We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food”
Review of Scalloway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Scalloway Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scalloway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2011

Visiting Shetland after Orkney. Definitely the best food we have had. Would compare to top London restaurant.
Although almost turned back when saw the outside and 2 star rating for the hotel.
Lovely staff too.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hampshireguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
There are newer reviews for Scalloway Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2010

I recently made a trip to the island on buisness and booked into the hotel for a week. Although the room was basic and slightly dated they are exceptionaly clean and are great value. Every member of staff I met from housekeeping to bar staff were very friendly and attentive and really "looked" after me during my stay. They went out of their way to make me feel welcome and went the extra mile around meals etc due to my work schedule, which was greatly appreciated and done so without having to ask. The food was fantastic. Breakfast was amazing - the salmon and scambled eggs - wow.! The menu caters for all tastes and every meal I had during my stay was fantastic, freshly prepared and well presented. I had to move hotel for 2 nights but actually took a taxi back to the scallaway for my evening meals, when staying elsewhere.! I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is visiting the island for buisness or leisure.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greg_stewart1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2010

We were staying on the Island for a holiday and were recommended the Scalloway Hotel restaurant for dinner. We were a little apprehensive as we went into the bar for a prep-dinner drink. The decor was quite dated and looked a little tired. However, once escorted into the dining room and after perusing the menu we felt very reassured. Dinner was EXCELLENT and prices very reasonable . Complimentary canapes appeared to start with and chosen starters of scallops and fresh, very tender squid were perfect. A refreshing sorbet followed. The main courses were all superb and beautifully cooked and presented. Two of us chose turbot - this was so delicious and portions were very generous. Puddings were deliciious too. Staff were all very helpful and friendly and the owner went out of his way to circulate and chat and check that everything was OK. We certainly would not hesitate to return and highly recommend the food. We went out to eat at various restaurants on the island but this was certainly the best.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wishinguwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2010

Called in for lunch- what a pleasant surprise. Expecting typical bar food, the lentil soup was head and shoulders above most. And it was delightful to get a fresh hake and baby potatoes cooked to perfection and a perfectly dressed salad. Decent espresso too.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank settlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2009

I was there for 3 days on business to the Shetlands, i must admit it was a great place to stay. Ok, so the rooms are pre- war and need attention, but i did expect that. I travel all over the UK and stay in fabulous/chic city hotels all the time, but hey...go with the flow on this one, its part of the charm.. I met some great personalities and had good banter at the bar, which severely lacks in a lot of hotels now adays ,but the food here is just to die for. Seafood and the breakfast is just too bloody good to miss. try the scallops....just the biz. Breakfast to the sound of scottish music looking over the bay is also quite the biz.
So book in and have a laff, i did, and am going again on my next trip. cant wait.

Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
2  Thank thomasAyrScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2009

Had an overnight stay at the Scalloway.
It's the main hotel in Scalloway, which has been extended over the ages from its original building. My room was on the 3rd floor in a room next to the gable wall. It was quite windy outside, which caused the slates to rattle and create quite a noise. I don't mind too much as I can sleep in a hurricane, but i think it would easily disturb light sleepers.
I found the hotel very homely and cosy, all the staff were very pleasant and welcoming. The rooms were very clean with fresh linen, but the mattrass was a bit lumpy.
I ate in the restaurant for an evening meal and breakfast. The food was very good, all freshly made and I thought the prices were reasonable.
Overall, a pleasant stay with a warm welcome.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beck_hoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2009

Lovely hotel in beautiful location. Staff friendly and attentive. Lively bar. Fabulous food. Not suitable for disabled guests - Lots of stairs to bedrooms - no lift.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kathleen1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scalloway
17.4 mi away
Busta House Hotel
Busta House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Busta
317 reviews
4.9 mi away
Kveldsro House
Kveldsro House
#1 of 6 in Lerwick
143 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Lerwick Hotel
The Lerwick Hotel
#2 of 6 in Lerwick
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Glen Orchy Guest House
Glen Orchy Guest House
#3 of 6 in Lerwick
85 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Shetland Hotel
The Shetland Hotel
#4 of 6 in Lerwick
158 reviews
0.0 mi away
St. Magnus Bay Hotel
St. Magnus Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hillswick
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scalloway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scalloway Hotel

Address: Main Street, Scalloway ZE1 0TR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Shetland Islands > Mainland > Scalloway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scalloway
Price Range: £94 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Scalloway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Scalloway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scalloway Hotel Shetland Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing