We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but a good break form routine”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Desert N Dunes Mandawa
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Mandawa
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Traveled to Mandawa during the month of Feb 2014 for a weekend. The hotel is situated a short distance outside the city. There were two types of rooms, ours was a deluxe room and then there were round tent type ones. The property also has a lawn area as well as a swimming pool which is nice.

The room was very neat and well prepared. Absolutely no complaints. The bathroom was clean and tidy and dry.

Staff were friendly but I felt they took quite a bit of time to serve food. I felt the menu was quite pricey which is understandable considering most of the visitors to Mandawa are non-Indians.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chinamouli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Desert N Dunes Mandawa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2014

Its little outside the city, which is good keeping you away from the noise and busy street for a good night sleep. If you have transport car / taxi, main town is just 5 mins drive from the hotel. The property itself is huge, with a nice pool and a big lawn. Rooms are okay, staffs are friendly, well the only drawback was the internet - wifi is chargeable and its available in the lobby area.

Room Tip: If you are staying here, wind up all city activities first and then check in.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SereneJourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Mandawa is a small town in the middle of nowhere, but with some lovely Havelis, which were the reason we came to this part of the world.

Desert n Dunes is a little outside of the town, and has a bit of a resort feel about it, with its rooms arranged around a central grassed area.

Unfortunately our room didn't get much sun, so it was pretty cold, and the heater the staff gave us (without asking!) didn't make much of a dent in the chill.

If you stay here, you will almost certainly end up eating at the restaurant. The food was pretty average, but perfectly edible.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that gets the afternoon sun and don't hesitate to ask for a heater if the staff h...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kylie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Mandawa is not your typical Raj city with oversized palaces..but more of a quaint little town somewhere in the middle of nowhere..so you don't expect some big labels with top notch and trained hospitality. Uncomplainingly you get a touch of the rustic and traditional hospitality and DnD had that oozing out...
Yes it's not perfect and may be a little rough around the edges (in terms of finesse) but the property and the experience make it worth it..large spacious lawn in the middle with well maintained and updated cottages. And for the price you pay it is very good.
The food in general is good (not wow but good) though you don't have too many options but it does what it does and it does it well..Rooms are clean and you have all facilities including a coffee maker etc.
The property makes for an excellent picnic destination with family or retreat for young and old alike..only thing..there isn't much of activity and you should have a 'break' in mind when you go there..and not sight seeing...

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prayag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We visited this place on the 10th Jan 2014, with my friend & both of our families, It is a nice 3 star resort with all basic amenities, clean, staff is courteous & helpful. Rooms are good, bathroom is bit small & bath tub is really not required. Food was a bit expensive, The breakfast was really nice. The staffed fulfilled our request to serve breakfast at the pool side.
On must check before booking about the occupancy, as when we went there we were the only people in the 74 rooms resort.

Room Tip: Ask for Deluxe rooms.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ndjagson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I slept here one night on December, weather was very cold in that days... and the rooms too! They didn't have any heating system and quilt were very heavy, but not warm. That was a pity, because hotel was pretty, all the rooms were surrounding the courtyard, there was the swimming-pool and free wi-fi. Dinner and breakfas of average quality, during dinner they organized a puppet and a dance show, a little too touristic!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chiarina80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

stayed with family in Dec 13 . Excellent property with good food . Though variety in breakfast is limited , the quality of food is excellent . The only disadvantage is that they do not provide heaters during winters as rooms get really chilled . Good property . Worth staying for short break .

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2013avidtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mandawa hotels
1.5 mi away
Castle Mandawa Hotel
Castle Mandawa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Mandawa
786 reviews
6.4 mi away
Vivaana
Vivaana
#1 of 14 in Mandawa
761 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sara Vilas Hotel
Sara Vilas Hotel
#6 of 14 in Mandawa
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Mandawa Haveli
Hotel Mandawa Haveli
#4 of 14 in Mandawa
249 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Shekhawati
Hotel Shekhawati
#3 of 14 in Mandawa
339 reviews
1.5 mi away
V Resorts Paawana Haveli Mandawa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Desert N Dunes Mandawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Desert N Dunes Mandawa

Address: 2nd Milestone Fatehpur Road, Mandawa 333704, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jhunjhunu District > Mandawa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Mandawa
Price Range: £38 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Desert N Dunes Mandawa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful hotel is located in an historical town famous for its frescoed Havelis. Standing majestically among undulating sand dunes with 74 well-appointed rooms with vibrant in-house facilities of 24 hour in-room dining, multi-cuisine restaurant, and an array of banqueting comforts, the hotel offer value for your money in a well known town renowned for great historical buildings and monuments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Desert N Dunes Mandawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing