We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Property,Service and Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Mahabalipuram
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing Property,Service and Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

I have stayed at this property twice and both times the service, food quality and staff were excellent. I really enjoyed staying here, enjoyed the activities offered like jumping in the middle of the sea from their boat, their private beach is very safe. Very well maintained rooms. Great front desk, FnB and housekeeping staff. Both the times we traveled on weekends and the hotel was packed but front desk staff were very courteous and helpful. They have 2 beautiful pools very well maintained. I have stayed in Radisson blu in Goa they were not up to the mark. I guess you should send some good staff to them. Thanks for the experience will be back soon.

Room Tip: Choose the beach facing chalet or the pool view rooms in front of the long pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arun_Soman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elangor, Director Operations at Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We are thrilled to see your positive feedback on the Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you are with us and truly demonstrate our service philosophy “Yes I Can !” .

We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to Mamallapuram and assure you of our best services.

Best Regards

Elango Rajendran
Director Operations
+919940422999
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,012 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    990
    664
    212
    85
    61
See reviews for
831
489
55
234
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (517)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Belgium
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

We had booked 3 rooms with some friends. The older kids shared a room and the younger children shared with their parents.
We were told that the parents rooms would be made into double king size beds and we have paid extra for an additional bed in each of the parents rooms.
We had seaview rooms. Whilst on the outside it seems a 5 star hotel... it is far from that in reality.
The rooms were old and simply were very poorly maintained (loose wires, stains etc), the bathroom was unclean,the showers were terrible and did not work correctly. The rooms were poorly cleaned, there was bird faeces on the balcony that was never cleaned.
The staff who should be cleaning were pretty clueless about what to do when we said something needed to be cleaned.
The extra bed that we paid for was a disgusting mattress, flea ridden - the sort of thing that you would pull out of the trash - was put on the floor. We asked for this to be changed and a proper bed to be brought in. It took several attempts to get them to do this. The 'new' mattress was only slightly better than the old one.
We asked repeatedly for our bed to be made into a double bed, which they never did so we stopped asking after the 4th or 5th time.
One day the mineral water in breakfast was free (they ran out of bottles in the buffet, so we asked for more) and then the following day they brought a different bottle and then charged us. In fairness they did credit us back when we complained.
On the plus side, they had a number of games that the kids could play/use, the pools were decent and there is direct access to the beach.
I can see why people think this is 5 star, and 15 years ago it might have been, but not anymore. Indian 5 star hotels have an attention to detail.. this place lacks that, it lacks class, it has the facilities to be a 5 star but not much else.

Oh and be prepared for crows tapping on your windows, loudly at 6am for your morning wake up call.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BorninWolves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elangor, Director Operations at Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of our entire team here at the Radisson BLU Temple bay, we apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at this hotel. I have also noted the issues you have highlighted with concern and will ensure that corrective action is taken as soon as possible.

We are upgrading our rooms in a phased manner and in due course we will complete the renovation of all the rooms. I have taken up the issue of the additional mattresses with Executive house keeper and she has initiated the corrective measure.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit, we can meet or exceed your expectations.

We look forward to welcome you back and assure you our best services at all times.


Best regards,

Elango Rajendran
Director Operations
+919940422999
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Very well kept resort.

Beautiful pools: one infinity pool, and one very long winding pool snaking through the property. Had a lot of fun with the zorb ball in one of the pools.

Complimentary drink on check in was a nice touch. Otherwise food prices at the hotel were nearly 3x what you would pay outside. We didn't eat dinner in the hotel but from what we could see it looked like a good choice and high quality. Breakfast was good.

To improve:
Bathroom was a touch grubby feeling, compared to expectations of this tier of hotel, and other radisson blu's. The floor was also dirty and it was not easy to get housekeeping to clean it. And check in was quite tedious: the staff didn't understand how we had booked, thought we had yet to pay tax. Also they demanded a print out of our confirmation even though it was on their systems. Not sure why they needed it to be honest.

Finally, and I'm not sure how much this is radisson's responsibility or not.

The surrounding area is *very* poor indeed. Perhaps it hasn't recovered from the tsunami. Perhaps it was just off season. But it was amongst the most poverty ridden in our month long travels in India. Consequently the beaches and streets are filthy, and unpleasant to walk through. And yet the Radisson sits pristine, untouched, in a vast bubble in the middle of it all. This is typical of large hotels in India but it felt especially stark here. I would like to see some community service from large hotels which are clearly imposing on the local towns.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gaurav V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elangor, Director Operations at Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of our entire team here at the Radisson BLU Temple bay, we apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at this hotel. I have also noted the issues you have highlighted with concern and will ensure that corrective action is taken as soon as possible.

We are in the process of upgrading our rooms where we will address all the issues mentioned by you. In order to ensure that the travel portal has communicated correctly to you we are seeking the confirmation mail send by them to the guest.

The hotel does undertake local community activity in association with the local government. But we do have our limitations on such activity.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit, we can meet or exceed your expectations.

We look forward to welcome you back and assure you our best services at all times.


Best regards,

Elango Rajendran
Director Operations
+919940422999
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

We took a 2 day break and stayed in the double sea view villa. The view is simply beautiful. The noise of waves hitting the shore all along and green lawns just made the stay so calm and peaceful. A must visit resort. They have everything inside. There is scope for a lot of activities. Pool-lovers can't come back without experiencing Temple Bay's swimming pool/infinity pool. Relax is the word.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Arvind T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elangor, Director Operations at Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We are thrilled to see your positive feedback on the Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you are with us and truly demonstrate our service philosophy “Yes I Can !” .

We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to Mamallapuram and assure you of our best services.

Best Regards

Elango Rajendran
Director Operations
+919940422999
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sárvár, Hungary
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Aside from some smaller problems with checking in (had to wait for two hours for our room to be ready, for which we have been compensated with a free late check-out), we have spent a nice long weekend here. Hotel amenities leave nothing to be desired, beautiful landscaping, exemplary cleanliness within the hotel premises. Great pool, good restaurants, very friendly, helpful and efficient staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Andras G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elangor, Director Operations at Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We are thrilled to see your positive feedback on the Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you are with us and truly demonstrate our service philosophy “Yes I Can !” .

We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to Mamallapuram and assure you of our best services.

Best Regards

Elango Rajendran
Director Operations
+919940422999
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

A beautiful place to stay for rest and relaxation, lovely staff, lovely food, clean and tidy. The grounds are immaculate. Or sea view chalet was spacious and extremely comfortable. Staff are so friendly. Room service - be clear on your order to avoid confusion. Sometimes the in room menu differs from the in restaurant. But lovely food!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Hotels

Helpful?
Thank jsw19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elangor, Director Operations at Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We are thrilled to see your positive feedback on the Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you are with us and truly demonstrate our service philosophy “Yes I Can !” .

We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to Mamallapuram and assure you of our best services.

Best Regards

Elango Rajendran
Director Operations
+919940422999
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

There are some strong positives and very strong negatives based on my experience.

First the positives.
a) Excellent pools. Infact we went to this property only for the pools. The big pool and the small pool near the sea shore were excellent.
b) Rooms spacious
c) excellant ambiance all round.

Now the Negatives
a) We had booked two rooms on 15th Aug 2014 and arrived at 3:30 pm for the check-in. But was provided 1 temporary room at 4:30. My two rooms were provided only around 5:45 in the evening.
b) We booked for a SPA from the temporary room giving that room number, later we were given our rooms and later found that the SPA folks called up the temporary room and since we were not there the SPA appointment were cancelled.
c) There was a badly drafted letter along with the news paper delivered to room ensuring guests to checkout at 12:00. This i felt was very disrespectful. Guest do know the checkout time. No need for a crude reminder.
d) We got the room by 5:45 pm and had to checkout by 12:00? would have preferred a courtesy apologies or a suggestion for a delayed checkout knowing that we were given rooms late (Even though we would have checked out anyway)
e) The toilet doors in room 163 was not closing and had to make 15 calls starting at 6:00 pm. Finally got fixed only around 9 pm in the night.
f) Had called for the room service to take back the plates after eating by 9:00. Had someone knocking at the door at as late as 10:10 pm and a another person at 10:30 pm to take back the plate
g) Unlike other properties, you cannot go to the sea shore for a walk after dinner. Property such as this should have arrangements for guests to stroll in the beach after dinner.
h) Getting buggy's around 11-12 am is difficult. Told this is checkin time and buggies are occupied.

Advice : Select this properties on weekdays when there is no full occupancy to enjoy this property. Felt they are ill equipped to handle full occupancy. You cannot expect good Service.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Immanuel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elangor, Director Operations at Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of our entire team here at the Radisson BLU Temple bay, we apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at this hotel. I have also noted the issues you have highlighted with concern and will ensure that corrective action is taken as soon as possible.

During the busy days check in and check out window is narrow and making it difficult for us to allocate the rooms in time.

We do not allow access to the beach after dark for safety reasons, since the beach is public beach and many people access from the village side.

I have briefed the In Room service people to respect the privacy and do the clearance with out disturbing the guest.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit, we can meet or exceed your expectations.

We look forward to welcome you back and assure you our best services at all times.


Best regards,

Elango Rajendran
Director Operations
+919940422999
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahabalipuram
0.2 mi away
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
#2 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
8.3 mi away
InterContinental Chennai Mahabalipuram Resort
12.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Chariot Beach Resort
Chariot Beach Resort
#8 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
3.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mamalla Heritage
Hotel Mamalla Heritage
#6 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
3.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
14.4 mi away
MGM Beach Resorts
MGM Beach Resorts
#1 of 1 in Muttukadu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram

Property: Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram
Address: 57 Covelong Road, Mahabalipuram 603104, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Mahabalipuram
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Mahabalipuram
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mahabalipuram
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mahabalipuram
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram 4.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay located along the shores of Bay or Bengal at Mamallapuram is 65 km drive from Chennai. This seaside town is an acclaimed World Heritage Center with centuries old historic monuments and temples. Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay, easily the most visited luxury resort, provides accommodations on beach front. The resort spans across 44 acres with various options for leisure and entertainment. It's comprised of 144 rooms including suites, pool villas, chalets, Bay villa and Bay Bungalow. It has one of the longest meandering swimming pool in Asia which is 24000 Sq. Ft. and an infinity pool of 3500 sq ft that gives you a great feel of reaching out into the horizon. Modern and Ayurvedic Spa for ultimate relaxation and rejuvenation. Versatile Banqueting Zone with state of the art pillar less 10000 sq ft. with best acoustics for both conferences and celebrations. Huge open space that lets you celebrate events in the arm of nature, the lawns by the sea is great destinations for dream weddings and parties. various Food and Beverage outlets gives you a choice of cuisine along with finest beverages. The Wharf - sea side specialty restaurant, Waters Edge Cafe - Round clock diner, Sindbad - adventure spirited bar, Maritime tales - relaxing lounge bar, round the clock in-room dining facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram Hotel Mamallapuram
Grt Temple Bay Hotel
Grt Temple Bay Mamallapuram

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing