We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet stay, clean hotel with high standard, hygienic food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
MGM Vailankanni Residency
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Velankanni
Reviewed 28 February 2013

This hotel is a 10 minute drive away from the church. Polite and professional service. Quiet place. Rooms are nice, well furnished and clean. All gadgets and appliances were working well. For a small town like Nagapattinam, the service standards are certainly high. The food was hygienic and quite tasty.

Suggestions: Sofas can be re-upholstered. Cable TV wasn't working most of the time. Even when it was, there were limited channels, mostly Tamil. Am sure this can be easily fixed.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PPenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajai K, VP - MGM Hotels and Resorts at MGM Vailankanni Residency, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on the Trip Advisor on your recent stay at our hotel. I will convey the positive aspects of your stay to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us.

We look forward to welcome you back and assure you our best services at all times.

Best regards,

Ajai Kacker
VP – MGM Hotels and Resorts
09566055535

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
There are newer reviews for MGM Vailankanni Residency
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2013

It was a nice stay in this hotel during our Vailankanni pilgrimage. Good service, a quiet place as it is a bit away from church. Restaurant and room services are up to the mark. But needs some improvement in the TV channels availability. Feels the sofa fabrics are due for replacement. Still a good place to recommend.
Joseph

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thandapral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajai K, VP - MGM Hotels and Resorts at MGM Vailankanni Residency, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on the Trip Advisor on your recent stay at our hotel. I will convey the positive aspects of your stay to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us.

We look forward to welcome you back and assure you our best services at all times.

Best regards,

Ajai Kacker
VP – MGM Hotels and Resorts
09566055535

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2012

Although clean and comfortable, and away from the hubbub of Velankanni, it is on the main road and can be noisy in the daytime. The food and the service in the restaurant are good. Only beef is the bathroom smelled of mothballs in their effort to mask the sewage odor. The pool was nice except someone was burning refuse next door and the smoke, especially from the plastic, was intolerable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the road
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobbygSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajai K, VP - MGM Hotels and Resorts at MGM Vailankanni Residency, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on the Trip Advisor on your recent stay at our hotel. I will convey the positive aspects of your stay to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us.

We look forward to welcome you back and assure you our best services at all times.

Best regards,

Ajai Kacker
VP – MGM Hotels and Resorts
09566055535

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

I stayed this hotel with my friends two months back.we stayed hear on our way to pilgrimage to velankanni.Since the hotel is around two km befor the church it is very nice and away from the hevy rush and noise.Hotel is clean and neat and the food also very nice.We stayed there for two days and we enjoyed the stay, hotel have a swimming pool,restaurant and a bar.Rooms are little conjusted but it's ok.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bijuantony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajai K, VP - MGM Hotels and Resorts at MGM Vailankanni Residency, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on the Trip Advisor on your recent stay at our hotel. I will convey the positive aspects of your stay to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us.

We look forward to welcome you back and assure you our best services at all times.

Best regards,

Ajai Kacker
VP – MGM Hotels and Resorts
09566055535

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in January 2012. I always dread staying in interior Tamil Nadu because hygiene is despicable, but this hotel was clean and comfortable. The food was good. The restaurant can be very noisy and crowded when the tour buses arrive. This is not a place for rest and relaxation, but more a place to stay on a religious trip. The hotel is close to Nagapattinam railway station and a short drive away from Vailankanni church. Hotel car pickup/drop to Vailankanni church costs about Rs 300 to 400 for a round trip.

We found deep holes in the sofa which looked really ugly. They need to put more effort into maintaining the interiors. The hotel is quite expensive for a place like Nagapattinam.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PPenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajai K, VP - MGM Hotels and Resorts at MGM Vailankanni Residency, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on the Trip Advisor on your recent stay at our hotel. I will convey the positive aspects of your stay to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us.

I have also noted the issues you have highlighted with concern and will ensure that corrective action is taken as soon as possible.

We look forward to welcome you back and assure you our best services at all times.

Best regards,

Ajai Kacker
VP – MGM Hotels and Resorts
09566055535

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We were 12 people and were thinking that accommodation would be a problem but to our surprise even though the cottages were full we were comfortably accomodated in 2 suite rooms with extra beds which were as good as the main beds. The resort I would say is on the main Nagapattinam Ramanad ECR Road and is situated right in the junction were one enters the smaller road leading to the Valankanni shrine.The rooms were tidy with new linen.The bath and toilet clean and well kept and had 24 hrs hot and cold running water.The restaurant was spacious clean and the cutlery had a gleaming twinkle. The kitchen and wait had proffesional staff so did the front office. The food was good with an economically priced menu.Centrally air conditioned rooms were functional in spite of power cuts. The resort has a nice swimming pool. We were totally at peace and enjoyed stay just relaxing in cool comfort.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajai K, VP - MGM Hotels and Resorts at MGM Vailankanni Residency, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2012

Dear Mr. Martin,

Vanakkam!

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to share your feedback on your recent stay at MGM Vailankanni Residency.

I am pleased to note that our services and facilities were to your satisfaction. Your positive feedback about the hotel is deeply appreciated and have been communicated to all the members of our team.

I thank you for your valuable comments and look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of the best in service and hospitality.

Best regards,

Ajai Kacker
VP – MGM Hotels and Resorts
09566055535

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

nice place to stay if you are visiting the vellankani shrine, need your own transportation to reach the shrine as it is not within walking distance, you can use a auto, available at the hotel gate at all times costs INR 50 one way.The cottages are good if around 5 adults want to stay as it has 2 bedrooms but on first floor of the cottage, not good for elderly. Has a swimming pool that kids can have fun in. Food is decent.

Room Tip: all rooms are good
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOEGUNN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajai K, VP - MGM Hotels and Resorts at MGM Vailankanni Residency, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2012

Dear Mr. Joe,

Vanakkam!

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to share your feedback on your recent stay at MGM Vailankanni Residency.

I am pleased to note that our services and facilities were to your satisfaction. Your positive feedback about the hotel is deeply appreciated and have been communicated to all the members of our team.

I thank you for your valuable comments and look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of the best in service and hospitality.

Best regards,

Ajai Kacker
VP – MGM Hotels and Resorts
09566055535

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Velankanni
0.8 mi away
Clinton Park Inn
Clinton Park Inn
#5 of 9 in Velankanni
191 reviews
1.0 mi away
GS Resorts
GS Resorts
#1 of 3 in Nagapattinam
27 reviews
23.6 mi away
Neemrana's Bungalow on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel VPN Residency
Hotel VPN Residency
#2 of 13 in Velankanni
83 reviews
1.2 mi away
Annai in Saravana Bhavan
Annai in Saravana Bhavan
#3 of 13 in Velankanni
23 reviews
23.6 mi away
Neemrana's Gate House
Neemrana's Gate House
#1 of 1 in Tharangambadi
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MGM Vailankanni Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MGM Vailankanni Residency

Address: 64/F2, Nagapattinam Main Road | Velankanni Arch, Velankanni 611111, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Nagapattinam District > Velankanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Velankanni
Price Range: £39 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — MGM Vailankanni Residency 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located close to the world famous "Vailankanni Basilica" (1 km). Renowned Nagore Dharga is 15 kms away from the resort and the cluster of Navagraha Temples are located around and easily accessible by road for a day trip. Nagapattinam port, Cauvery Basin and Karaikal industries are just a short drive. Point Calimere (wildlife sanctuary) or Tranquebar, the Danish Fort, is worth a day visit. Nearest airport is Trichy, 155 kilometers from the resort and well connected to the adjoining states by rail, road and flight. The resort has 31 rooms includes 13 Grandeur, 14 Deluxe Rooms and 4 Villa, Swimming pool, Conference Hall, 24 Hour Room service, Restaurant, Banquet Lawns, Indoor/outdoor games, private car parking and laundry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your MGM Vailankanni Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mgm Vailankanni Residency Hotel Nagapattinam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing