We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ancient Capital of 'The Shetlands'.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Scalloway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Scalloway Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scalloway
Certificate of Excellence
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Ancient Capital of 'The Shetlands'.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

One of my favourite hotels in the Shetlands. Small but nice.
Stayed here again recently for one night.
Just one of those places you immediately feel relaxed in.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was excellent.
Although alone I stayed in a twin bedded room, which was fine for me but a couple may find it somewhat cramped.
I know that there are bigger rooms, especially 312 which looks out over the harbour.
Scalloway is a beautiful fishing 'village' and given decent weather, a walk around the harbour and castle on a summers evening is most enjoyable.
A little too late I was told non members are allowed in the yacht club round to the right hand side of the harbour. Here I believe you can enjoy a drink on the terrace overlooking the bay.
Just check this is the case before you go, although it is only a short walk.

Room Tip: 312 has got to be the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kleekey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    62
    16
    3
    7
See reviews for
18
65
14
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Kelty, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

I stayed in the Scalloway Hotel recently and was impressed by the standard of care and service provided by Peter and his staff. The food was superb with an amazing range and quality. I have been fortunate to stay and dine five star hotels all over Europe and the UK and I have to say the standard in the restaurant can compare favourably with most of these hotels. I would recommend the Scalloway to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ken p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

It would have been nice to sit here and write a wonderful review in September after the departure of my group of 12 clients from New Zealand and their 26 day Tour of Scotland. However, due to the greed, unscrupulous nature of the management and lack of customer care, I find myself berating the staff and recommending that people steer clear of this hotel. Otherwise you may find that your confirmed booking is cancelled before your eyes, in favour of a corporate contract with an oil giant. In this case Total Oil, while they build their gas pipeline! Well done Blair!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank GrassroutesHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline M, Owner at Scalloway Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
This was a decision which was not taken lightly. We had to weigh the two night reservation for your group, against the extension of a block booking which would secure employment for every member of our staff until the end of the year , preventing the need to reduce hours or lay people off over the winter months. It’s got nothing to do with being unscrupulous or greedy, but just the economic reality of running a business in an area which has a short and limited tourist season, and relies heavily on business trade for the rest of the year. We could certainly stand accused of being unscrupulous if we had thrown out the guests who have been staying with us for the past five months, and told them to come back once all the tourists had gone.
We understand that we were your second choice for accommodation, after you were let down by another hotel in the isles – whether in similar circusmtances, we don’t know. We can understand why you are angry, and that was why we went to some lengths to find alternative accommodation to meet your requirements. You have unfairly targeted our manager, Blair, in your review. This was a decision taken by the company directors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northants, UK
Level Contributor
169 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Large, high quality room with lovely bed linen and great shower and The Tub toiletries. Very smart and comfortable. Food and service excellent in the dining room. Great welcome from Caroline. Best breakfast menu ever anywhere - anything you could wish for, all cooked to order. And a selection on the buffet section which featured fresh berries - wonderful (and rather unexpected in Shetland). Bar menu also good with lovely fish and chips and catch of the day and a selection of 17 gins! I can only think of one thing that would make it better - to also have a catch of the day option in the main restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

We had a luxurious night's stay, we had one of the newly refurbished ensuite bedrooms with a sea view. Tastefully furnished using Shetland textiles and wood. The food and service was first class. It is without doubt the best place to stay and dine on mainland Shetland and a central spot for touring. The sea food is sourced locally and was superb. It certainly deserves more than the one rosette status it presently has. The breakfast was outstanding. The owner Peter and his wife went out of their way to make us feel special. We can't wait to go back next year and stay for longer!

Room Tip: Ask for the newly refurbished bedrooms at the front of the hotel overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shetland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

Had an excellent meal at Scalloway Hotel to celebrate our 41st wedding anniversary. As ever, a really impressive menu, majoring on local fish and seafood. First class attention from staff too. The hake was delicious, the mussels so tasty.....and the cranachan cheesecake to die for! Wine by he glass fabulous too, especially the Chilean Merlot. And the hottest and best espresso in Shetland! So thank you again, Scalloway Hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigmacShetland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

Stayed here whilst we attended a wedding. Stayed for 4 nights and loved it. Rooms were lovely, beds incredibly comfortable and meals plentiful and well cooked and presented. Position of the hotel is perfect, it sits at the waterfront in a beautiful old fishing village! Locals are friendly and helpful! If visiting Shetland this hotel is a perfect base! Much better than Lerwick!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scalloway
17.4 mi away
Busta House Hotel
Busta House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Busta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
4.9 mi away
Kveldsro House
Kveldsro House
#1 of 6 in Lerwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
4.8 mi away
Glen Orchy Guest House
Glen Orchy Guest House
#3 of 6 in Lerwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Lerwick Hotel
The Lerwick Hotel
#2 of 6 in Lerwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.0 mi away
St. Magnus Bay Hotel
St. Magnus Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hillswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Shetland Hotel
The Shetland Hotel
#4 of 6 in Lerwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scalloway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scalloway Hotel

Property: Scalloway Hotel
Address: Main Street, Scalloway ZE1 0TR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Shetland Islands > Mainland > Scalloway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scalloway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Scalloway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Scalloway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scalloway Hotel Shetland Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing