We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location , Utter Dissappointment with Marketing Staff and GM” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Bay Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Bay Beach Resort
Chennai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good location , Utter Dissappointment with Marketing Staff and GM”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Had company gettogether .Location is Good . Ambience is Ok . Food was ok ,but marketing staff giving all false promises and do not communicate properly . Their Manager Peter is a disappointment and he has to be taught how to deal with Customers . Very impolite and rough .He blames marketing for giving false promises . Finally they need to solve thier issues internally and not in front of customers .
Swimming pool also not safe as some sitting chairs in water constructed in water are broken and one of our team member had stitches to be put .
Hope they will improve these for Customers and their own good .

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pradeepraja1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BLUEBAYECR, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Guest

Greetings from the Blue Bay Beach Resort!!!

At the onset, thank you for choosing to stay with us. I appreciate you taking the time to pen down your feedback in such a detailed manner. I am sorry to hear about your unsatisfactory experience in certain areas of your stay with us. I assure you that every associate of ours is trained and expected to delight in their service, and we also ensure that the property is maintained to certain standards. However, my sincere apologies if we were not able to meet your expectations as desired. Please rest assured that we have addressed your feedback with the seriousness that it deserves and I am certain that it will help us improve in our hospitality. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Thanks & Regards
tina
Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    33
    21
    14
    25
See reviews for
44
16
Solo
0
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Had booked 3 rooms over a weekend in February and had a horrible vacation.
It is not in main Mahabalipuram area. This is before Mahabalipuram and bad entrance.
Reception not friendly. They ask for full payment before check in. No decent hotel asks for this.
DIrty ocean side cottages. Very average rooms, bad and small bathrooms.
The wooden cottage had rock hard mattresses. Decent bathrooms though.
Dirty towels.
Below average food.
Bar shuts at 11pm.
Only good thing was the beach..

Room Tip: Nothing good about the rooms. Don't stay here would be a good tip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuxuryTravelBug25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mahabalipuram hotels

Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Just back from a lovely 2D/1N trip of Mahabalipuram, and I must say the decision to stay at the Blue Bay was a good one. The location can't get better than this. When you stay in one of the Ocean Side cottages (which we did; they are smallish though, but nicely furnished), you step out of your front door, climb a few steps to the lovely resto bar with a gorgeous view of the ocean, climb down a few steps and you are on their private beach! So, you can sit at the bar really late in the night without feeling unsafe. Food is not bad, and you can order it to eat at the resto bar, in your room or by the pool.

Cons: Lots of mosquitoes in the room. We were bitten silly. So do ask for a repellant beforehand or carry your own. There was an ewwww moment when i found a small black lizard on my son's bottle in the room. Also, there was this middle-aged north-eastern/ nepali room service person who came to deliver our breakfast and instead of knocking/ pressing the bell, he straightaway opened the door and entered! I am sure he didn't have any bad intention, but we were quite shocked that somebody in the hospitality business doesn't have this basic sense of etiquette.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnweshaRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

In terms of Ambience blue bay is good but we were not pleased with the lady who had initial conversation regarding the packages.
They should know how to behave and talk properly when some customer is enquiring something. She was very harsh with her words when we were clarifying few things.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank TinaVivek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

I had been there with my friends and never seen such a splendid view and awesome service.
The resort is well maintained and clean. Me and my buddies had a wonderful time.
The bar is wooden and has a English look which is excellent. The wooden cottages are unique and is value for money. We enjoyed the swimming pool and the staff was very courteous.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nikerajiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

We went for a Corporate outing last week to this resort with all our Employees and the resort has nothing to talk about , anything but a 'photosham' property. Don't make the mistake like us, by browsing their web site

Not having facilities to seat and conduct games. Swimming pool is dirty.

Food ( Lunch) was a disaster with Buffet without any heat candles, rubbery 'Nans' and chicken. Even 'Gulab jamun' was tasteless

Toilets are rank dirty and one group of Toilets did not have water

Knowing their standard and kind of enrage they instill in their customer's mind , they collect 100% of the money in advance

Please keep away from this resort, for your own sake

Thanks
Parthi

Room Tip: Did not stay, whatever i have seen , there are better value resorts closeby
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parthi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhilai, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this place for 1 day in mid October'13. Got fooled by the glossy pictures on their website. The resort is ill maintained and the list of stuff which should be way better for the price they charge is endless...
From the cocky reception where they've a take it or leave it attitude the journey starts. As you have already paid half the amount in advance very few options are there for you. The cottages are dirty especially the toilets, the beds are uncomfortable and the food is pathetic. The swimming pool is very dirty with insects floating all over and the general feel in the surroundings of this resort is of neglect. Coming from a stay at hotel Accord pondicherry where the standards were world class to this place was quite an underwhelming experience to say the least.
I can never recommend this place to anybody. ..

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank Ramaparul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahabalipuram
0.3 mi away
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
#2 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram
0.9 mi away
Sea Breeze Hotel
Sea Breeze Hotel
#22 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
3.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
MGM Beach Resorts
MGM Beach Resorts
#1 of 1 in Muttukadu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mamalla Beach Resort
Mamalla Beach Resort
#14 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
3.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
1.0 mi away
INDeco Mahabalipuram
INDeco Mahabalipuram
#11 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
3.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Bay Beach Resort

Property: Blue Bay Beach Resort
Address: ECR Road, Vadanemilli | Thiruporur, Mahabalipuram 600008, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Mahabalipuram
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Mahabalipuram
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Bay Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Also Known As:
Blue Bay Beach Hotel Mahabalipuram

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing