We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mountain Trail Resort
Ranked #6 of 24 Mukteshwar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Perfect location for a quiet family holiday. Or a weekend getaway for a couple. Take a book and lie in the peaceful bay window, enjoy the views, chirping birds, and if visiting in monsoon, nestle yourself in the myst of the clouds.

With picturesque picnic spots close by (15mins to 60mins drive), mountain trail can help you organise tracks, jungle walks, river stream activities, adventure sports, to add an exciting sporty day to you otherwise extremely relaxing time away from the city.

The staff is friendly, the food amazing, the setting breathtaking and year round fantastic weather.

Plan a trip with expectations of a lodge not a quintessential resort.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank anshuDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed for 4 nights with my family.... very conveniently located with great valley view rooms with sunrise view. Very hospitable staff and excellent India food, especially the Kumaon local food.. Will love to stay again in the future

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KBaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

stopped there as i had read good reviews about the place was planning to stay as well but having lunch there was horrible only two other tables were occupied and imagine d waiter telling us if we order same dish which others had ordered we will get in half hour and also no tandoori items or bread is available also had to wait for an hour before food was served and guess what if u order second helping again d clock starts be ready to shell out 35 bucks for tawa roti manager Mr.bhat was not at all helpful don't go buy the certificates hanging on reception only good thing is location

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank sandeepbhalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dilipgupta, Owner at Mountain Trail Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

1) The person says he had come for lunch but wanted to stay, wheras we were completely sold out (rooms) on the day.
2) It is reported that he was served with delay. In our Menu it is printed “ ALL DISHES ARE COOKED FRESH AND THUS TAKE TIME(30/45 MINUTES)”
3) No Tandooori items served. Again in our Menu it is clearly mentioned “ Tandoori items subject to Tandoor on heat”
4) When we say it takes 30-45 minutes to serve, if you repeat your order after a gap it is again going to be prepared fresh. Obviously, we start preparing for the next table once we have completed your initial order. Any fresh order will again take time. We do not keep dishes ready made due to uncertainty of custom in these off beat destinations.
5) It is a totally fraudulent statement that we charged Rs. 35.00 for a Tawa Roti. The guest had ordered for , Chilli Chicken and 06 Parathas not Tawa Roti as claimed by him. The bill no is 19794 dt. 15 june 14 for Rs. 515.00. It is a deliberate attempt to malign our reputation.

Dilip Gupta
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I with my family stayed at Mountain Trail for 2 nights. It's a resort which is in the lap of nature surrounded with beautiful apricot, apple trees and rose flowers. The cottages are well maintained Great location with excellent view. The staff always smiling will take care of all your needs. Food here is excellent. Please visit the gift shop which has a lot of varieties of their own home made chocolates Not to forget to mention about Shri Dilip Gupta the owner of the resort who is always present there to help you. I will definitely come again here.

Room Tip: All rooms locations are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monish68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We had stopped over to this resort for a meal/snacks while coming back from Mukteshwar. The place is compact very well maintained and designed with taste. It has a fruit trees all around and cottages at various levels connected by narrow paths beautifully surrounded by exotic plants. The Manager was very polite and let us go around the property despite not being house guests. The only sour point was the preparations of the Chocolate cum Coffee shop located in the front of the Resort which is very overpriced and preparations are below par. We had ordered milk shakes with ice cream but what we got were flavored milk that too not even cold let alone chilled. Something the store manager refused to accept graciously.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Baiju_Eyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dilipgupta, Owner at Mountain Trail Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Thank you very much for visiting MountainTrail and giving such an encouraging review about Mountain Trail and also for giving me the opportunity to explain “Overpricing”, maybe others who read my response may also appreciate the situation we are in.
First of all please consider that the whole setup for SHAKES, ICECREAMS has to be put in place for only 40-45 days (15 May to 30 June)., Through this period we are able to sell only about 20-25 litres of Icecream. For this we have to keep an exclusive Deep Freezer running 24 hrs, to maintain a temperature of( -) 18-20 deg.C. Cannot combine with the other deep freezer used for Mutton/Chicken etc.etc. Secondly the ingredients used for making a 350 Ml Shake consist of Pure Milk(no ice/ water added), Ice cream, Natural Fruit Crush for Flavour (we do not use any synthetic Essences or ingredients for any of our products). The base ice cream is brought from Haldwani-70kms. away. I have to take my personal car to collect the ice cream as it needs A/C transportation and has to be brought non-stop. Mountain Trail is a 22 years old pioneer in Mukteshwar and strives to provide the tourists with maximum variety and services. Commerce is not always in the mind. It is a work of pure passion. No other property out of the odd 25 dare to stock and sell ice cream due to the handling hazard of this product. If you still think selling this quality of MILK SHAKE @ Rs.100.00 is over priced it deserves re-thinking. Whenever you visit Mukteshwar next during summer time please do get in touch with me and I may be able to better explain the whole scenario of running a resort in off beat destinations. In a year one has a peak season of 45-60 days and have to maintain the property and staff for all 12 months. I was the one who introduced Mukteshwar to the Tourism world in 1992, and for the first 7-8 years ran it at the cost of my Engineering Industry in Delhi. Money making was not the sole idea. Warm Regards. Dilip Gupta-age 68yrs, M.D.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Mountain Trail Resort is just the place for you if you are looking for the luxuries of peace, quiet, pristine nature surrounding you, and homely food. We spent a very relaxing weekend at Mukteshwar, and after the hectic pace of New Delhi, it was a welcome slowing down for us. As the resort owner, Mayank Gupta, told us, "There are no timetables here!"

The resort is nestled in the mountains and blends in perfectly with the landscape. There are many monstrosities in the form of palatial resorts nearby which make your eyes ache – they are clearly out of place in this little hill town. Not so for this picturesque resort. The cottages for guests seem like afterthoughts and the beautiful "wild garden" has the pride of place. We saw bushes burdened with roses and apricot trees laden with fruit. Birds have grains and water arranged for them and we caught sight of some lovely winged creatures.

The staff are very welcoming and do everything they can to make your stay comfortable. However, the resort only has basic modern amenities, it is not the place to stay at if you expect a television, electric kettle, etc. But you will have a comfortable bed, a clean bathroom, spacious cupboards, and (in certain cottages) a little alcove in the veranda from where you can gaze at bounteous nature and sip hot tea.

For me the highlight of the stay at Mountain Trail was when I walked out of my cottage to go to the dining hall and was greeted by the melodious notes emanating from Hariya's flute. Hariya is the local flautist who entertains guests at the resort. It was enchanting, to say the least, to listen to him while sitting under the blinking stars, feeling the delicious nip in the air.

The food at this resort deserves a special mention. We had some great soup and the most basic roti-sabzi tasted delicious. Just a word of advice: it is perhaps best to stick to Indian dishes as the chefs expertise seems to be in that area!

All in all, we had a laidback and rejuvenating time, away from the heat and grime of the city.

P.S. Do try the chocolates from the little gift shop attached with the resort – quite yummy!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BinitaRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We had a weekend stay at Mountain Trail to escape the heat and dust of Delhi! It is an oasis of tranquility, with a beautiful garden and lovely views. Accommodation is clean and basic. Food is good and I recommend sitting in the shade of the garden with one of their delicious milk shakes! The staff are tremendously welcoming and helpful. Special mention and thanks to staff member Harish who ensured our stay was most enjoyable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mukteshwar
2.0 mi away
Casa Dream - The Resort
Casa Dream - The Resort
#4 of 8 in Mukteshwar
22 reviews
3.2 mi away
Te Aroha Dhanachuli
Te Aroha Dhanachuli
#1 of 1 in Dhanachuli
144 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Robinsson Palace
Hotel Robinsson Palace
#8 of 8 in Mukteshwar
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Frozen Woods - Pura Stays
Frozen Woods - Pura Stays
#5 of 32 in Mukteshwar
127 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dyo- The Organic Village Resort
5.9 mi away
Neemrana's - Ramgarh Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Trail Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Trail Resort

Address: Sargakhet | Distt. Nainital, Mukteshwar 263132, India
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Mukteshwar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Mukteshwar
Price Range: £25 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain Trail Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valley View Rooms set amidst a thick, lush green fruit orchard & flower beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Mountain Trail Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing