We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My stay at the Mamallaa Heritage Hotel was a pleasureable one”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mamalla Heritage
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Mahabalipuram
Reviewed 27 April 2014

My stay at the Mamallaa Heritage Hotel in Mamallapuram was a pleasureable one. I stayed there 16th to 19th September 2013. There is a small roof top restaurant that includes non-vegetarian cuisine on its menu. It is for dinner only. The main restaurant, which serves all three meals, is vegetarian. Eggs together with alcohol are forbidden. There were some interesting peculiarities which I enjoyed. Like many hotel rooms throughout India, the lock on the bathroom door was on the outside. It seems that the intention is to lock someone in the bathroom rather than prevent an infiltration of someone’s toiletry privacy. One thing is to be wary of the hotel towels. While one does not want them to be a grey colour, gleamingly white towels can indicate excessive bleach having been used. To my chagrin, I received an eye irritation from the towels. Other than that, I have no complaints regarding this hotel. Staff members, and there are a lot of them, were particularly friendly. At breakfast there were more waiting staff members than people eating breakfast. One person looked after my toast and would, if I had let him, spread butter and jam on it. Another kept a watchful eye on my coffee and eagerly wanted to add milk for me. If I had let him, the coffee would be exceedingly milky. For dinner at the hotel I had a rice dish and a freshly squeezed orange juice. I was mistakenly charged for two orange juices. The solution, which took four people to organise, was to leave the bill as it was and give me the cash for the cost of the second fruit juice I didn’t have. I think this was to save face and not make the hotel’s accounts section aware of the error when I paid my bill when checking out the next day. I got on well with the staff members with whom I had contact. I left the Mamallaa Heritage Hotel at 11:00am. There were seven staff members at reception but I wasn’t able to fathom what all of their roles in the check-out process were. Six of the seven were males, but it was the pleasantly efficient female who knew what to do. I cheekily recommended her for a salary rise – she deserved it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Transcontinental
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (445)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 445 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2014

I stayed here for a couple of nights while I explored the carvings. Good facilities, great food and clean with a pool. Close to bus stand so not far to walk when you arrive. Within in easy walking distance of the carvings and sites.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cvs50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Cleanliness & decorations well maintained.Centrally located within walking distance to most of the interesting places. The restaurant is one of the best in Mamallapuram. The cuisine & service was good & value for money.
There was one hand wash basin, which was in sufficient for the customers who frequent the restaurant at the ground floor.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mohan-travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Nice hotel located just besides bus stand. And also close by to all sites seeing places. But if you are beach bird wishes to spend lot of time in beach and observe waves then this not place you look for. Because it is not having any exclusive beach zone as it is located other side of the road. Hospitality is very good. They oblige early check in and late checkout in normal conditions.
Rooms are clean and neat hot water served all the time. Diwan arrangement in the room and chairs arrangement outside the room are excellent. Window ACs only. TVs are to be upgraded to LCDs. No lift and steep steps make lot of discomfort.

Room Tip: 1 If you are beach bird wishes to spend lot of time in beach this is not the place for you. 2 No l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ASMTRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

They know what they are doing. But tries to make it appear as mistake. No more crocodile tear.

pool timings are total waste. If hotel not booked to capacity then no hot water. Idli was comparitively good. Cot problem. Door problem. So goes problems.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DelhiBiju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

The hotel is very centrally located. Near to everything and easy walking distance. The reception staff was very attentive and helpful. There was a 200rs charge per 24 hrs for the wifi which could only be used on one and the same device during the 24 hrs. The wifi was a little sketchy but the reception staff gladly refunded the charge if you complained.
It was a great pool and wonderful to relax in it after a "hard" day of sightseeing. The rooftop restaurant was spendy for what you got but the service from the staff was excellent. Breakfast was a little boring but that's what a continental breakfast usually is. The restaurant staff was very attentive. The rooms are average and a little dated. Clean, which is the most important thing. We received fresh towels every day which was nice.

Room Tip: We preferred the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 692barbaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Hotel excellently positioned just a few minutes walk from Anjuna's Penance ( wonderful). Good reception staff and comfortable clean rooms. Dinner by the pool was good with prompt attentive service. Hotel arranged an excellent guide for us at short notice.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mahabalipuram hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mahabs
Hotel Mahabs
#9 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
262 reviews
0.2 mi away
INDeco Mahabalipuram
INDeco Mahabalipuram
#10 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
279 reviews
2.8 mi away
Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
#3 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
408 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ramakrishna
Hotel Ramakrishna
#17 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
136 reviews
1.8 mi away
WelcomHotel Kences Palm Beach
WelcomHotel Kences Palm Beach
#1 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mamalla Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mamalla Heritage

Address: No 104, East Raja Street, Mahabalipuram 603104, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Kanchipuram District > Mahabalipuram
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Mahabalipuram
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Mahabalipuram
Price Range: £26 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mamalla Heritage 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mamallapuram a place to reckon with great sculptures and heralding dynastics. A place shrouded in an area of history and splendour. Mamallapuram is a place of great significance and is one of the main heritage cenres in the Indian tourism industry. The drive from chennai to Mamallapuram is by itself a pleasure cruise. The East Coast Road winds through a stretch of calm, swaying, casuarina groves, With the golden beaches sliding all along the way and the salty breeze breaking upon face, blowing all your worries away. This stretch is becoming a vast recreation centre for Chennai residents. With all the existing entertainment centre's, resorts and artists villages and a lot more proposed on this stretch, this road will soon be the entertainment hub of Chennai.This exotic town has the rare combination of freedom and restriction, grandeur and grace, entertainment and education. You can feel the richness and the artistic inclination of the Pallavas in the air. Living legends and mammoth monoliths form a part of Mamallapuram's splendour. The salty air, timeless roar of the sea, the endless stretch of sand and sky will enrich your soul and enliven your spirits.Commanding a vital position in this bygone town of the pallavas is a hotel which embodies the Pallavan era of hospitality, beauty and enchantment, in its simple and screne environment- Hotel Mamallaa Heritage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mamalla Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamalla Heritage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing