We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“PERFECT PLACE FOR A TEAM OUTING !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blue Bay Beach Resort
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
“PERFECT PLACE FOR A TEAM OUTING !!!”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

place is really good. evening ambience is really enjoyable. service is good, it takes time,but one gets hot food. as we went as a group of 87 people, food wasn't that great, could have been better. but service and management was really good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FOODIEYYY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    33
    21
    14
    25
See reviews for
44
16
Solo
0
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I visited this property recently in Chennai. It was an excellent stay. Mr.John the manager of the resort is a very nice person. Always at your help. The food was excellent. Had a great time with my family. It has a direct beach entry. It was really Awesome. The service also was very good. No regrets about booking this resort.

Room Tip: Book the wooden cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shanaya F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

i had a wonderful time at this resort with the entire beach front all for me and my family..
they have a beautiful pub facing the beach open at our disposal with the unique wooden style interiors making us feel like sitting in an England country pub.
We stayed in a wooden cottage, which was a lifetime experience for me and my family .
The resort is well manged with the best of cleanliness around ...
lot of open space with lots of greenery. the pool is well maintained .
My best choice of holiday destinations i can say ..
What i like the best about this place is that it caters to both corporates as well as individual family as it has everything on site ...the best is the beach side restaurant and pub which gives a soothing relaxing feeling whether in the morning or in the evening .

Room Tip: if u want a peaceful place all by yourself ..i would suggest this resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rashmi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BLUEBAYECR, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Guest,
Many Thanks for taking the time to post your feedback on trip advisor.
I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay at Blue Bay and we express our gratitude to guests such as you .
These kind of motivating feed backs makes us work even more harder to ensure That that our guests are totally satisfied ..

Our entire team is very happy to have served you during your stay with us.
Blue Bay looks forward towards welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Not that much good as expected as we have been 3 days over there.
it was ok ok expirence as language problem is the most. some of the servants didnt understand the English as well. Food problem is there.

Room Tip: Should be beach face if you go mahabalipuram.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dharit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BLUEBAYECR, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback on the Trip Advisor on your recent stay at our hotel.

I have also noted the issues you have highlighted with concern and will ensure that corrective action is taken as soon as possible.

We look forward to welcome you back and assure you our best services at all times.
Thanks
Tina
Guest relation manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mahabalipuram hotels

Chennai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Had company gettogether .Location is Good . Ambience is Ok . Food was ok ,but marketing staff giving all false promises and do not communicate properly . Their Manager Peter is a disappointment and he has to be taught how to deal with Customers . Very impolite and rough .He blames marketing for giving false promises . Finally they need to solve thier issues internally and not in front of customers .
Swimming pool also not safe as some sitting chairs in water constructed in water are broken and one of our team member had stitches to be put .
Hope they will improve these for Customers and their own good .

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pradeepraja1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BLUEBAYECR, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Guest

Greetings from the Blue Bay Beach Resort!!!

At the onset, thank you for choosing to stay with us. I appreciate you taking the time to pen down your feedback in such a detailed manner. I am sorry to hear about your unsatisfactory experience in certain areas of your stay with us. I assure you that every associate of ours is trained and expected to delight in their service, and we also ensure that the property is maintained to certain standards. However, my sincere apologies if we were not able to meet your expectations as desired. Please rest assured that we have addressed your feedback with the seriousness that it deserves and I am certain that it will help us improve in our hospitality. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Thanks & Regards
tina
Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Had booked 3 rooms over a weekend in February and had a horrible vacation.
It is not in main Mahabalipuram area. This is before Mahabalipuram and bad entrance.
Reception not friendly. They ask for full payment before check in. No decent hotel asks for this.
DIrty ocean side cottages. Very average rooms, bad and small bathrooms.
The wooden cottage had rock hard mattresses. Decent bathrooms though.
Dirty towels.
Below average food.
Bar shuts at 11pm.
Only good thing was the beach..

Room Tip: Nothing good about the rooms. Don't stay here would be a good tip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuxuryTravelBug25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Just back from a lovely 2D/1N trip of Mahabalipuram, and I must say the decision to stay at the Blue Bay was a good one. The location can't get better than this. When you stay in one of the Ocean Side cottages (which we did; they are smallish though, but nicely furnished), you step out of your front door, climb a few steps to the lovely resto bar with a gorgeous view of the ocean, climb down a few steps and you are on their private beach! So, you can sit at the bar really late in the night without feeling unsafe. Food is not bad, and you can order it to eat at the resto bar, in your room or by the pool.

Cons: Lots of mosquitoes in the room. We were bitten silly. So do ask for a repellant beforehand or carry your own. There was an ewwww moment when i found a small black lizard on my son's bottle in the room. Also, there was this middle-aged north-eastern/ nepali room service person who came to deliver our breakfast and instead of knocking/ pressing the bell, he straightaway opened the door and entered! I am sure he didn't have any bad intention, but we were quite shocked that somebody in the hospitality business doesn't have this basic sense of etiquette.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnweshaRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahabalipuram
1.7 mi away
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
#2 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
1.9 mi away
Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram
2.2 mi away
Sea Breeze Hotel
Sea Breeze Hotel
#22 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
3.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
INDeco Mahabalipuram
INDeco Mahabalipuram
#13 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
9.3 mi away
Esthell Village Resort
Esthell Village Resort
#12 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
12.6 mi away
MGM Beach Resorts
MGM Beach Resorts
#1 of 1 in Muttukadu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Bay Beach Resort

Property: Blue Bay Beach Resort
Address: ECR Road, Vadanemilli | Thiruporur, Mahabalipuram 600008, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Kanchipuram District > Mahabalipuram
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Mahabalipuram
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Bay Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Blue Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Bay Beach Hotel Mahabalipuram

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing