We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bells of Pongamiya”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
INDeco Mahabalipuram
Ranked #13 of 27 Hotels in Mahabalipuram
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Bells of Pongamiya”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

The restaurant of Indeco hotel is named as Pongamiya. At the entrance of the restaurant two bells are hung for customers to give feedback.Ring the small bell if your experience is good.Otherwise the big bell.We ,a family of six had lunch there on a hot Sunday afternoon.They charge Rs.300+taxes for the vegetarian buffet.The food was average with hard tandoori roti (inspite of keeping in the hot vessel) ,veg biriyani and some dishes.Curries had a dominating tamarind taste,perhaps a local speciality,The Kesari bath and vanilla ice cream were good.The natural surroundings is an attraction for this place.Yes,my son struck the smaller bell of Pongamiya.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KrishnakumarCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    91
    76
    27
    19
See reviews for
94
77
19
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

We planned this place due t heritage property n close t Shore Temple. Front office was great so is the restaurant staffs. Foods need great improvement xcept brfast which is great. Room was not very well done,gloomy,poor toilet status n unpreparedness shocked Us. Very gloomy entrance, needs great effort to mk it a great property as its vast n litl effort can see a change. Eco tourism is a great concept but betterment is needed t classify it under that. Beach was close so is d Shore Temple. That was an advantage truly. We had xperienced good thunderstorm n massive rain n that also made d property went off d hook too. Illumination needs a lot improvmnt too. No nearby good restaurants too. No tea coffee maker in d room. Wifi at lobby only.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank deep90gupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We had booked 15 rooms, on 26th -27th Oct, 2013 for a Family Get-together. Members of the family were from Age group 1 to 90 years. We had a wonderful time in the resort. The staffs were very courteous and polite. We have been personally taken care by Mr. Sridhar- General Manager. The Rooms were clean and maintained properly. They have provided us conference hall with audio system and also space/materials for camp fire in the night. Kids and adults had a very good time in the swimming pool. Food was Very Good. They have also provided wheel chair service to senior citizens for mobility from room to beach area and within the resort.

Room Tip: I had stayed in Room No 101. Room was spacious and was very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Prakash P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chennai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

we were a group of 40 people on family get together.vast area of greenary and just facing the sea.we played so many games including the pot breaking game which we enjoyed much.food was excellent the suggested menu itself was great!!!! timely service of all staff""""we never heard a word "no" to any of our request. just planning to book a suite room to stay and enjoy the night experience. excellent collection of antique things.the lobby is so good. I thank all the staff and the management of INDeco hotels for making my mom"s birthday a sweet memory .
cheers!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Prasanna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Located just near the shore temple ..... When you enter it's like forest with lot of trees, birds..... Greenery everywhere !!!!
Spacious rooms, swift check in, yummy food ......

Clean pool ..., sight seeing by bullock Cary at night is just carried the momentum!!!

Would recommend the friends to visit the resort!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Unni88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2013

It's the perfect destination for the family..... Spacious resort, clean rooms, lush green garden where you can enjoy playing whole day with the kid....very close the beach even it's safer to take a walk at night with the security followed behind you!!!
Delicious food even they serve beyond the menu as per your specifications....what more we need!!

Nice indoor play area combined with the pool......the staffs are attentive at all the time where you feel like being in home....

Guddoos to the team you are doing amazing work, certainly it's the best resort so far I ve visited all around !!!

You can enjoy taking a picture coming out from the central prison chennai !!!!!! ( the old madras central prison gate has been taken on action and restored here)

Best of luck team...... Will visit soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Navinraj65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Mal is full of typical 'backpackistan' hotels and we came here for something a bit more special. It was OK. The hotel is very close to the beach but it wasn't clear to us whether there was direct beach access so we ended up walking a few mins down the public road. The lobby area was intriguing, with its display of antique furniture and various historical artefacts such as the original old Madras Prison Gate that has been erected close to reception. The restaurant was fairly good. What it lacked in ambience, it made up for by serving a limited but tasty range of veggie food. (Note that the room rates do NOT include breakfast) There is a swimming pool too, though erratically cleaned by the looks of it. The rooms however, were dingy and little better than what we could have found in the 'backpackistan' equivalents. Better to stay somewhere cheaper and come here to eat. Then you can enjoy the historical artefacts on display.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Indie-Brindie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mahabalipuram hotels
0.5 mi away
Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram
1.9 mi away
WelcomHotel Kences Palm Beach
WelcomHotel Kences Palm Beach
#1 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
140 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mamalla Heritage
Hotel Mamalla Heritage
#7 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
#3 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
393 reviews
8.7 mi away
InterContinental Chennai Mahabalipuram Resort
0.8 mi away
Chariot Beach Resort
Chariot Beach Resort
#8 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to INDeco Mahabalipuram? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about INDeco Mahabalipuram

Property: INDeco Mahabalipuram
Address: Shore Temple Road | Mahabalipuram, Mahabalipuram 603104, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Kanchipuram District > Mahabalipuram
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Mahabalipuram
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — INDeco Mahabalipuram 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled close to the legendary Shore Temple and the popular 7th century monoliths, is INDECO Mahabalipuram, the town's only luxury boutique hotel. This hotel is situated right in the heart of the town and spreads over a tranquil beach, offering contemporary luxuries in a historical back drop.INDECO Mahabalipuram, is an Indeco boutique hotel on the shores of Mahabalipuram and is set amidst the tourist attractions of the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your INDeco Mahabalipuram reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indeco Mahabalipuram Hotel Mahabalipuram
Indeco Mahabalipuram Kanchipuram

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing