We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm Hotel in Cold Lachung”
Review of Modern Residency

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lachung
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Modern Residency
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lachung
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Modern Residency is an interesting, vibrant and colorful hotel. We arrived there in the evening and it was bustling with tourists, who like us had just got there after probably several hours on the road. The staff was warm, friendly and efficient. We were checked into our rooms very quickly - there's an open, common area on each floor where you can hang out and chit chat or have a drink with your friends. Meals were standard vegetarian North Indian - I guess they cater to most tourists who aren't adventurous with local flavors. The room was comfortable, bathroom clean and while it's no star hotel, it was nicer than what I was expecting in a little Sikkim town.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ratpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

This hotel is one of the best places to stay in Lachung.
As Lachung is very distant place, it becomes difficult to provide good facilities to travelers. But Modern Residency provides them. Obviously, due to very poor electric supply to this area, they won't be having electric room heaters / water heaters /Air Conditioner facilities but they provide a nice cozy room with 'Hot Water Bags'.

Location of this hotel is awesome, you can find yourself in between of snowy Himalayan mountain rows. Surrounded by colorful flowers!

They offer only 'Pure Veg' meals which are better than any 'Non Veg' special dishes :-)
Due to this distant location they provide only veg meals.

Nice place to stay and enjoy the scenery of Lachung!!

Room Tip: Rooms with 3 beds are big and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chaitanya0106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We were a group of 18 who stayed at this hotel in the First week of May. its a well located hotel in the remote area of Lachung. what we loved about this hotel was the warmth of the staff. they were most helpful in every aspect be it waking us up on time, getting us hot water, making food as per our requirement, everything. Food was nice too.The rooms per se are not too big but are clean and decent. No heaters but they do make a sort of fire around which we can st to warm ourselves up. Dont expect anything too fancy. but the warm staff more than makes up for any shortcomings of the hotel.

Room Tip: the view is excellent from some rooms, ask for those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank payalzt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Everything seems to be good about this hotel - the location, the staff, the food, available facilities - it's all in place.
Lachung is quite an isolated place, and this hotel is just covered on all sites by the snow-capped mountains. A brilliant view from the verandah.
The staff is very professional and cordial. And I just loved the evening pakoras with Chai. We stayed here for 2 nights and it was a very pleasant experience.

There is a clear lack of steady electricity in the area, guess it would be mended once the big hydro-electricity project completes.
A must-visit for any north-east travel enthusiast.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms as higher up as possible within the hotel - the view and room lighting improves wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NegativeSpace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We visited Lachung last week. We reached Lachung late evening and checked into this hotel. There was no electricity as the electricity is erratic in the area. However the staff was extremely warm and friendly. We felt as if we were at home! Hot water was an issue but the staff delivered the same in our room itself. The view from the hotel is breathtaking with snow laden mountains all around. We were only here for one night, we recommend staying here for atleast 3 nights to truely experience Lachung. The food was also very good. We enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ashwin_sriny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This hotel is on a small property with decent and clean rooms. From the look of the rooms it looks like a shabby place but do not go by the looks. The stay is very comfortable and service is outstanding.

We stayed for 2 nights on AP plan. The food was always served hot and was pretty tasty. The hotel staff are always on their feet to make sure that the guests are comfortable. They provided us with hot-water bags to keep the beds warm. Also there was no power on one of the days. The hotel had a generator backup to have one light per room. The staff was supplying warm water (for drinking) on demand round the clock.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SmitaSaxena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Me and family stayed there for one night after a terrible stay in another poor maintained hotel namely Golden valley at Lachung. The stay was good and the service was extra ordinary.Eventhough there was electricity failure in the hotel, the manager arranged us a fireplace and provided hot water. Plse confirm the availability of generators in case of power failure in any hotels at lachung before booking. The hotel premises was clean and ambient and the food was excellent.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank JR Anoop P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lachung
0 mi away
Etho Metho by RightClique
0 mi away
Yarlam
Yarlam
#1 of 6 in Lachung
262 reviews
0 mi away
Delight Hotels Royal Lachung
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Tenzing Retreat
Tenzing Retreat
#6 of 6 in Lachung
70 reviews
0 mi away
Udaan, Woodberry Hotel and Spa
0 mi away
Summit Golden Crescent
Summit Golden Crescent
#20 of 126 in Gangtok
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Modern Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Modern Residency

Address: Lachung 737120, India
Region: India > Sikkim > North Sikkim > Lachung
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lachung
Price Range: £43 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Modern Residency Lachung, Sikkim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing