We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ONE OF THE BEST HOTEL” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mamalla Heritage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Mamalla Heritage
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Mahabalipuram
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“ONE OF THE BEST HOTEL”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Myself and my family had a weekend trip to mamallapuram and my son choose Hotel mamalla heritage as our staying option we stayed there for a night and enjoyed the stay. They have a very good buffet spread in the break fast and the USP of the hotel is the GOLDEN PALATE pure vegetarian restaurant. the best in the town if I say. We stayed in room no 003 nice room very clean and hygienic. The staffs are very helpful and service oriented. They have pool in the first floor very neat and the condition of the water is very clear and well maintained. I will recommend this hotel to all of my friends and relatives. Keep up the excellent work

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sivannambiar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    178
    117
    29
    14
See reviews for
110
149
46
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

In lap of the ancient port, mamallapuram is situated Hotel mamalla heritage. I had a trip to mamallapuram a couple of months ago, which I cherrish. I stayed with my family. A nice place to stay and dine. Good ambience with lots of green, a clean swimming pool. Good Indian food. It is very near to the Stalashayana temple, arjuna penance, rathas, and shore temple.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top has a view to the rocks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anjalipillai12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I had visited mamalla heritage 2 months ago for a 2-day visit from Chennai. I had an interest in visiting places of historial and archeological importance. The hotel had the proximity to the shore temple and rock temples, its an advantage. The north india food was authentic. The restaurant had good ambience. The evening roof top dinner was magical. Thanks for the memorable 2-day stay at mamalla heritage.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sivanmanohar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

I went for a quick weekend trip with my parents and chose Mamalla Heritage as our option for accomodation. Below are my observations :
Positive :
1. Location is good. Close to the Shore temple and other monuments.
2. The restaurant had a decent variety.
3. The staff was courteous and well behaved.
Negative :
1. Poor wireless connectivity.
2. Overpriced for the amenities. (For eg no lifts, so we were forced for a ground floor room)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GargiDey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Although the air con and fan work well, and there is a fridge, there is no mosquito netting on the windows and when the shutters are open to let in light, flies etc come in easily. Room basic. No hot water to shave with though plenty in shower. Restaurants for breakfast and dinner are good and clean though vegetarian food in the great cafes in the village is cheaper and better. Staff are reasonably friendly. Restaurant very professionally run. Swimming pool good but no nice areas to sit and relax on the shade. Much better value places around.

Room Tip: Any room is ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gazgazuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

I have visited Mahabalipuram in First week of June'14 with family. We stayed in Mamalla Heritage hotel for one night. The hotel location is really good. Staff is very humble and obliged.
Best part was the north indian veg food. They have a dedicated Veg restaurant in the hotel. It is very reasonably priced and food is very good.
They can improve on the blankets quality. Otherwise everything else is good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vikasagg79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghaziabad, India
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I had stayed at this property's Standard AC room on 02/05/2014 with my wife. Being Seniors we look for convenience and cleanliness.I had locked this property for our stay after lot of interactions on mail with their Mr Mani who very patiently and efficiently replied to all my mails. I am happy to have decided to stay at this hotel.
The nice clean hotel is located at a very convenient location at Mamallapur - all the main attractions at an arm's length.
The hotel staff was polite and courteous. The Veg restaurant was superb. We did not have to sleep half stomach as they served us one good JAIN dish.The Complementary breakfast was a delight.
However, the toilet was not convenient. The Towel Stand just above the toilet seat at an uncomfortable height without any other hook and absence of a bathing stool.
Room cupboard without a hanger and hanger rod was also a surprise. I hope that the Manager Operations, Mr P hari Prasad, must have taken care of these small things

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ASHOKMAHESHWARI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mahabalipuram hotels
0.4 mi away
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
#2 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Breeze Hotel
Sea Breeze Hotel
#22 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
3.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.4 mi away
INDeco Mahabalipuram
INDeco Mahabalipuram
#12 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
3.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram
8.0 mi away
Esthell Village Resort
Esthell Village Resort
#11 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
8.3 mi away
Landmark Pallavaa Beach Resorts
Landmark Pallavaa Beach Resorts
#10 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mamalla Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mamalla Heritage

Property: Hotel Mamalla Heritage
Address: No 104, East Raja Street, Mahabalipuram 603104, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Mahabalipuram
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Mahabalipuram
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mamalla Heritage 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mamallapuram a place to reckon with great sculptures and heralding dynastics. A place shrouded in an area of history and splendour. Mamallapuram is a place of great significance and is one of the main heritage cenres in the Indian tourism industry. The drive from chennai to Mamallapuram is by itself a pleasure cruise. The East Coast Road winds through a stretch of calm, swaying, casuarina groves, With the golden beaches sliding all along the way and the salty breeze breaking upon face, blowing all your worries away. This stretch is becoming a vast recreation centre for Chennai residents. With all the existing entertainment centre's, resorts and artists villages and a lot more proposed on this stretch, this road will soon be the entertainment hub of Chennai.This exotic town has the rare combination of freedom and restriction, grandeur and grace, entertainment and education. You can feel the richness and the artistic inclination of the Pallavas in the air. Living legends and mammoth monoliths form a part of Mamallapuram's splendour. The salty air, timeless roar of the sea, the endless stretch of sand and sky will enrich your soul and enliven your spirits.Commanding a vital position in this bygone town of the pallavas is a hotel which embodies the Pallavan era of hospitality, beauty and enchantment, in its simple and screne environment- Hotel Mamallaa Heritage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Mamalla Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamalla Heritage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing