We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place to stay in Pelling”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Elgin Mount Pandim, Pelling
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Pelling
Certificate of Excellence
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Pelling”
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Stayed here for 1 night on 5.5.12. I had booked 3 rooms. The hotel is a heritage building with a very well decorated lobby with art and artefacts. The rooms are quite good and so are the toilets. Staff very co-operative particularly the one with spectacles in the restaurant. This hotel is the best in Pelling, and no other hotel comes even a tad close to this. A 360 years old monastry believed to be the oldest in Sikkim is located on a 2 minutes walk from this hotel. The hotel also offers a spectacular view of Mt. Kanchenzunga. Also to mention about is the Manager of the hotel who is a British gentleman but most people mistake him to be a tourist. He is a fine personality with a great sense of humour and great knowledge.

Room Tip: Just go downstairs in the morning during sunrise for a spectaular view of Mt. Kanchenzunga.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KingofTourism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    126
    23
    7
    5
See reviews for
205
170
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thimphu, Bhutan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Arrived with a bad back after having travelled 7 hours on roads that needs maintenance. Impressed by the landcape, hotel lobby and the small bar . Staff were excellent in these area. Loved the theme of the hotel lobby : British Raj era.

Room was good and had excellent sleep, peaceful and undisturbed. Told good weather would garuntee view of the Himalayas. Not so lucky with the weather.

Disappointed with the restaurant,reminded of my school dining hall and service here needs improving, felt staff were always in great rush to complete service as soon as possible. Noisy kitchen staff.This area was a major let down, needs renovation and staff training. Not on par with the rest of the hotel.

However easily the best Hotel in the area.. could still be more better.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tiru-Malla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

had sent my mother and her two sisters to sikkim and darjeeling. stayed in club mahindra gangtok, mayfair in darjeeling and mt pandim in pelling. though mt pandim ambience was good and the lawn too- the food was terrible and extremely over priced. for 3 of them per meal of just rice , vegetable and egg the PER HEAD charge was Rs. 700. and for 2 such meals total charge came to 4000 rs. since there are no options close by they were forced to have meals from there. this is nothing but day light robbery for want of a better word. the other two places were far more reasonable. the rest of the stay was good. but no game room etc and post 3 pm one can hardly step out and without any inhouse entertainment its quite sad. posting this on behalf of my mother and her sisters. Naveen ( leela philip/mary john/susheela george)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank naveenPhilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElginGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Elgin Mount Pandim, Pelling, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear Sir!

We thank you for your response! Our prices are reasonable if you take our Meal Plan with your room. We always recommend a Half Board or Full Board price . Your stay was a room only stay with no meal plan. Pelling is remote and food prices high due to transportation charges . A la carte food order menus are thus more expensive as compared to other destinations such as Darjeeling and Gangtok where u stayed .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S Helens
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Stayed at Elgin Mount Pandim for three nights instead of two as originally booked. This was because when we arrived my husband was unwell. We received the most amazing care and support from Tshering and Ian Squire the lovely couple who manage the hotel and the staff, all of whom made what could have been a very difficult time for us, as easy and comfortable as possible.
We received the usual Elgin Welcome of Cherry Brandy and a silk garland to welcome us, but this was enhanced by a personal welcome by Tshering and Ian. We had a light and airy comfortable room on the upper floor with uninterrupted views of the pristine gardens and Mount Pandim directly in front of us. We even caught sight of Mount Kanchenjunga, third highest mountain in the world from our bedroom window. In fact from our bedroom window we experienced a constantly changing Himalayan landscape as snow covered peaks appeared and disappeared through the rapidly moving cloud patterns. The environment is sublime and the sense of peace in the beautiful gardens facing the magnificent Himalayas is food for the soul.
This is India and central heating is not the norm, bring some warmer clothes just in case it's cool, a fleece or light sweater is handy. The fan heater in our bedroom was perfectly adequate and the hot water bottles were a nice touch which added to the homeliness and caring that we experienced here. We also appreciated the fresh cookies and tea and coffee making facilities in our room.
The bathroom was spacious and well equipped with plenty of hot water, although the water pressure can be a bit low for a good shower but reception will get it turned up if you tell them it is low.
Wireless Internet would be helpful, but we understand there are difficulties in this area.
We were on the set meal plan, and found the food to be perfectly acceptable and tasty. Breakfast is a combination of hot and cold buffet with eggs cooked to order. Lunch was a three course set menu with a limited but adequate choice of dishes served by the staff to order and dinner was a hot and cold buffet, again adequate and tasty. We really appreciated the room service with specially prepared light food for my husband and help in getting the medication he needed.
The lounge and lobby of the hotel are very comfortable with plenty of seating areas and again wonderful views of the gardens and mountains.
This hotel is lovely and has the most stunning setting and all the parts we saw were very well maintained and comfortable and very very clean. The service in the restaurant was ok, better at lunch and dinner than at breakfast, but not world class, which this hotel has the potential to be. Someone experienced in charge of the restaurant to develop teamwork amongst the staff, ensure the service starts on time and to coordinate the service would make a big difference.
Loved the puppies, Micky and Rosie.

Room Tip: Room 302 worked for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelvinmcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

It is interesting to see the emotions that staying at this property creates. On the whole everyone seems to think the property well located and the best in town. However at 6000 feet above sea level the weather is unpredictable so the hots cannot really be criticized for the lack of a view !

What many reviewers seem to have overlooked is that although India has made huge strides over the last years it is still a developing country. By Government of India figures one third of the population live below the poverty line measured as earning less that INR 32 per day in urban areas and INR 28 in rural areas. That is about 50 pence sterling.

Sikkim is a mountainous rural area in the far north east of this great country. To get to Pelling you travel between 4 and 6 hours by jeep on switch back almost single track roads. Normally tarmaced but if it has rained or there have been landslides then mud and rock is a more normal surface.

Produce is largely local as the infrastructure does not facilitate the movement of ice cream which requires the maintenance of a cold chain from manufacture to consumption . And even if it did the fact that the electric comes and goes may mean that it would melt.

Similarly wifi while nice it will be intermittent. India has a good mobile phone network and 3G is fairly readily available.

That all being said, I would agree, that the chef at the hotel would be well advised to abandon his attempts at Chinese food and refocus on the Indian buffet.

As for the temperature, all I can say is this week when we stayed 2 nights as the temperature fell so we were given hot water bottles - a nice touch from the management.

The staff were helpful and attentive and the rooms and common areas seemed clean to us.

If you are looking for a 5 star trouble free stay then this probably is not the place for you. If however you want to see Sikkim and great scenery and stay somewhere with a good ambiance, a comfortable bed and reasonable food then look no further.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TrevorHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We spend 3 nights at the Elgin Mount Pandim and were very warmly welcomed by the lovely couple who is running the hotel. After we checked-in and put our luggage to the room (2 rooms on the ground floor were very nice, the one on the 1st floor was not as nice -> older infrastructure and finishing), we went of a coup of tea to the very cosy lobby area (with a fireplace and nice view to the very well maintained garden). Unfortunately, after 10 minutes a horde of Chinese 'mass tourist's' arrived by coach and the nice, calm ambiance was gone.

As the Chinese were hungry and storm the restaurant, we had to wait for our table for a long time (some other guests had even to eat the dinner in the hotel lobby!). As we got to our table, the table cloth was very dirty (it was not changed after the Chinese left!) and we had to take the food which was left at the buffet from the Chinese...I have to say: very, very disapointing! At least the friendly staff tried their best to make it up...but they are not very well trained (may something the management should think about!).

However, the next morning compensated us for the evening before and we could enjoy a beautiful view to the Himalaya! Additionally, the hotel is very close located to a very nice monastery and the staff is friendly (especially the cleaning ladies).

Fortunately, the Chinese left after 1 night and we could enjoy a much better dinner at our 2nd night. But unfortunately, on the 3rd day a German 'mass tourism' group arrived and we had a similar dinner experience as during our 1st night :-(

Overall a very nice place to stay (especially the location and hotel), but it looks like as there is a high chance that your experience get's negatively impacted by 'mass tourism', what you probably would not expect at such a nice place in Sikkim...

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the groud floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tomz71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElginGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Elgin Mount Pandim, Pelling, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Dear Sir !

We thank you for your positive and negative feedback! We are sorry about your experience with the German and Chinese groups . We do have holiday groups from Tour Operators from across the world on Full Board or Half Board . While we always look after all our guests equally we are sorry to hear that you were disturbed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
284 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Having stayed at one her sister hotels in Darjeeling we were a little apprehensive as we arrived at this well located Heritage Hotel in Pelling. Having taken six-gruelling hours to get here we unfolded ourselves out of the car only to see, or rather not see, because cloud had obliterated the key reason for staying here, the mountains. We ventured inside, first impression was a surly male receptionist and the very strong smell of smoke from the fire, the vast 'lounge' area resembled a 50's style furniture store and the staff stood around smiling sweetly at us, in the background I clocked the now familiar filthy stair carpet, clearly an essential Elgin speciality. I enquired about wifi, the surly, non-smiling gentleman grunted 'not working', 'when is it likely to be working again'? I humbly enquired,  '2days' he snapped, charming. We'd booked a suite, room 205, with a large living room and bedroom, a small gloomy bathroom with the usual missing sink and bath plug. There was a tiny fan heater whirring noisily away in the bedroom; we asked that a fire be lit in the living room as the whole place was icy cold, given they knew we were coming why didn't they light the fire to warm up the place sooner? Having arrived at around 4pm there was nothing to see or do, so we ordered a bottle of wine and a plate of vegetable pakoras, it took twenty minutes to arrive, not bad and the good news is they were delicious, then we wrapped up warm, sat in front of the small fire and silently read our Charles Dickens books to put us in the mood. Later I did try the one television in the still chilly bedroom and all I got was white noise, so no tv in the comfort of our water-bottled warmed bed tonight. Dinner. We discovered that we and a 'don't talk to us' Russian couple that we'd seen at the Elgin in Darjeeling, were the only guests but they had wisely decided not to dine, so we sat in a large dining room alone with four staff, two in suits who sat and dined to make the place look busy and two waiters, all the while Hawaiian muzak played loudly over and over again. It was a take it or leave it set menu, cabbage soup to start with followed by half dozen spicy dishes on boiled rice served by two very sweet eager waiters determined to fill our plates. Once their task was completed you could start to eat while they paced up and down the wooden floor and if you slowed down their steps quickened towards you. I'd finished and whoosh he was there, 'you finish'?, the plate whisked away to be replaced with a...the menu said creme caramel, but not as we know it. We asked for coffee in the lounge which now resembled a scene from the 'Shining'? We made a beeline for the one small fan heater, it was hopeless, the cold and the muzak proved too much and we retired, as we left the lounge a cat rushed for my seat by the heater.
We slept reasonably well, the bed is hard but we like that; we kept the tiny heater on, not sure it was worth it, as it was ineffective and the room remained cold. The shower worked and there was hot water. No shaving mirror. No fluffy white towels. The hair dryer was wrapped in tape and didn't work. I called down for a new one, 15 minutes later, nothing so I thought I'd go down to reception to ask again, but as I opened the door there were two people waiting standing there with vacuum cleaners ready to move in! I asked for a hair dryer, they got one, it didn't work, so I asked for another, they brought one but it only works in the corner of the living room where it now seems we have the only working socket! We were ready to move out at this point but our guide persuaded us to give it another chance. Off we went being tourists again. On return we had a warm welcome. In our room a fire glowed warmly, the bedroom had had a heater on all day and was toasty warm. The dining table was laid in our sitting room for dinner at 8pm, a complimentary bottle of wine would arrive at our suite at 6pm. Coffee and cookies was brought immediately. An electrician worked at repairing the wall socket for the dryer. The manager greeted us in our room and apologised for the previous day. Suddenly all is well in the world. Although the clouds never did lift and the mountains remained hidden, but tomorrow is another day.

Room Tip: Book the suite to give ourself the option of eating in your room in comfort. Our review has not been...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank caribbeanskipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pelling
1.0 mi away
Norbu Ghang Resort
Norbu Ghang Resort
#2 of 19 in Pelling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Chumbi Mountain Resort & Spa
22.5 mi away
The Elgin Nor-Khill, Gangtok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Summit Newa Regency
Summit Newa Regency
#7 of 19 in Pelling
3.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rabdentse Residency
Rabdentse Residency
#8 of 19 in Pelling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
18.0 mi away
The Elgin, Darjeeling
The Elgin, Darjeeling
#4 of 97 in Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elgin Mount Pandim, Pelling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elgin Mount Pandim, Pelling

Property: The Elgin Mount Pandim, Pelling
Address: Monastery Road | Pemayangtse, Pelling 737113, India
Region: India > Sikkim > West Sikkim > Pelling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Pelling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elgin Mount Pandim, Pelling 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the summer retreat of the royal family of Sikkim, this Heritage property is now a luxury boutique hotel. Each bedroom in the hotel offers magnificent views of the snow capped mountains and peaks; a unique and personal tryst with the Himalayas. Set in eight acres of virgin forest and landscaped gardens, it invokes the old charm of its first owners - the royal family of Sikkim - and offers a peaceful retreat with a glorious view of the Singalila range. The 300 year old Pemayangtse monastery is right next to the resort on a verdant hill top covered by moist temperate Oak forests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Elgin Mount Pandim, Pelling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elgin Mount Pandim, Pelling Sikkim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing