We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mélange of the old and the new.”
Review of Hotel Yatrik

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Yatrik
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Allahabad
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A mélange of the old and the new.”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Hotel Yatrik truly takes you back to a time of simplicity while retaining the aura of the modern world. While the beautiful garden is reminiscent of a hill resort , the rooms are well furnished and equipped with modern facilities. The staff is polite and at your service round the clock. The restaurant offers a wide range of dining options and the food is truly up to the mark. The location is an added advantage.

Room Tip: Book the rooms on the ground floor as they offer a great view of the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rsahai18796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    48
    13
    2
    13
See reviews for
30
13
10
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Really a third class hotel with exorbitantly high prices. i have stayed in june -14 and they have charged me approx 15000 for 1.5 days stay for their so called executive room which was full of seepage and bad smell .........every thing is pathetic there,whether you take hotel crockery,blanket or breakfast.
i would like to request to their management to stay in any good 5 star property in delhincr,mumbai,banglore,bangkok,singapore,london, or any other metro cities around the globe where rooms are available in 5000 -6000Rupees (proof attached)and then re-work on pricing and service,quality part other wise guest will always leave with very bad note.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amiii2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

I was tempted by the high praising reviews about this hotel.
Firstly, the rooms are cramped and very overpriced. There hardly space to walk.
Secondly, there was no control of the air conditioning. When they turned it on, it got too chilly and when they switched it off, it got suffocating.
Thirdly, the food was not to my liking at all. It just tasted like something was wrong with it.
After a week, when it got unbearable, I shifted to Hotel Ravisha.
Best decision I ever made.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Manu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meerut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

I have been travelling to allahabad very often for my official purpose and was strongly recommend hotel yatrik by my friend.Room given to me was 4500 plus taxes despite asking double bed I was given twin bed...rooms are shabby smelling bad..toilets are not maintained..glush not working poor quality toiletries. Ambience is very noisy and you dont have any privacy, swimming pool is not maintained, food is below average....In short I couldn't make it out how could the management of yatrik is justifying charging so high rates of comparable 4 star property in allahabad that is hotel KanhaSham which is far superior to Hotel yatrik.I found hotel yatrik a pure 2 star budget hotel....NO VALUE FOR MONEY

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank pbhasin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We booked to stay here after reading the glowing reviews (mostly) on Trip Advisor. Sorry to say, it was simply dreadful and we stayed one night simply because it was late, we were exhausted and it was hard to work out (with no wifi) where else we could stay. tI feel that this is a hotel that has worked out the way to get rated up on Trip Advisor.
When we arrived, the greeting was not friendly and it was clear that we were seen as 'more work' to do. I handed over my passport as requested, only to be rudely told a few minutes later, 'give me your passport' - to which I replied that he already had it in his hand in front of my face. Being asked for passports AGAIN at the end of our stay inflamed the situation and I would happily have discussed this with the local police rather than hand my passports over for round 2 (which wasn't justified at all, anyway). We simply refused and they glared but did nothing else about it.
The rooms that we had booked were not what we were shown, despite assurances from a staff member who smirked as he assured us that this was what we had reserved. They had quite heavily stained bedcovers and were singles, not a double. After a broohaha at reception, we were given rooms with a double bed (but yes, still with single sheets on them...) that were pretty nasty for the price we were paying. The room was tired and basic.
The garden is well-maintained and as most Indians don't have lush gardens, this would go down really well with the domestic market guests: it is full of flowers and lush, green grass.
No bottled water in the room, no water in the pool yet strangely enough plenty of water running out of the shower bay and across the bathroom floor (see a theme here, anyone?).
Please note: upon awakening the next morning, i looked out of the window to see the tell-tale glint of water in the pool. Yes, there IS a pool but it's not in any fit state to take water, so don't go booking this thinking that you'll be able to swim. There is a gaping hole in it, where it's been boarded up. No water is going to be entering that pool anytime soon...
It's a pity, as the 'bones' of this hotel are quite retro and it could be lovely if there was some concept of customer service and a refresher of how the place looks - unstained tablecloths and bedding would be a good start. If you have been travelling rough, then this place might look glorious (for example, it has ancient and loud air-con and a decent bathroom) but it's not charging low prices for what you get.
I don't think the Yatrick is really keen on having people stay, so look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Find another hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lilipealea13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Where do I start ? How about getting off the train from Lucknow, fussing over a taxi to take four of us and our luggage and then arriving dusty and thirsty around 18.30. We should have known better from looking at the outside of the hotel, it was grim and humourless. In keeping up with appearances, inside, the reception was grim and humourless too. Not even a smile from Mr Big at reception, just a pile of forms to fill out, ledgers to sign, passports to be photocopied and then keys to our rooms handed out unceremoniously and practically without a word. The rooms we were given were uninhabitable, they were a bit like being shown a bare cell with dirty everything. It's years since we've seen stained threadbare polyester sheets on a bed. Imagine a dingy motel that hasn't been updated in fifty years and you'll start to get the picture !

And then we looked out of our bedroom window and saw the inground pool set in the delightful and much cared for flowering gardens at the back of the hotel.

We laughed because our intrepid team leader had obviously not asked the right 'Indian' question about the swimming pool. (Not that the hotel had answered any of her questions). Had she asked, do you have a swimming pool ? Yes would have been the answer. But the question should really be, 'do you have a swimming pool...with water in it ?' To which the answer would have been 'no'.

Bear in mind that this was the start of their summer so you might reasonably expect that guests might want to avail themselves to a refreshing dip in the cool waters of the swimming pool. But the management obviously had other ideas, eg why bother putting water in it when it's so hot outside (38 C). Closer inspection of the empty pool revealed that the large spa or children's pool had been ripped out and then the hole 'plugged' up with canvas, which meant that the likelihood of any water going in to the pool and staying there within the whole of summer was zero.

We pointed out to the management that the rooms were not as we had booked, that they had never bothered to answer any emails, including the one about 'any chance of picking us up from the station ?' And now they were clearly not bothered whether we stayed there or not. So instead of staying three nights, we left the next morning despite Mr. Big trying to get our passports back from us (so he could 'send them online') and increase the cost of the rooms by 1,000 rupees.

And then there was the complimentary breakfast (which Mr. Big tried to charge us for). Frugal, sparse, unappealing and again grim and humourless in a grim and humourless setting.

There is absolutely no way on earth, that this is the 'oldest and best hotel in Allahabad' as described in other Tripadvisor reviews. We went and stayed for the rest of our trip at a much better, cheaper and friendly hotel next door.

Something is very amiss here.

The Yatrick is the oldest and worst hotel in Allahabad.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L0bbster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I originally booked this hotel for 3 nights, partly due to recomendation on tripadvisor and lack of hotel choice in Allahabad. However when we arrived, despite booking 2 double rooms for 4 adults, we were shown two twin bedded rooms with dirty and stained bedspreads. Horrified, we asked to be moved as per our request for two rooms with double beds, which were marginally better. The final straw was the empty swimming pool, necessary for us in such high temperatures - we are on holiday and enjoy swimming. Yes, the garden is beautifully kept.

We decided to move hotels and the next morning checked out after an awful breakfast and some wrangling about the bill.

Room Tip: If you must opt for the 'deluxe'
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank car0leanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Allahabad hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kanha Shyam
Hotel Kanha Shyam
#2 of 23 in Allahabad
257 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Legend Hotel
The Legend Hotel
#1 of 23 in Allahabad
81 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Harsh Ananda
Hotel Harsh Ananda
#9 of 23 in Allahabad
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Continental Hotel
Grand Continental Hotel
#6 of 23 in Allahabad
72 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel DPS Inn
Hotel DPS Inn
#16 of 23 in Allahabad
23 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Prayag Inn & ZO Rooms
Hotel Prayag Inn & ZO Rooms
#11 of 23 in Allahabad
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Yatrik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Yatrik

Property: Hotel Yatrik
Address: 33 Sardar Patel Road, Allahabad 211001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Allahabad District > Allahabad
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Allahabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Yatrik 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Yatrik located in the heart of the city of Allahabad - Civil Lines at Sardar Patel Marg is a hotel that provides its guests with not just a room to stay in, but the feel of a resort and the luxury of a boutique hotel. Hotel Yatrik is known to have the finest maintained gardens in Allahabad and its inner quad consists of rare plants, fresh flowers and exotic shrubs. The hotel offers aesthetically decorated interiors and calm surroundings that help in relaxing and unwinding after a busy day. Hotel Yatrik's spacious lounges, sprawling lawns and a well spaced dining area not only spell luxury but add to the pleasure of spending some moments of solitude and peace. The intrinsic spirit of the hotel is reflected in its classical yet modern decor that includes some of the most carefully chosen works of Indian art. Though the hotel has a celebrated history of serving guest for more than 40 years, it continues to maintains its high quality standards and nowhere misses upon providing the guests with most modern amenities. Hotel Yatrik the other name of luxury, elegance and beauty... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Yatrik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing