We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Samode Palace
Nearby Hotels
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$68
US$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$242
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$281
US$223
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotels.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotels.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (859)
Filter reviews
859 results
Traveller rating
643
159
30
18
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
643
159
30
18
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity pooldurbar hallthe fine dining restaurantmarble bathmain poolcamel ridedeluxe suitevintage carssister propertyonly stayed one nightfour poster bedantique furniturelike royaltybeautiful roomstayed longermain restaurantsitting area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
362 - 367 of 859 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We took time out at Samode Palace during a road trip through Rajasthan. Wonderful hillside setting. Historical frescos in the old palace offer delightful insights into a life and times that have long disappeared in India. The village at the foot of the hill is welcoming of curious visitors. Couple of local vendors tracked us around the place, which was a little irritating, but they were extremely polite and not pushy. Just persistently and peacefully hovering, offering advice and insights into local life that, while interesting, were uninvited. But all in all, spectacular and engrossing diversion.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Physeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Two nights at the Samode Palace was our main indulgence during our recent trip to India. We are so glad we pushed our budget that little bit more to have the experience we did there. Amazing history is everywhere and exploring the hotel was such a treat for both families in our party. The two pools were beautiful, the service excellent, the views incredible, the food pretty good and the entertainment on the nights we happened to be there (fireworks, camels, dancers, flower trails, puppet shows) was unexpected and exciting. It's a little out of the way, but worth the trip.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

About a few hours (40+ kms) from Jaipur, we arrive at the little town of Samode... we drive through the village, and embark off our coach, walk up through the main gate... Wow! I know this palace's claim to fame, was the setting for the movie - Far Pavillions, however, I am still fascinated as to why build here! The outskirts of a little village, in the middle of nowhere!
We are formally greeted after we ascend the stairs. This place is quiet, peaceful ... it you want to totally relax.. come here! Our rooms were quirky, some in our group where happy, so were not! There are a LOT OF STAIRS here, so bear that in mind! My room was actually over the garage (like my own little home ... lounge, bedroom, dressing room and bathroom, I even had a little balcony - terrific) . You cannot leave windows open, because of the monkeys, so close when you are not in your room! Laundry was not as professional as other places I stayed, I had to chase it's whereabouts at 8pm (was suppose to be back by 6pm). 2 great swimming pools. It is fascinating to stay here, but do not expect luxury ... even though it looks like it is....

Room Tip: Narrow passage ways with lots of stairs, no room is stair-free
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gro05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We didn't actually stay here we visited it as an attraction and were given a tour of what was the Maharaja's Palace and it was stunningly beautiful. The grounds and the rooms are magnificent, the decor all around the hotel is well thought out and the ambience is serene. Our tour couldn't afford the alleged £220 per night charged here. However we were billeted at the Samode Bargh just outside Samode which is an excellent alternative in magnificent grounds.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

A long drive to get there but much of interest along the way. Hotel superb we only stayed one night but would recommend minimum of two. There is a safari tour which is a tad long village interesting a shorter tour would be better.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews