We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel with big rooms and good food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Continental Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Continental Hotel
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Allahabad
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Decent hotel with big rooms and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

I stayed in the hotel for a night in one of it's delux room. Big room. Clean, TV with tata sky connection, refrigerator with juices, soft drinks and the usual staff. Toilet is clean and good. I had my dinner at the restuarant. Food is reasonably good. Breakfast is included in the price and had reasonable Indian spread with bread, poha, puri, egg, fruits etc. Room is with electric kettle and tea, coffee bags and a pack of biscuit. Accept credit card. Only little hitch is that the AC is straight way facing the bed and you will get cold air hitting you on your face. Normally AC is placed accross the bed.

Room Tip: Nothing in particular
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arnabbagchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    32
    24
    7
    4
See reviews for
10
4
4
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Centrally located in the main market area this is a decent hotel. Nothing really much to write about though. While this place does not quite qualify as a luxury hotel it has all the basic ingredients of a Comfort Hotel. Most of the hotel staff are not very comfortable in english, but able to understand your needs. Unlike my previous visits here, on this occation the buffet breakfast was not spread out to invite or tempt me, and consisted of just a basic display of breads, fruits and juices and corn flakes. The crew however were very helpful and attentive and brought to me whatever I wished to have from the kitchen inside. The rooms are very basic providing a reasonable level of comfort.Neither is this place Grand and nor is there anything Continental about it. Good for a brisk business trip.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keenexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We moved to this hotel after a dreadful time at another Allahabad hotel that is highly rated. We had a small suite, with a lounge area and so on. The furnishings were fairly new and the cooling worked (compared to our friends who had Niagara Falls happening and had to be moved to another room). One gripe was the the room clearly wasn't used a lot and the floors were covered in grit that left our feet filthy all of the time. Yes, I could have insisted that housekeeping came and cleaned them but after a while you get tired of negotiating at receptions at hotels for basic thing that should be done. Staff cope with men better than women. Service here is functional but I wouldn't call it friendly as such.
I suspect that this hotel does a roaring trade in conferences and parties, and in some ways, normal hotel guests come second. On our second day, we were told we could not use the pool as there was a party happening and 'the pool is only for children;. Weird. And yes, we used the pool...
As Allahabad is a Muslim city, drinking alcohol in public is an issue. We ended up doing evening drinks in our room. Note that you cannot order food and drink at the pool and eat there - it is not allowed.
There is not a whole lot to DO in Allahabad. What IS worth doing in Allahabad is to go to Aarti on the banks of the Ganges. It's intimate, welcoming and moving. I loved it and it was the highlight of Allahabad for me.

Room Tip: Negotiate at reception for a deal so that you can upgrade to a nicer room. Worked for us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilipealea13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

1.) Had a very comfortable stay at the Hotel.
2.) Food is good.
3.) Staff is friendly.
4.) Centrally Located in Allahabad (eating spots, shopping & malls are all walking distance from the hotel).
5.) Has a banquet & Swimming pool also.

Thanks

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank KapilBatra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengalur, India
Level Contributor
83 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

we went for a holiday in March to Allahabad and had booked this hotel much in advance.

positive sides of the place: good location (civil lines is a CBD) and you could walk to shopping areas, cinema halls if one is interested. getting transport, etc are easy. the room we stayed was large (we had booked executive delux) with decent furniture and amenities.

not so positive sides: housekeeping was quite terrible (or they did not understand that one had to keep hand towels and bath towels both in any bathroom in a hotel) as we had to ask for towels and then we realised that there were no place to keep towels except bath towels over the bathtub. the decor of the room was old fashioned and needs a hand. restaurant food is average to ok but if you can attract the attention of some of the waiters, you do get good service (i guess one has to use charm :-) )
they were charging quite highly for car rentals so we hired from outside through net and it worked well.

my advice, book this hotel if it suits your budge but dont get your hopes up. its a decent hotel in a good location and since we were on a holiday, we spent mot of the time outside the room and it did not matter that much.

Room Tip: take rooms on ground floor inner side with the garden in front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarbarig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Pros: 1. Near railway station, in Civil Lines area , geographically good located.
2. Big hotel ,not like other congested property.old building.
3. Average Breakfast.

Cons: 1. overprices and overrated than actual offering. in the same tariff range you may get better options in the nearby area. my personal experience says ROI is not so much good.
2. Room service is very slow. they took 3 hours to change the CFL of the room.
3. they may charge for every tiny service you request. they charged me Rs 50 for just a black and white printout .

Room Tip: take first floor rooms,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ranchi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

We went for a college pool party There but saw there was no water in the swimming pool and It's named Grand Continental but from inside we found that it has only two floors i.e Gnd floor and the 1st floor.

Helpful?
1 Thank Swaticlaricexalxo
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travellers are raving about these Allahabad hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Allahabad hotels
0.4 mi away
The Legend Hotel
The Legend Hotel
#1 of 23 in Allahabad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel U.R
Hotel U.R
#3 of 23 in Allahabad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Polo Max
Hotel Polo Max
#13 of 23 in Allahabad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Prayag Inn & ZO Rooms
Hotel Prayag Inn & ZO Rooms
#10 of 23 in Allahabad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Grand Continental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Continental Hotel

Property: Grand Continental Hotel
Address: 13 Sardar Patel Road | Civil Lines, Allahabad 211001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Allahabad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Allahabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Continental Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A three star hotel approved by the Department of Tourism, government of India, centrally located in the heart of town, close to major business houses, tourist attractions, Sangam, High Court. The hotel is centrally airconditioned having 49 rooms including suites. Facilities available are Inroom dining, Multicuisine restaurant, Bar, Banquet facilities, parking, travel desk,Salon & Spa etc. Airport is at a distance of 8 k.M from the hotel and railway station and bus stand are at 1and half k.M. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Grand Continental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing