We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place to stay in Shetland”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Scalloway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Scalloway Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scalloway
Certificate of Excellence
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best place to stay in Shetland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

Had a brilliant overnight stay at the Scalloway Hotel - wonderful fresh seafood which was cooked to perfection - Caroline and Peter are great hosts and all the staff were very friendly and attentive - my room was lovely, attractively decorated and furnished with thoughtfully sourced local fabrics and paintings. The ensuite facilities had been recently upgraded and were modern and stylish. The free wifi worked with no problem in all parts of the hotel. Look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    62
    16
    3
    7
See reviews for
18
65
14
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

Scalloway Hotel is in central Scalloway. The town is small but the food and the staff at the hotel are especially recommended. Friendly, helpful and lovelyrooms. Make sure you try the blue shell muscles- yummy.

Room Tip: There is no lift but the front room looks out to the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Terry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

We had a very good stay and would we go back? Oh Yes....the room was clean and kept nicely by the friendly cleaning ladies. The hotel has free wifi which worked well unlike some hotels. The Restaurant just doen't get any better. Breakfast time was very good offering a very wide range to suit all. Excellent evening meals, to a very high standard with local produce. A fine dine experience. Had a couple of pleasant evenings in the Hotel Bar chatting to the locals and off duty staff. The only negative we had, though nothing to do with the hotel, was the price of a single Taxi trip fom Lerwick to Scalloway (7 miles/11pm)...we paid £15. All in all a very nice stay with friendly and helpful Staff. Just what you need for a nice pleasant break.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klivex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thirsk
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

Stayed here when stuck in Shetland due to offshore weather delays. Warm welcome and excellent evening meal and breakfast. Stay was spoiled by very cramped room, especially as there was two of us sharing it. The bathroom was so small you could barely turn round.

Room Tip: Probably there are better rooms for the single traveller but for the offshore worker there is little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthSeaNobody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline M, Owner at Scalloway Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Sorry, a few of our rooms are a bit cramped. We're working on it. Same goes for the bathrooms, which - following a revamp - will still be small, but hopefully perfectly formed, with new showers, modern fittings and underfloor heating.
Hope your enjoyment of the meal, breakfast and service went some way towards compensating for the room's shortcomings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

My 3rd visit to this really charming hotel. The food is absolutely first class & the choice really extensive. I would recommend this hotel to anyone as every member of staff go out of their way to make you feel at home. Splendid.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mags44pies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballindalloch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013

Stayed here through my company as were not going offshore due to weather. Room a bit small and also bathroom very cramped. The meal was great with quick service and also enjoyed a nice cooked breakfast served by a nice lady who was rushed off her feet but was in full control.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Willhenobeback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013 via mobile

This is my new hotel of choice when I'm working in Shetland. The staff are courteous and helpful, the rooms are clean and tidy. Free wifi was an added bonus, the food was amazing and I would readily recommend anyone, if not staying in the hotel to at least check out the restaurant. There was a slight hiccup when there was no hot water one morning, however boilers do breakdown, and plumbers were on the scene in the early hours to remedy the situation ASAP. I for one am definitely looking forward to my next visit and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone else visiting Shetland.

Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scalloway
17.4 mi away
Busta House Hotel
Busta House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Busta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
4.9 mi away
Kveldsro House
Kveldsro House
#1 of 6 in Lerwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
4.8 mi away
Glen Orchy Guest House
Glen Orchy Guest House
#3 of 6 in Lerwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Lerwick Hotel
The Lerwick Hotel
#2 of 6 in Lerwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.0 mi away
St. Magnus Bay Hotel
St. Magnus Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hillswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Shetland Hotel
The Shetland Hotel
#4 of 6 in Lerwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scalloway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scalloway Hotel

Property: Scalloway Hotel
Address: Main Street, Scalloway ZE1 0TR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Shetland Islands > Mainland > Scalloway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scalloway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Scalloway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Scalloway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scalloway Hotel Shetland Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing