We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old Indian travellers” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ideal Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ideal Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Mahabalipuram
Certificate of Excellence
West Sussex U K
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Old Indian travellers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

Last in Mahaballipram 30 years ago,how we and it has changed.Loved the hotel, great facilities,pool, staff, room, situation, food pretty good if you can get the chapattis and dosa freshly made

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingrid S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    402
    109
    26
    11
See reviews for
286
271
35
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona, USA
Level Contributor
309 reviews
209 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

We stayed at this hotel while on tour, so can’t comment on the price/value. Our room was very nice, quite large with everything we needed to be comfortable. There were coffee/tea-making facilities in the room and a complementary bottle of water. The beds were very comfortable. The hotel is located on a nice beach and has well-maintained grounds. The rooms should be very quiet since they are away from any road traffic. While we were there, though, there was a noisy temple festival next door, but this should not be normal. Breakfast was included for our tour (I don’t know if this is the case for individual travelers) and was very good, with a wide variety of dishes including cooked-to-order omelets and waffles. We ate dinner at the hotel. You can either get the buffet or order a la carte, which we did. The food was satisfactory. There are a wide variety of services available at the hotel. Service was very good.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jspace63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

Our family stayed in Dec 2011, very clean, very humble staff in reception, restaurant, and room service. Excellent value for money, breathe taking atmosphere, right on the beach. Excellent for kids. I will strongly recommend for family to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Easan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
180 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

Stayed here Nov 2011. This is a nice resort, fabulous location. You can go for nice walks on the beach here. Rooms were OK.
We were disappointed with the food in the restaurant. The fish was just so, so. Nothing to write home about.

Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Oldbackpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
376 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

This was our second stay here, on a company weekend, just about a year after the last one. Not much has changed, the welcome at reception was as cheerful, the lawns are as impeccable as ever and along with the trees and plants, swimming pool and the sea and the beach make for surroundings that are relaxing indeed. This place is just what one needs to get away from the stress, noise and pollution of the city. The fact that it is only about an hour’s drive from Madras makes it easily accessible.

We were given the “Queens Cottage” (or was it the Queens Suite?), which was really spacious with two bathrooms, one with a tub and the other open to sky. There were two double beds, a sofa set, a couch, ample storage in the form of wardrobes and drawers and a charming roll top writing desk. The room also featured a fridge, coffee/tea maker, good air conditioning, cable TV, and basic toiletries. Our friend had a “Sea View Cottage” which had a sitting room besides what we had. While we thought that the suites are too big for singles or couples, a couple with two or three kids will be very comfortable.

The food, with elements of Indian, Sri Lankan and European on the menu, was really good and easy on the wallet. The breakfast buffets, was excellent. The bar offered as good a choice as is possible in this state.

The service was friendly and reasonably efficient with the addition of some people from the North East, who tend to understand English a little better than some others. The only jarring note was when we were billed extra for starters picked up from the private buffet organized for our group,, because “they were drinking along with the starters”. The problem was subsequently sorted out to our satisfaction.

I could not understand the remarks in a previous reviewer on this site that “many of the personnel seemed to be very sad and almost resentful - very few warm greetings or returned smiles”. I wonder if the person is writing about the same resort ?!!…At Ideal beach, smiles and warm greetings were never in short supply, and I did see many a guest being greeted like old friends….

We have been here twice and will go again….

Room Tip: If you are single or a couple, the "sea view deluxe cottage" is the best bet.,,
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank yesuthasen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

Our family stayed here for three nights over Christmas. There were a lot of Indian families there, which was nice for us, as we didn't want to stay in an anonymous western style hotel. The best thing here was the Indian food - good masala dosa for breakfast and nice spicy curries for dinnner. The Christmas buffet was excellent too, with foor from different regions in India and even a European station. The rooms were clean but uninspiring and the pool area was a bit shabby, although clean. The spa was also shabby and the facial I had was average. The thing that hit me most was that many of the personnel seemed to be very sad and almost resentful - very few warm greetings or returned smiles. Also the service in the restaurant was patchy and the organisation was chaotic. One must remember that this is a very poor area, and our conclusion was that the people working here must have pretty tough lives - so it is maybe understandable that it is difficult for them to "put on an act" for guests. I saw an earlier comment that the staff do not receive the tips put in the communal tip box. I sincerely hope that this is not the case, and that our tip was distributed fairly. It would be goog if management could comment on this issue.....

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BJohanssonSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moshav near Netanya
Level Contributor
104 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

This was our first hotel in South India, and we were disappointed by the rooms themselves. From the photos, we expected something nicer. No hot water in the showers on both evenings that we spent there. The pool is very nice, and the grounds are beautiful and very well kept. Since we spent most of the time exploring the region, this was secondary in my mind, and i would've preferred a beautiful room with so-so grounds. The fisherman's village next door is wonderful - go at 8AM to see them coming back from their mornings catch. Very friendly people, great photo opportunities.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingMoshavnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahabalipuram
0.4 mi away
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
#2 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram
8.4 mi away
InterContinental Chennai Mahabalipuram Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Esthell Village Resort
Esthell Village Resort
#12 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chariot Beach Resort
Chariot Beach Resort
#9 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
3.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
14.5 mi away
MGM Beach Resorts
MGM Beach Resorts
#1 of 1 in Muttukadu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ideal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ideal Beach Resort

Property: Ideal Beach Resort
Address: # 4/ 200, Sagarasree, 3RD Cross, Kapaleeshwarar Nagar, Mahabalipuram 603104, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Mahabalipuram
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mahabalipuram
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mahabalipuram
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ideal Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A picturesque resort surrounded by luscious greeneries and a private beach, Ideal Beach Resort offers personalized service, traditional Ayurvedic massage, a mouth-watering dining experience and a relaxing pool; our team does not spare an expense when it comes to guest satisfaction. Merely a stone’s throw away from the historical UNESCO site, Mahabalipuram is easily accessible on foot or by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Ideal Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ideal Beach Hotel Mahabalipuram
Ideal Beach Mamallapuram

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing