We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy, not so commercial place to grab a bite”
Review of Alokosay Cafe - CLOSED

Alokosay Cafe
Cuisines: Indian, Seafood
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cosy, not so commercial place to grab a bite”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Few restaurants away from the busy moonrakers ... Alokosay cafe is a break from the commercial places.

The cafe is on first floor and second in the row from the beach. It is very
peaceful and breezy.

We ate the grill fish, which was "tava grill" and prawn curry with chappati. Fish was soft and juicy. Not at all overvooked. Prawns curry was chettinad style and not for people with weak stomachs.

Remember to bring cash. The cafe doesn't accept cards and we had to walk a good kilometre to and back to pay up!


We

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Karthik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    17
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“"Will b bck soon...perfecto"”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

As i was walking towards the beach on small lane the beautifully done staircase grabbed my attention with whole lot of menu painted on it..YES thts "Alokosay Cafe"...Its a tiny little roof top cafe with good amount of variety in the menu. The cafe is neatly done with open kitchen. Chef and staff are friendly and courteous. Enjoyed veg pakoras and their spl tea. Should and Must try when in Mahbs.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RadhaSharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, great experience”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Tried this the first night we stayed in Mahbalipuram and couldn't wait to return the next evening. The food is excellent but that is only part of the experience. It starts with the friendly welcome continues with the process of selecting a meal from the menu with helpful advice and then follows with the theatre of cooking. In so many restaurants food emerges form places you would rather not see. Here it is the opposite . Food is prepared in the restaurant in front of the customers.

On both evenings we had delicious meals. We were fortunate on both occasions arriving just before 'the rush' ( inevitable given the growing reputation ) and we enjoyed watching the preparation whilst sipping tea. Later customers may have had slightly longer to wait . At times this could lead to a wait for food but for food so fresh and tasty it is well worth it . Please try it if you are in Mahbalipuram you wont regret it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank malcolm60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Return again and again.......”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Nearing the end our recent trip to India (we are regular visitors) we searched out this very special place which had been reccommended by some fellow travellers we had met at the start of our trip. This is a "find": an unassuming basic rooftop space with a few tables and plastic chairs where they really know how to cook. We dined there the first night, and then the second, and finally could not resist a final breakfast. The curries, simple grilled lobster and prawns, wonderful friendly service and sense that you were in somebody's kitchen made each visit a delight. Highly reccommended !

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TrevorNW6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
audiopink
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, excellent food”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

This will remain in my mind as one of the best hangouts in my whole India trip. The food is good, the location is excellent, but it is the laid-back, friendly atmosphere that conquered me. The owners are so nice and welcoming, I ended up spending three late nights with them, drinking and chatting away. Thank you!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank audiopink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alokosay Cafe also viewed

Mahabalipuram, Kanchipuram District
Mahabalipuram, Kanchipuram District
 
Mahabalipuram, Kanchipuram District
Mahabalipuram, Kanchipuram District
 
Mahabalipuram, Kanchipuram District
Mahabalipuram, Kanchipuram District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing