We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate backpacker stop”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vinodhara Guest House
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Mahabalipuram
Reviewed 26 March 2013

plain room with a good bed and good, functioning fan. The hotel wasn't really anything special but was good for the price. It was "backpacker central." There was goo, secure parking for my motorcycle. I'd stay again if traveling this way in the future

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank pys11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2013

We moved here after a nightmare night at Lakshmi Hotel just opposite. The guy that runs this is a really nice young man, he was very helpful, spoke amazing english and sorted us out if we had any queries/concerns!

There is wifi available in the rooms, tho they switch it off at night. A few times I snuck out an switched it back tho ;)

We took a room on the 1st floor, double bed for 2 of us (they didnt have a twin available) and it cost us 500 rupees per night. We had a compfy bed, mosquito net, clean sheets, and a fan.

The fan wasnt the strongest but we opened the windows (they had mosquito blinds) and it was better.

The bathroom is grand as wellm western style, could be a bit cleaner but the shower, sink and toilet all worked! The mosquito cover on the window was missing, such a small fix for comfort.

All the doors have a big padlock so I felt secure leaving my stuff in the room!

We stayed 2 nights, and were happy enough, great location, close to the beach and the shops!

Rating a 3 with the following issues:
- mosquito net didnt fit the bed perfectly
- wifi switched off at night? we travelers want to use the interweb to sort out our next plans when were in the comforts of our room so would have been good if they just left it on
- sometimes the water didnt work but this was scheduled
- sometimes the electric cut out but again this was scheduled

If your looking for cheap and can handle the issues above, then this place was no hassles and I would stay again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharmanat0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

It was my worst day. The hotel rooms are dark, moist and smelly. The beds has patches of fluids from human body ( guess what it could be. sorry cant explain more within tollerable limit). In the advertisement the hotel committed a lot of things like television, geysars in bath room, hot and cold water etc. There was a television in one room ( we booked two) without cable connection. Bathroom had only cold water and no bucket / mug, no geysar. The cleanliness was horrible. On several request they changed the patchy bed cover and provided a bucket and mug in toilet after 8 hrs.. Wondering how people rated this hotel as Good. Or is it some persons from the hotel itself who made the ratings high. My family , kid were shoked after staying here.

Room Tip: In Mahabalipuram there are number of hotels and guest houses. I will suggest to go , check and then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BhaskarJBanerjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

We decided to stay in mahabalipuram at last moment so had to book the hotel available ….. I booked Vinodhara guest house ……….
The location was very good lot of shops and restaurants near by …… very calm place, sea shore was very close …… For the price it was ok ok hotel …..
But lot lot of problems …….. First there was no water available for first night , reason given was pump not working ……. Second no hot water was available, reason solar was not working !!!!!!!! …….. Third no light in bathroom ….. forth lot lot of mosquitoes , we asked for a coil 1000 times but never got one …… fifth the was stinking with smell of kerosene!!!!!!! ………
With all this problem I will recommend not to go for this Hotel …… there are several options available on the same street with better management ……
Please avoid the hotel …….

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sushil21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

I stayed with friends for a weekend at the guest house. The location was good, a lot of cafés and restaurants are close.
We chose non-AC rooms, which was ok, because we had fans. The prices for the rooms were ok, they were basic but clean with attached bath rooms. Bed sheets were almost clean, but there were no blankets or towels (like at a lot of other places in India).
Some times there was warm water, but unfortunately the water didn't work from the late evening until the morning (also no cold water!)- the reception explained that they need to safe water...
The toilet flush in our room didn't work properly, but it was very hard to negotiate a reduction.
Check out time is noon.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aniko K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2009

Pleasant room with AC entirely satisfactory at Rs 1200 (except AC is switched off in evening owing to local power supply limitations). Failed to make taxi pick up at Chengalpattu on arrival, despite eMail confirmation. Reception staff prefer to chat to each other rather than deal with guests :
- I had to persuade them to check us in.
- Use of Internet service entirely informal with no record taken of start time and charge based on 'finger in the air'.
- We had low confidence in taxi arrangement for midnight trip to airport, as booking was taken very casually and nothing written down (which seems to be the disconcerting local norm) , but to be fair, the taxi was there and very comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank IcabodUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank CPV78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mahabalipuram hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ramakrishna
Hotel Ramakrishna
#18 of 28 in Mahabalipuram
136 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fullmoon Guest House
Fullmoon Guest House
#19 of 28 in Mahabalipuram
6 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mamalla Heritage
Hotel Mamalla Heritage
#8 of 28 in Mahabalipuram
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mahabs
Hotel Mahabs
#9 of 28 in Mahabalipuram
262 reviews
0.8 mi away
Nirvana Boutique Hotel
Nirvana Boutique Hotel
#23 of 28 in Mahabalipuram
11 reviews
2.9 mi away
Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vinodhara Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vinodhara Guest House

Address: No 9/4, Othavadai Cross Street, Mahabalipuram 603104, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Kanchipuram District > Mahabalipuram
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Mahabalipuram
Price Range: £8 - £29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Vinodhara Guest House 1*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a 5 minute walk away from the famous Shiva Temple,Beach,Town,and other monuments... Vinodhara Guesthouse offers comfortable accommodation in Mahabalipuram. Free WiFi access is available. Each room here will provide you with a TV, a balcony and a seating area. Private bathroom also comes with a shower. Extras include cable channels. At Vinodhara Gueshouse you will find a 24-hour front desk and a terrace. Other facilities offered at the property include a shared lounge, a tour desk and luggage storage. The property offers free parking. The guest house is barely 800 metres from the Five Rathas. The Chennai Central Railway Station and Chennai International Airport are both 60 km away. The in-house restaurant serves Indian, Chinese and continental delights. Room service can be requested for in-room dining comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Vinodhara Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing