We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible experience”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mahabalipuram
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Golden Sun Hotel & Beach Resort
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Mahabalipuram
Reviewed 11 May 2013

The worst place, so called resort. The A/C cottage room rate was mentioned in website as 2800 inclusive of taxes till September 2013 but it was billed for 3700, and the receptionist doesn't want to talk about that as we reached the place. All the pictures mentioned in in website is fake, Even the infrastructure. There is nothing a sea view room, it is really a swimming pool view. Rooms were unclean.

If some one comments good about this resort, They should be staying nearby coovom river or slum area and so find this better.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Travellersquest123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2013

I don't think it should be called as a resort....
Almost around 1000 People were there in the resort and there was no space for moving around....
Pool was looking like a pond with 100 buffalo...Drunk men all around, vomiting anywhere, miss behaving with families and the worst part is that the management doesn't want to look into the problems. The only answer we got was "This is Our Standard".

Water in the Bathroom was Smelling so so so horrible and black in color...The only response from the management for complains raised was 'This is Our Standard & Since U have registered here, U can leave with paying the Complete Amount".

Food served was pathetic. "liquor all around". & Behavior of the locals in the resort was atrocious...Didn't find it a safe place for spending time with family. Never expect the management to support U in anything once u Lodged in there.
U can get the feel of going to a Slum. So no reasons to describe abt the Ambiance of the place...

Better to go to Marina Beach...Its better maintained and Safe than Golden Sun...

If this is there Standard, make sure that U don't fall into their Standard.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Faizal_1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Fantastic place , but the room and toilets arent great for the money you pay. The receptionist was not friendly enough and had a grim face all through out the conversation. Food was brilliant.
The sign board ( parking at owner's risk) was a bit scary for the visitors.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank Vickyvim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

do not dtay at night with families. but if alone u can mamage anywhere,. rooms are very basic. price tag is for the location n facility only. even then i think 3500 is moderately cheap with such a great location. u have sea (careful bit steep), beach with shanties / deck chair. hammock, garden and a nice pool. we enoyed very mucg with the family. pool have 3feet pool so kids not worry. by costume shorts (or bermuda) are ok for indian man n boys. women can were with slacks n tees, recommended for day trip only

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DevD2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Its a lovely resort with good ambiance and fine luxury. The best part of the resort would be they have the beach right behind their resort and its all private. In addition to this they also have a swimming pool, travelers shopping complex. The loveliest part which i enjoyed is you can have tea on the beach side, breakfast on the beach side, lunch on the beach side and dinner too.
Its an awesome place for beach lovers..!!

Room Tip: Rooms facing beach are awesome..!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MahimaChandan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Me and my family dropped into this Resort for lunch, we returned after lunch to the parking lot only to find out that our Car's passenger seat window is smashed and all possessions left in the vehicle were stolen.
When we contacted the manager for an explanation we encountered an utterly irresponsible attitude. "Parking was at owner's risk apparently", that being the case I strongly advise fellow travelers who care about their family to never visit this property.
We parked our car inside their premises and at the designated parking lot, assuming that the resort has sufficient investment in security.
Golden Sun Resort gives the least importance to security, BEWARE!.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sandeep665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

I stayed there last weekends(10/12/12). Food was good and hygienic. Swimming pool also good but the locality of pool is poor. Service was good. Room only average and TV remote and fridge were not working. The rate is very high for this.I paid 4500 only for a day. It is not worthy.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnsalMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mahabalipuram hotels
0.4 mi away
Joe Beach
Joe Beach
#26 of 29 in Mahabalipuram
22 reviews
0.4 mi away
Village Retreat
Village Retreat
#24 of 29 in Mahabalipuram
50 reviews
2.8 mi away
Chariot Beach Resort
Chariot Beach Resort
#6 of 29 in Mahabalipuram
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Landmark Pallavaa Beach Resorts
Landmark Pallavaa Beach Resorts
#14 of 29 in Mahabalipuram
47 reviews
0.3 mi away
WelcomHotel Kences Palm Beach
WelcomHotel Kences Palm Beach
#1 of 29 in Mahabalipuram
245 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
#3 of 29 in Mahabalipuram
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sun Hotel & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sun Hotel & Beach Resort

Address: 59 Kovelong Road, Mahabalipuram 603103, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Kanchipuram District > Mahabalipuram
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Mahabalipuram
Price Range: £44 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Sun Hotel & Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Sun Hotel & Beach Resort is a resort where you feel one with nature. From the moment you step in a feeling of The beautifully decorated surroundings of the Golden Sun Beach Resort gives immense feeling of satisfaction. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Golden Sun Hotel & Beach Mamallapuram
Golden Sun Hotel And Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing