We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Samode, abode of tranquility”
Review of Samode Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Samode Palace
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Samode
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Samode, abode of tranquility”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We took time out at Samode Palace during a road trip through Rajasthan. Wonderful hillside setting. Historical frescos in the old palace offer delightful insights into a life and times that have long disappeared in India. The village at the foot of the hill is welcoming of curious visitors. Couple of local vendors tracked us around the place, which was a little irritating, but they were extremely polite and not pushy. Just persistently and peacefully hovering, offering advice and insights into local life that, while interesting, were uninvited. But all in all, spectacular and engrossing diversion.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Physeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    591
    149
    25
    16
    9
See reviews for
185
347
27
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Two nights at the Samode Palace was our main indulgence during our recent trip to India. We are so glad we pushed our budget that little bit more to have the experience we did there. Amazing history is everywhere and exploring the hotel was such a treat for both families in our party. The two pools were beautiful, the service excellent, the views incredible, the food pretty good and the entertainment on the nights we happened to be there (fireworks, camels, dancers, flower trails, puppet shows) was unexpected and exciting. It's a little out of the way, but worth the trip.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

About a few hours (40+ kms) from Jaipur, we arrive at the little town of Samode... we drive through the village, and embark off our coach, walk up through the main gate... Wow! I know this palace's claim to fame, was the setting for the movie - Far Pavillions, however, I am still fascinated as to why build here! The outskirts of a little village, in the middle of nowhere!
We are formally greeted after we ascend the stairs. This place is quiet, peaceful ... it you want to totally relax.. come here! Our rooms were quirky, some in our group where happy, so were not! There are a LOT OF STAIRS here, so bear that in mind! My room was actually over the garage (like my own little home ... lounge, bedroom, dressing room and bathroom, I even had a little balcony - terrific) . You cannot leave windows open, because of the monkeys, so close when you are not in your room! Laundry was not as professional as other places I stayed, I had to chase it's whereabouts at 8pm (was suppose to be back by 6pm). 2 great swimming pools. It is fascinating to stay here, but do not expect luxury ... even though it looks like it is....

Room Tip: Narrow passage ways with lots of stairs, no room is stair-free
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gro05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We didn't actually stay here we visited it as an attraction and were given a tour of what was the Maharaja's Palace and it was stunningly beautiful. The grounds and the rooms are magnificent, the decor all around the hotel is well thought out and the ambience is serene. Our tour couldn't afford the alleged £220 per night charged here. However we were billeted at the Samode Bargh just outside Samode which is an excellent alternative in magnificent grounds.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

A long drive to get there but much of interest along the way. Hotel superb we only stayed one night but would recommend minimum of two. There is a safari tour which is a tad long village interesting a shorter tour would be better.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

This was the first "non international" hotel we stayed at. I was surprised that one had to climb so many steps to everything. not that I minded but I felt that there was no provision for people who weren´t so mobile. The room was fun, a mish mash of styles and the breakfast and dinner no more than adequate. A lovely indoor patio was very attractive and we were given a private tour of the Palace, not open to guests. Very interesting to see the mirrored halls.

Room Tip: Be careful if you are physically challenged. Research where your room will be situated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dianamacg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed at the Samode Palace on 12 February as part of a tour of 11 people from Australia. The rooms were palatial with tasteful furniture. There were photos on the walls of what I presume was former owners of the Palace which added to the ambiance. The food was excellent and the staff were all welcoming and efficient. If you are planning to stay at Samode you should be aware that there are lots of steps to climb so you need to be fairly able bodied. Overall, this was a wonderful experience and I only wish I could have stayed longer.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Valerie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samode
18.9 mi away
Samode Haveli
Samode Haveli
#12 of 386 in Jaipur
1,198 reviews
20.3 mi away
Taj Jai Mahal Palace Jaipur
19.7 mi away
Royal Heritage Haveli
Royal Heritage Haveli
#5 of 386 in Jaipur
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Chomu Palace Hotel
Chomu Palace Hotel
#80 of 386 in Jaipur
241 reviews
21.3 mi away
Rambagh Palace
Rambagh Palace
#3 of 386 in Jaipur
1,710 reviews
19.8 mi away
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
#18 of 386 in Jaipur
3,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samode Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samode Palace

Property: Samode Palace
Address: Samode 302002, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Samode
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Samode
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Samode Palace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, MrandMrsSmith, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Samode Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samode Palace Hotel Samode
Samode Palace Hotel Jaipur
Samode Palace Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing