any civilization and hours of driving on very bad roads are the price to pay. The benefit on the other hand are it's quietness, isolation from urban India and it's serenity ...... This being the features, we expected to have ample facilities to hang around reading etc. We were disappointed to find that the room offered no outside sitting possibliity, the chairs in the garden offer no shade and there is no pool.
Other than that the rooms are nice, the food is ok, the service is friendly. The notable exception being the owner who's charm (described in previous reviews here) was totaly lost on us. The Wifi never worked and nobody seemed to care. The village walk was inspiring but the afternoon safari drive offered by the hotel was totally uneventful and - at $ 25 a head for a couple of hours jeep journey - a rip-off.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankZurich42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

A few weeks ago, my husband and I were traveling the Golden Triangle of India -Delhi , Agra, and Japur, with the Taj Mahal as the centerpiece. Well, of course the Taj Mahal was magnificent, as well as seeing and meeting many wonderful people along the way.
However, the beauty, peace, and hospitality of the Ramathra Fort became our most cherished memory of this great trip. Located between Agra and Japur, this restored authentic fort is worth the extra travel it takes to arrive there. The room/suite, the food, and the walking trip to the village with Mr. Hetman are forever ranked as one of the best travel experiences ever.
Many thanks to the host and hostess, Ravi ans Gitanjali!

Room Tip: There is no swimming pool but couldn't undo the check mark! All are beautiful suites. They als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

It took us a large number of hours to reach the Fort from Delhi along very bumpy roads but our welcome was warm. The owner welcomes guests with some lime soda which is very refreshing and sits with you for a leisurely chat. Our room had a separate sitting area and a bathroom which looked out into the distance. The standard of the room is high. AC in room.
Dinner is outside, with fans to keep you cool.
We were only here one night so didn't take up any of the local activities, but we had a great stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mollyandsocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

A enchanting heritage hotel located in the fabulous fort of Ramathra. Secluded location and luxurious rooms decorated with great taste. Great views on the surrounding nature and lake. A wonderful place to rest and unwind in peace. Great staff, attentive to all details, candlelights diner made our stay a truly memorable experience. We will come back again and again !! Julien, India

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julien G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

A true heritage hotel created within the old fort, under the direction of Ravi Bana, current head of the family who built it. Extremely welcoming and friendly staff, good food (cooler eating outside), fantastic room with fab sunset and sunrise views from the ramparts. Truly rural Rajasthan, we enjoyed a close look at the local village and the children had a close look at us - great fun! Also a night safari and a bird watching trip across the lake. Really could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeoEnright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Fantastic locations, attentive staff, fabulous food, beautiful views, spacious comfortable suite - Loved it! Thanks to all for making it the highlight of our trip to India. The boat trip and lunch in the ruined temple will live long in the memory.

Room Tip: The suites are outstanding
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scarlet1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Ramathra Fort is a wonderful place in a most interesting and attractive location.
We stayed three days in a beautiful refurbished suite in the main fort with the most fantastic views. Gitanjali was a very good host and the staff, who are almost all from the adjacent village could not have been more helpful and enthusiastic.
The food was also very good.
We went on a number of 'excursions' the evening safari wasn't really worth it but the village tour and lake boat ride most definitely were.
We understood that there are plans for a jacuzzi - which will e good. When we were there the weather was getting hot and we would have loved a dip!
All in all most definitely recommended, particularly if you are looking for rest and relaxation.

Room Tip: There are a number of luxurious tents which looked lovely - but could be hot without aircon. Our roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sands_onholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karauli
24.8 mi away
Sher Bagh
Sher Bagh
#3 of 26 in Sawai Madhopur
282 reviews
21.9 mi away
Bhanwar Vilas Palace
Bhanwar Vilas Palace
#1 of 2 in Karauli
178 reviews
23.4 mi away
Sultan Bagh Jungle Camp
Sultan Bagh Jungle Camp
#6 of 26 in Sawai Madhopur
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Hotel Juna Mahal
Hotel Juna Mahal
#10 of 26 in Sawai Madhopur
60 reviews
24.1 mi away
The Kipling Lodge
The Kipling Lodge
#1 of 20 in Ranthambore National Park
109 reviews
0.0 mi away
Suroth Mahal
Suroth Mahal
#1 of 7 in Karauli
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramathra Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramathra Fort

Address: P.O. Sapotra, Karauli 322218, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Karauli District > Karauli
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Karauli
Price Range: £272 - £327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramathra Fort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Ramathra Fort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing