We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect ambience for a stay at Mandawa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castle Mandawa Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Mandawa
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect ambience for a stay at Mandawa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

The Castle Mandawa hotel is perfect in every sense. Beautifully maintained and clean, the whole property has an ambience of bygone days yet all conveniences are provided for.
The services provided are good and the restaurant serves authentic Rajasthani food as well as continental food.

Room Tip: We chose a room on the third floor in order to be as close to the terrace as possible. The terrace o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Priti T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    361
    133
    40
    18
See reviews for
140
364
31
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Very characterful hotel, with lovely gardens and a beautiful swimming pool area (though the water in the pool was absolutely freezing!).
Our room was large, airy and cool, with a four poster bed and an en-suite bathroom along a long corridor. The bathroom itself had a slightly tired feel to it, but great character. The bed looked rather hard but was actually very comfortable. The room where we ate was beautifully decorated with murals and arches.
The hotel was very convenient for wandering into the town to sample the markets.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anonymous-aylesbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We with our few family friends drove down to this castle from Delhi for 2 nights to celebrate New Year eve. It took us almost 6 hours to reach there. It is a beautiful castle surrended by lot of castles . I was surprised to know , not many people from India know about this place.
The first night was terrible as we could not sleep whole night. There was a wedding in the lawn and even after making several request to stop the music it went on till wee hour of the day. Inspite of all this , we loved the place and decided to stay for one more night. our room was upgraded...:).
New year party had a flavour of desert with continuous supply of BBQ and drinks, stunning performance by Rajasthani folk dancer. Would love to go again...!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beingIndian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Rajasthan is a spectacular part of India. On the outside Castle Mandawa is very impressive, striking architecture, gardens and a beautiful pool. However when you get into your rooms standards start to slide. We had an enormous room with window seats, columns and large bathroom but it was basic. It was dusty (but not dirty) and in need of a refurb. It’s not enough to rest on being a ‘heritage hotel’. If the rooms can be brought up to the standard of the outside this hotel will be outstanding. The food was in general mediocre, the evening meal in the gardens was supported by lovely staff, the building lit up looks fabulous however it was so dark I’ve no idea what I ate and it was all luke warm. Perhaps we were unfortunate. All in all no regrets however we wouldn’t stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tartanp00dle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

The rooms in this hotel are, I understand, all different. Ours had a lounge, bedroom, dressing room and a bathroom. We had expected a double but it turned out to be twin beds - both of them four-posters.

We were met out on the road by a doorman who led us up to the hotel. There was a reception which included a couple of camels, horsemen and a drummer. Impressive!

Dinner was in the garden - all rather lovely.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 558JohnP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Mids
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We had a fleeting visit / stay at Castle Mandawa, our room was gorgeous with super high beds which made us laugh (being short) it was a hop skip and a jump to land.... gorgeous wet room-bathroom. We felt very lucky with having a fantastic view of the grounds / gardens and pool from outside our room.
The evening buffet was served outside which enabled you to enjoy the external space, although the hot food was not that "hot" but a microwave oven was on hand (you need to ask).
The havelis in the village directly outside the gates of Castle Mandawa do enable you to view and feel the experience households of the past.

Room Tip: Room 225 overlooks the gardens and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robcc1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
407 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

When you drive to it you think it looks run down. However inside the gardens are beautiful and the paintings all over the walls everywhere are amazing. What was a bit annoying was the staff need to get you to tip just for being there. Our room had a four poster bed, lounge and huge bathroom. Wifi only available in reception(free) but slow. Food was ok and breakfast ok but now tot get excited about.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mandawa hotels
5.9 mi away
Vivaana
Vivaana
#1 of 13 in Mandawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Radhika Haveli Mandawa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Shekhawati
Hotel Shekhawati
#3 of 13 in Mandawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Desert N Dunes Mandawa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Heritage Mandawa
Hotel Heritage Mandawa
#9 of 13 in Mandawa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sara Vilas Hotel
Sara Vilas Hotel
#5 of 13 in Mandawa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Mandawa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Mandawa Hotel

Property: Castle Mandawa Hotel
Address: District Jhunjhunu, Mandawa 333704, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Mandawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Mandawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castle Mandawa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like many historic homes, Castle Mandawa is a curious mixture of the old and the new. Medieval turreted towers, palanquin-roofed balconies, blend with modern comforts in old-world rooms. Family portraits, antique cannons and arms add to the charm of this family-run resort where tradition still runs strong. Today, the world comes to this storybook town to see its colourful frescoes on every subject under the sun, that is, ranging from the religious to the erotic; from copies of popular English prints to witty social satire, rendered in the inimitable style of the local artist. And perhaps the best place to discover the legacy of Shekhawati is from the comfort of Castle Mandawa, a fortress, now converted into a luxurious heritage hotel. Explore Castle Mandawa at your own pace. Spend a leisurely hour over a drink in the colonial verandah that accommodates the bar, or relax in the cosy comfort of the Diwankhana, the formal drawing room decorated with family portraits and an array of antique armour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castle Mandawa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Mandawa
Mandawa Castle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing