We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant staff room needs an update” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mamalla Heritage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Mamalla Heritage
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Mahabalipuram
Perth
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pleasant staff room needs an update”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

Our stay was pleasant.the room was okay all be it a little outdated and in need of an update .that said the staff were very welcoming and the breakfast was very nice . The location of the hotel is very central with just a five minute stroll to the beach

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    178
    117
    30
    14
See reviews for
110
151
46
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

We had three nights at the heritage at the start of a fortnight in southern India. While the staff were friendly and attentive the actual hotel is very run down. The room we were in leaked, every morning there was a puddle of dirty water near the bed, there were times when we had no water for a shower and in the bathroom a crack above a dirty window appeared to have been filled with coloured plastic bags. The floor never felt clean, overall it felt a rough construction. On the upside, it is in a good location, on the main drag, within walking distance of various temples. Compared to the other 8 hotels we stayed in in India, this was by far the poorest.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Teri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mahabalipuram hotels

Chennai (Madras), India
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

A good hotel to stay. Very good rooms , hygiene and cleanliness are good , nice & friendly staffs, excellent food . I will recommend this hotel to all my friends and relatives. will come back again. Over all we had a very good experience in the hotel.

Room Tip: deluxe rooms are big
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anjali p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

I stayed here in October for one night and then when I passed through Mahabalipuram the following week. The staff were quite helpful and the place is a cut above a lot of the other options. The town attracts a lot of low budget travelers, so many of the hotels are quite a bit more basic. The rooms are okay. Not the cleanest I've seen, but comfortable enough and felt safe (since I was traveling as a solo female this is important). The breakfast is nice and the restaurant staff are very professional and friendly. There's also a restaurant on the roof which is a nicer option in the evening. There is almost NO vegetarian food here, so I had to eat dinner elsewhere. It's well-located, about a 5 minute walk to the beach. There is a small pool which is a very nice option since it's very hot here and the beach isn't really for swimming. One thing I didn't like is that the internet was not working and they took my payment in advance and didn't offer a refund. Other than that it's a fine option.

Room Tip: None of the room look onto the street, so they're all fairly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RebNov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

The best thing about this place is the personnel! They ALL at ANY level are efficient, charming and very customer oriented. The situation of the place makes it an ideal spot to visit this very ancient village,
The hotel itself has not much charme and needs a serious lifting. There are better rooms available, so ask for Deluxe rooms away from the street. The overall service is great and so is the food (unfortunately no wine available, just beer in the rooms).
I will go there again when next in the are but will follow above guidelines.

Room Tip: chose imperatively a deluxe room away from the street or ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DonPedroGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg
Level Contributor
132 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

The Mamalla Heritage is a quite nice place to stay. My room was simple but very clean. The staff is very friendly and helpfully. The breakfast was varied and very good, the vegetarian restaurant excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Degelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

hotel is worth for its location. its not a beach resort, neither sea can be seen from its room, but all the main points of mamallapuram are at walkable distances, be it shore temple, arjuna's penance, pancha rathas and the mahismardini guha. the food is also nice

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShrayanSen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mahabalipuram hotels
0.4 mi away
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
#2 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Breeze Hotel
Sea Breeze Hotel
#22 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
3.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
INDeco Mahabalipuram
INDeco Mahabalipuram
#12 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
3.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
8.0 mi away
Esthell Village Resort
Esthell Village Resort
#13 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
8.3 mi away
Landmark Pallavaa Beach Resorts
Landmark Pallavaa Beach Resorts
#10 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mamalla Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mamalla Heritage

Property: Hotel Mamalla Heritage
Address: No 104, East Raja Street, Mahabalipuram 603104, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Mahabalipuram
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Mahabalipuram
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Mahabalipuram
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mamalla Heritage 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mamallapuram a place to reckon with great sculptures and heralding dynastics. A place shrouded in an area of history and splendour. Mamallapuram is a place of great significance and is one of the main heritage cenres in the Indian tourism industry. The drive from chennai to Mamallapuram is by itself a pleasure cruise. The East Coast Road winds through a stretch of calm, swaying, casuarina groves, With the golden beaches sliding all along the way and the salty breeze breaking upon face, blowing all your worries away. This stretch is becoming a vast recreation centre for Chennai residents. With all the existing entertainment centre's, resorts and artists villages and a lot more proposed on this stretch, this road will soon be the entertainment hub of Chennai.This exotic town has the rare combination of freedom and restriction, grandeur and grace, entertainment and education. You can feel the richness and the artistic inclination of the Pallavas in the air. Living legends and mammoth monoliths form a part of Mamallapuram's splendour. The salty air, timeless roar of the sea, the endless stretch of sand and sky will enrich your soul and enliven your spirits.Commanding a vital position in this bygone town of the pallavas is a hotel which embodies the Pallavan era of hospitality, beauty and enchantment, in its simple and screne environment- Hotel Mamallaa Heritage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Mamalla Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamalla Heritage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing