We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place to Stay”
Review of Hotel Salem Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Salem Castle
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Salem
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice Place to Stay”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I recently went to stay at this hotel in Salem. It was a pretty decent place for a small city like Salem. The rooms are really well maintained. They even had locker facilities in all rooms. We loved the lawn in the 4th floor. The complimentary breakfast buffet is in par with star hotels in Chennai. The only problem is that you don't get hot water here. The geysers aren't working. Even if you call room service, they keep promising you that they will bring it in 5 minutes, but you will never get it until you check out. Otherwise, you can give 5 stars for this hotel.

Room Tip: We were in 404, 405, 505, 507 & 508. All rooms were really good. You have a open lawn in the 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indianesj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    18
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
15
2
3
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Duncanville, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

I did not stay at this hotel but did get shown several rooms on the property. It seemed like a tired old building that had not been kept up. The rooms were not attractive and definitely not updated. There were service panels off in each hallway we went down, and in one room. Looked like maintenance was a big problem. I would not stay at this property.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FartherIsBetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Salem hotels

Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Go there only if you don't find any other alternatives. Not worth the money charged. Rooms are very small, not very clean, but the location of the hotel is good. Its Ok if you just want to stay the night or so, but not worth going for a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prashanth10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

i stayed in this hotel when i was in salem few week before..when you see from outside it looks good its having almost 8 floors...but when it comes to serevice its hell..the fornt desk people are horrible.. i was charged almost 1day charge bcos i checked out 10 minutes late...the whole thing goes like this..when i went to check out there was no one available in the front desk so i had to wait untill someone to come..over that the check in time which they have entered in the system was before the real time....after all this bcos of the hotel mistake i had 2 pay more 1000 bucks extra after al discounts.. so before check in verifiy the time they have entered and tell them in advance wat time you gonna check out. Thank you

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nischalhari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

While coming back from Rameshwaram we stayed here. The purpose was to visit Yercaud hills as well. Though little expansive for what it offers, it had a nice restaurant with friendly staff. We did not see manypeople there though. However the food was great.
The roooms were big and clean. Nice bed and linen'.
Little pricy but OK if you want to releive from the hectic tourist day.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Influx_in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

There is nothing to recommend with this hotel. The staff are surly and unhelpful, the decor is tired, out dated and grubby, the a.c is poor, the toiletries inadequate, there is no internet connection and this is supposed to be a business hotel. The website says there is a pool but the staff said no there isn't. At checkout they tried to charge us twice and the food is awful.
I asked for a plain omlette at breakfast and was given a full on Masala omlette with chilli and green coriander - no excuses from them I was the only person in the restaurant !! Black tea came with milk and sugar and if I could award this a nil rating I would.

Room Tip: There aren't any
See more room tips
Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank EnglandAnders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2011

rooms that this hotel is having it can actually cost around 300-500rs...service is like road side dhaba..front office not pic the call right time..room service never available or very late service...i found cockroaches in my food...i wl never ever visit this hotel in my life

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poulami1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salem hotels
0.5 mi away
Goldray Sarovar Portico
1.9 mi away
Radisson Salem
Radisson Salem
#2 of 24 in Salem
695 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Estancia
Grand Estancia
#3 of 24 in Salem
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sivaraj Holiday Inn
Sivaraj Holiday Inn
#1 of 24 in Salem
300 reviews
0.7 mi away
Raj Residency Salem
Raj Residency Salem
#7 of 24 in Salem
30 reviews
0.3 mi away
AMR Evergreen Hotel
AMR Evergreen Hotel
#8 of 24 in Salem
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Salem Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Salem Castle

Property: Hotel Salem Castle
Address: A/4, Bharati Street | Swarnapuri, Salem 636004, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Salem District > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Salem Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Salem Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing