We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Mahabalipuram
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The staff offer a good service and are very friendly. We have had very nice food. The beach is around the corner. My studio was perfectly clean, modern and quiet. Fast internet. Shiva gave me a remarkable private surfing lesson! I can certainly recommend this resort

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ekel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandebayresort, General Manager at Grande Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Grande Bay Resort Mamallapuram!

Thank you for sharing your valuable feed back. We are excited to note that you liked the overall service and facility of the Resort.

I will pass on your compliments to my colleague Shiva. Looking forward to meet you in near future.

Warm Regards

Samuel T. Rajan
Resort Manager
+91 98407 93960
sam@grandebayresort.in

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 426 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Beautiful resort ..good rooms..swimming pool ..good food..and a very good sevice.proximity to mahabs. . Recommend this resort to all of u guys who plan for a decent trip on u r holidays with and without family ..decent rate

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank brstalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandebayresort, General Manager at Grande Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Stalin,

Greetings from Grande Bay Resort Mamallapuram!

Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback and complimenting us in tripadvisor.

I am confident whoever sees your review will be surely our guest without any hesitation.

Looking forward to serve you in near future.

Warm regards

Samuel T. Rajan
Resort Manager
+91 98407 93960
sam@grandebayresort.in

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed there for a weekend with friends & it was a fantastic experience. Loved almost everything abt this resort like rooms, food, service etc.

Taking a slightly longer route to beach & the lack of fun activities are the only negatives.

But overall, its a great place to stay & much better than most of the other resorts in Mahab.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank HarshaVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandebayresort, General Manager at Grande Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Harsha,

Greetings from Grande Bay Resort Mamallapuram!

Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback and complimenting us on the product, service and food.

We have noted your concern on lack of recreational facilities. Being a brand new Resort we are in the continuous process of upgrading our facilities. We have different out door activities to keep the guest engaged and the brochure is available in the room. We are also organizing free Yoga, Sun rise walk in the morning, Beach Volley Ball and fun activities for kids during week ends.

Please feel free to contact me during your next visit to Mamallapuram.

Warm regards

Samuel T. Rajan
Resort Manager
+91 98407 93960
sam@grandebayresort.in

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This is our eighth annual event of our friends-get- together which we have celebrated in Grande bay over the last week end. I was the organizer and have chosen this resort after carefully reading lot of reviews about this resort from the internet. The following could have been major reasons/highlights why i opted this choice for our annual event. They made me feel proud of this choice by fulfilling their commitments.

1. Room Ambience & Friendly Service
2. Swimming Pool - Strict dress code and discipline is maintained
3. Wonderful restaurant - Chef and servers are very friendly and they were serving the food in accordance to our individual preferences.
4. Flexibility with check-in an check out timings
5. Guidance and Hospitality from Guest Relation team. Special mention to Liza and team.
6. Package deal bundled with lot of good stuffs.

Below are few nice to have things...
1. Easy accessibility to beach and also this could have been kept more cleaner.
2. Additional outdoor engagements and events for kids and adults.
3. Some more varieties can be added in the Buffet.

I would definitely recommend this resort for my office colleagues, friends and relatives.

Room Tip: Grand Chalet in the first floor near East side of resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank RajaTTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandebayresort, General Manager at Grande Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Raja,

Greetings from Grande Bay Resort Mamallapuram!

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience in tripadvisor. The entire team at Grande Bay got excited to read your reviews and overwhelmed with your experience you had with us.

Looking forward to your stay with us in near future.

Warm regards

Samuel T. Rajan
Resort Manager
+91 9840793960
sam@grandebayresort.in

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Awesome resort, stayed for one night with friends. location and service was very good. enjoyed every single moment in this place. No words, Will stay again and again.
Special thanks to Lisa and chandini.

Room Tip: For travellers, Please get swimming costumes to get into the pool. without swimming costumes, you wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank advisor435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandebayresort, General Manager at Grande Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Grande Bay Resort Mamallapuram!

Thank you for your generous compliments. I will definitely pass on your comments to my colleagues who were responsible for your enjoyable experience. Your words will not only motivate our colleagues, but inspire the entire team at Grande Bay Resort to continue providing the best service experience.

We look forward to welcome you in the near future.

Warm Regards

Samuel T. Rajan
Resort Manager
+91 98407 93960
sam@grandebayresort.in

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Really beautiful and new hotel! True, not a real Spa and not directly to the beach, but this is no problem, as the city is close and you can get massages there as well and the beach is not so nice anyways. The pool and pool staff was great! Restaurant A/C had a "fridge smell" but the food and buffett was awesome! There are some constructions going on in the other pool villas, but this was not too loud.
Thanks for this realxing and wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sinalco667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandebayresort, General Manager at Grande Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Grande Bay Resort Mamallapuram!

Thank you for sharing your experience with us in TripAdvisor.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your recent stay and we have met your expectations, Your feedback helps to keep our team motivated and to improve our standards. Thank you once again for recognizing our efforts. We really appreciate this gesture and would look forward to welcome you back at our Resort.

Warm Regards

Samuel T. Rajan
Resort Manager
sam@grandebayresort.in
+91 9840793960

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed with two other friends at Grande Bay during the weekend. I have many observations which I pen down below -
1. The hotel name is a misnomer - Doesn't have a 'spa'. There is no access to beach from inside the hotel nor is the 'bay' visible from the property. It is a small property and 'grandeur' is reflected only as you enter.
2. The way to public beach is through a unmaintained lane. The beach is dirty and we found it to be a hangout for drinks and unsafe. There is no security, no street lights on the lane to the beach. Ironically, the website of the hotel calls it a 'beach property'. The only worthwhile hotel on the beach is the Five Star 'Radisson Blu' adjacent to Grande Bay. The other beach property closer to the city is 'Vivanta by Taj' popularly known as Fisherman's cove.
3. There is no kind of activity, indoor or outdoor, inside the premises except for a pretty nice pool. There is no health club, bar as well. The hotel's activity list included astrology and we asked for an appointment with the fortune teller. To our dismay, we were told that we need to go to his place and he wouldn't come to our hotel.
4. The rooms are decent, new. Unfortunately, I had to discover before getting into the bed that they had clandestinely put two cots together and also placed two separate blankets. It would have been good if we were informed well in advance during check-in. There is no bedside master key to control lights. The tiny backyard were two lounge chairs are put is awe-fully landscaped. The tea cups placed are quite small and the handle so small that you cannot hold the cup without burning your fingers. The bathroom although compact and nice, had a flaw with the health faucet and there is a pretty good chance of hurting oneself with the intense water pressure.
5. The lovely part of the hotel, is the people. They are all so sweet, caring, dutiful. The restaurant is to very good standards. And even if one is staying at other properties, it is good to drive down to the 'latitude 49' for a meal. The restaurant also serves very nice vegetarian and Jain food.
6. The best season to visit Mahabalipuram is during October - February when the temperature hovers around 30 degrees.

Room Tip: Choice of rooms hardly matter. Pretty similar standards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank VikasMunoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandebayresort, General Manager at Grande Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear Vikas,

Greetings from Grande Bay Resort Mamallapuram!

Thank you for sharing your recent review about our Resort in Tripadvisor.

We have noted your points of concern and the same has been discussed with our team to take corrective measures.

Being a new Resort the Bar and the Spa is not in operation yet. Our Bar "The Quentina" is getting ready for the opening on 21st July 2014. We are all excited and getting geared for the launch. Soon she is going to be the talk of the town.

We will be opening the Spa block in a short period and looking forward to be our guest and your reviews at that time.

Warm regards

Samuel T. Rajan
Resort Manager
sam@grandebayresort.in
+91 98407 93960

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahabalipuram
2.4 mi away
Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram
1.1 mi away
WelcomHotel Kences Palm Beach
WelcomHotel Kences Palm Beach
#1 of 28 in Mahabalipuram
200 reviews
1.4 mi away
Chariot Beach Resort
Chariot Beach Resort
#6 of 28 in Mahabalipuram
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 mi away
InterContinental Chennai Mahabalipuram Resort
12.3 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove
1.7 mi away
Village Retreat
Village Retreat
#26 of 28 in Mahabalipuram
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Bay Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Bay Resort and Spa

Address: Kovalam Road, Mahabalipuram 603104, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Kanchipuram District > Mahabalipuram
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Mahabalipuram
Price Range: £65 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Bay Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well designed rooms to cater to the needs of business and leisure travellers. Enjoy the Leisure in our Spacious elegant and unpretentious architectural designed rooms with options of rooms over looking the swimming pool, sit-outs,private garden at the back yard. All rooms are equipped with modern amenities like LED TV, Digital Channels, Tea Coffee Maker, Electronic Safe and a Minibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Grande Bay Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing