We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nightmare”
Review of National Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Salem
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
National Hotel
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Salem
chennai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“nightmare”
Reviewed 16 April 2011

its a big hotel with untidy rooms , pathetic furniture and wall with paint gone for 737 Rs for non ac room . The front desk s too rude to talk to . They behave as if u r staying on their money . You cant sleep in this hotel as u ll be busy fighting mosquitoes . This stay was nightmare to me . When i complained about the mosquitoes to the front desk , instead of providing remedy he said this with arrogance tat they are not breeding it .

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank proximox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    5
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
1
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
delhi
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2010

Nice location with easy access to other places. Food was delicious but was bit high on cost. Cozy rooms with ample amount natural light during daytime. Should improve upon their plug points (electrical fittings) and should have internet facility inside the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hotelreviewer76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salem
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2010

The atmosphere near the hotel is nice.the hotel is very clean and neat.the food that provided in the hotel is very tasty and healthy.the water facility in the hotel is very nice.the room is provide with the tv,coat,bed,pillo,bedspread etc...

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank yuvarajsix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2009

Nice place, though not a very classy one. took double bedded room. Rs560 + tax. found it very reasonable. calm and peaceful. the rooms are too spacious for this price. even ac is 700 or so.

we came here without advance booking. and were lucky to get a room on the christmas weekend, as many other hotels were full.

The corridors are good, and the view of the sunrise, thro the yercaud mountains, from the terrace of this 6 storey building is beautiful.

1 km from each of railway station and New bus-stand. and shopping complexes at a walkable distance.

complaints - restaurant was bad. idli wasn't good. we again tried fried rice in the night. it was bad too.
cable tv wasn't clear.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evinvit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2009

Hi,
I stayed in the National Hotel in Salem during one of my personal visits to the city. It is located in the city & offers comfortable rooms. Dont compare it with new age hotels, but National hotel has been there for quite a few decades in Salem. I liked the restaurant that is attached in the ground floor. I think it was called Annapoorni, which offered some very delicious food.
The location of this hotel is ideal, near the 4 roads & 2 kms away from the main Bus stand. Good enough for a short stay in Salem.

Suggestions:

They could improve the hotel rooms to match the current trend & even go for a centralised air conditioning depending on the volumes.

  • Liked — Location & less cost on the traveller
  • Disliked — Old world comfort
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank spprasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salem hotels
0.2 mi away
Sivaraj Holiday Inn
Sivaraj Holiday Inn
#1 of 23 in Salem
294 reviews
1.3 mi away
Raj Residency Salem
Raj Residency Salem
#7 of 23 in Salem
29 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Ashwa Park
Hotel Ashwa Park
#6 of 23 in Salem
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Estancia
Grand Estancia
#3 of 23 in Salem
372 reviews
1.7 mi away
Radisson Salem
Radisson Salem
#2 of 23 in Salem
689 reviews
1.1 mi away
Goldray Sarovar Portico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to National Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about National Hotel

Property: National Hotel
Address: Bangalore Road, Salem 636009, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Salem District > Salem
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing