We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram
Nearby Hotels
Village Retreat(Mahabalipuram)
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ideal Beach Resort(Mahabalipuram)
US$97
US$82
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mamalla Heritage(Mahabalipuram)
US$46
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Joe Beach(Mahabalipuram)
US$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Mahabs(Mahabalipuram)
US$37
US$33
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Ramakrishna(Mahabalipuram)
US$35
US$30
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
US$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vinodhara Guest House(Mahabalipuram)
US$11
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,344)
Filter reviews
2,344 results
Traveller rating
1,185
759
238
91
71
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,185
759
238
91
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolwharf restaurantsea view chaletwaters edgehigh teabeautiful propertymain restaurantpool sidehuge poolbeach frontbreakfast spreadlunch and dinnerroom service isfront officecourteous staffsea foodmemorable stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,857 - 1,862 of 2,344 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Food was excellent, staff very friendly , location well maintained

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elangor, Director Operations at Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

Dear guest

Thank you for the positive feedback on the Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us.

We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to our area.

Best Regards

Elango Rajendran
Director Operations
+919940422999

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Well - I wish it could be a better revue, because there is much to commend here. The rooms are huge and very comfortable. We had a poolside room, which opens onto your own little segment of 'the longest pool in Asia'. The pool is a brilliant idea. It meanders through the site in such a clever way that you never feel that you are in a vast, soulless pool. There are plenty of sunbeds grouped along the perimeter, with coconut trees to shelter under. The site is large and you can get buggies to take you from one place to another. I had my hair done at the beauty parlour, which was good. My husband used the fitness centre which was also good.

That was the good part! The real downside of this resort was the food and the amateur service in both restaurants. We do not like buffet dinner so we always asked for a la carte. Both restaurants have a la carte menus. So far so good! The service in the main menu was so bad that we had to practically trip the waiters up to remove a plate between courses! At the end of our meal one of the waiters came to ask whether we had enjoyed our meal! When we told him, he actually said that they don't do a la carte in this restaurant! So what was the a la carte menu for??? the other beach side restaurant was a little better - but not much. Interestingly, breakfast was very good. It was buffet and it worked well. This meant that each day we started well - and felt optimistic about the evening! Our expectations were never realised, so we started going out for dinner after three days!

It is a real shame, because Mamallapuram is a lovely place with lots to see and do. Unless we felt confident that they had improved the food situation, we would be forced to find somewhere else to stay.

Room Tip: Poolside good. There were some rooms near the sea which looked interesting
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynntrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elangor, Director Operations at Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

Dear Sir,

On behalf of our entire team here at the Radisson BLU resort Temple bay, we apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at this hotel. I have also noted the issues you have highlighted with concern and will ensure that corrective action is taken as soon as possible.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit, we can meet or exceed your expectations.

We look forward to welcome you back and assure you our best services at all times.


Best regards,

Elango Rajendran
Director Operations
+91 9940422999

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Didn't stay at the hotel; just spent an afternoon at the beachside bar. Come here with your family and the kids will be blown away by the immense pool. But if you're looking for any degree of refinement, you won't find it here. The staff can barely get their act together to make a good cocktail. The lobby is unattractive, the dining room generic, and the principal bar utterly non-descript. Venture to the beach and you'll find a much more inviting bar, but from the moment you're handed one of the frayed menus, the experience disappoints -- especially considering the price, around 10 USD for a mango margarita or a mojito. The scale and layout of this property make you wonder just how amazing it could be if it were better run.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Agiocambos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elangor, Director Operations at Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

Dear Guest,

On behalf of our entire team here at the Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay, we apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at this hotel. I have also noted the issues you have highlighted with concern and will ensure that corrective action is taken as soon as possible.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit, we can meet or exceed your expectations.

We look forward to welcome you back and assure you our best services at all times.


Best regards,

Name
General Manager
Mobile number:

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Stayed here in February for 6 nights with my husband and son. We booked a Pool Villa which was not cheap, but suited our needs. The villa itself was nicely laid out, had a private area and lovely swimming pool, although it leaked slightly, and the water level kept going down.
However, the service was almost non existent. We had no turn down service for the first few nights, and therefore no dry towels for the next morning. After asking several times for this service, which surely should be routine, we received it for the last couple of nights.On arrival, I had to clean the bath, and in fact, never used it because it was not clean enough. We asked for the bath to be cleaned, but it was never clean enough to use. We also had to ask repeatedly for our outside area, including outdoor furniture, to be cleaned, as there were a lot of birds around that made quite a mess! As we were three of us,we asked 3/4 times for an extra sunbed to be put in our pool area, but this never arrived.
I feel I spent a great proportion of my time asking for services that should have been routine.
Had a drink in the bar one evening - this had no ambience or atmosphere, and the prices were extortinate! The restaurant was slightly "Butlin" style.
Overall, I feel we had a very bad deal for the money we paid, and would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fleur24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elangor, Director Operations at Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

Dear Sir,

On behalf of our entire team here at the Radisson BLU resort Temple Bay, we apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at this hotel. I have also noted the issues you have highlighted with concern and will ensure that corrective action is taken as soon as possible.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit, we can meet or exceed your expectations.

We look forward to welcome you back and assure you our best services at all times.


Best regards,


Elango Rajendran
Director Operations
+91 9940422999

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

The Radisson at Mahabaliupuram is a wonderful property. It sits right on the beach but let me warn the water enthusiasts that it is not much of a beach. The beach is not private, nor it is beautiful, it is just part of a town beach which can be accessed by others too. The stretch of beach parallel to the hotel is maintained by them, so is in spic and span condition. But on either side on the beach, you can see other structures , reminding you that you are in the middle of lots of people, and that takes away your beach feeling. It is good for the kids to play though. In the nights the beach is very private, no local crowds come in, but then unfortunately it is closed for the hotel guests too, for security reasons. In the night the beach looks really secluded and lovely, I had really wanted to go down there and just sit there on the sand, but nobody is allowed to do that :(
Coming to the property, we stayed in the pool villa and the moment we entered our villa, we were blown off. Huge living room with a dining area, bedroom with beautiful decor. From the bedroom, there was a huge dressing room and behind that a verandah which faced a walled small private garden. The toilet and the shower were on the verandah and the garden had the Jacuzzi. It is all walled and totally private. There was one more bath room next to living area. Then there is the private pool, small but adeaquate for a family. Our whole experience of staying at this place was amazing and we ended up extending our stay for an extra day.
The hotel has two other common swimming pools. One is supposed to be the largest in South Asia and it is amazing. it is more like a waterway, just goes on and on. it has arched bridges built on top of it! it is so enormous and designed in such a way that, despite being a common pool, you can find your own private corner in there. Your disappointment of not being able to swim in the sea will be definitely overcome in this magnificent pool. They have an infinity pool as well, near to the sea, which is good as well.
The house keeping and the room service in this place is exceptional. Better than perfect. The only problem we encountered in this hotel was the restaurant. We had eaten at the main restaurant as well as the seaside one and they definitely have to improve on service. They have to improve by miles. We felt they were not trained how to give subtle, pro active service, which we expect from a hotel of such rating. The food is great and yummy, breakfast spread is enormous. But when the crowds come in, service gets worse and worse. They just are not able to manage the crowd. We complained about this twice, and afterwards our table was given better service, but I could still hear other guests complaining. But when we complained to the management, the response was very quick and positive and they went out of their way to make us feel better. Another negative was the lack of quality of cocktails served, which was a great letdown for a hotel of such grandeur.
But forget all that..everything else was perfect. We have unforgettable memories of this place. If you are South Indian food lover, this is the place for you. The sambar they make is the best in the world. You can ask for specific foods even if they are not on the menu. There is a huge earthen pot of curd they keep in the dinner buffet. I just wanted to jump into it and die. Maybe has got lots of fat, but who cares! The Tamil style vathal kuzhambu they make, Oh my God, I can die for that. Never, NEVER had we eaten South Indian delicaces made this way. Not only South Indian. One night the kids wanted Italian for dinner and unfortunately their menu did not have much choices in Italian. We spoke to the chef and requested him to make something for us.They surprised us ( totally blew us off our feet) by serving us the best best ever crostinis and lasagne and risotto. The chef personally came down to our cottage to ask how the food was! Do I have to say more? We were spoiled in every way possible by these people. Our car needed a tyre changed. and that was totally taken care of by the hotel staff. We just handed over the keys and forgot about everything.
The pool villa was expensive, but worth every penny we paid. The hospitality of this place has to be experienced to be belived. If you dont like something, ask them. They are ever willing to go out of their way to do things for you. Our vacation was the perfectest ever, lazing in the private pool, and then having yummy South Indian lunch by the poolside, and then later shifting to one of the other pools or to the pool table in the activities hall, coming back for yummy dinner and then an after dinner walk to the beach.
Warning : You get so spoiled, you may find it difficult to get back to reality once your vacation is over!!!

Room Tip: The sea facing cottages are far from the restaurant. If you have kids, it may be a better idea to stay nearer to the restaurant.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vidya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elangor, Director Operations at Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for the positive feedback on the Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us.

We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to our area.

Best Regards


Elango Rajendran
Director Operations
+91 9940422999

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews