We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect weekend break”
Review of Scalloway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Scalloway Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scalloway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2013

If your looking for a generic chain hotel don't come here. This is a small very friendly hotel with a local feel. The bar and restaurant food is excellent in both quality and presentation.

The family who own and run this hotel really try hard to make you feel welcome. The weather was wet as you would expect for Shetland but this did not dampen the weekend.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel we stayed in room 201 overlooking the sea. The room was small but the view more than compensated for the size and we would request this room again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rob747777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2013

My boyfriend and i stayed here for one night. Loved the room, good size, loved the sheepskins. Good view, massive bed :) No faults atall.
Food was amazing! I had the steak, pepper sauce was to die for! My boyfired had the venison, he was absolutley thrilled with it.
Breakfast, mmm... just brilliant :) Would deffo stay again.
Staff were welcoming, and helpful :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Smiles313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

One of my favourite hotels in the Shetlands. Small but nice.
Stayed here again recently for one night.
Just one of those places you immediately feel relaxed in.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was excellent.
Although alone I stayed in a twin bedded room, which was fine for me but a couple may find it somewhat cramped.
I know that there are bigger rooms, especially 312 which looks out over the harbour.
Scalloway is a beautiful fishing 'village' and given decent weather, a walk around the harbour and castle on a summers evening is most enjoyable.
A little too late I was told non members are allowed in the yacht club round to the right hand side of the harbour. Here I believe you can enjoy a drink on the terrace overlooking the bay.
Just check this is the case before you go, although it is only a short walk.

Room Tip: 312 has got to be the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kleekey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

I stayed in the Scalloway Hotel recently and was impressed by the standard of care and service provided by Peter and his staff. The food was superb with an amazing range and quality. I have been fortunate to stay and dine five star hotels all over Europe and the UK and I have to say the standard in the restaurant can compare favourably with most of these hotels. I would recommend the Scalloway to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ken p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

It would have been nice to sit here and write a wonderful review in September after the departure of my group of 12 clients from New Zealand and their 26 day Tour of Scotland. However, due to the greed, unscrupulous nature of the management and lack of customer care, I find myself berating the staff and recommending that people steer clear of this hotel. Otherwise you may find that your confirmed booking is cancelled before your eyes, in favour of a corporate contract with an oil giant. In this case Total Oil, while they build their gas pipeline! Well done Blair!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Service
7  Thank GrassroutesHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline M, Owner at Scalloway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

This was a decision which was not taken lightly. We had to weigh the two night reservation for your group, against the extension of a block booking which would secure employment for every member of our staff until the end of the year , preventing the need to reduce hours or lay people off over the winter months. It’s got nothing to do with being unscrupulous or greedy, but just the economic reality of running a business in an area which has a short and limited tourist season, and relies heavily on business trade for the rest of the year. We could certainly stand accused of being unscrupulous if we had thrown out the guests who have been staying with us for the past five months, and told them to come back once all the tourists had gone.
We understand that we were your second choice for accommodation, after you were let down by another hotel in the isles – whether in similar circusmtances, we don’t know. We can understand why you are angry, and that was why we went to some lengths to find alternative accommodation to meet your requirements. You have unfairly targeted our manager, Blair, in your review. This was a decision taken by the company directors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Large, high quality room with lovely bed linen and great shower and The Tub toiletries. Very smart and comfortable. Food and service excellent in the dining room. Great welcome from Caroline. Best breakfast menu ever anywhere - anything you could wish for, all cooked to order. And a selection on the buffet section which featured fresh berries - wonderful (and rather unexpected in Shetland). Bar menu also good with lovely fish and chips and catch of the day and a selection of 17 gins! I can only think of one thing that would make it better - to also have a catch of the day option in the main restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jacky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We had a luxurious night's stay, we had one of the newly refurbished ensuite bedrooms with a sea view. Tastefully furnished using Shetland textiles and wood. The food and service was first class. It is without doubt the best place to stay and dine on mainland Shetland and a central spot for touring. The sea food is sourced locally and was superb. It certainly deserves more than the one rosette status it presently has. The breakfast was outstanding. The owner Peter and his wife went out of their way to make us feel special. We can't wait to go back next year and stay for longer!

Room Tip: Ask for the newly refurbished bedrooms at the front of the hotel overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scalloway
17.4 mi away
Busta House Hotel
Busta House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Busta
333 reviews
4.9 mi away
Kveldsro House
Kveldsro House
#1 of 6 in Lerwick
149 reviews
18.4 mi away
The Moorfield Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Lerwick Hotel
The Lerwick Hotel
#2 of 6 in Lerwick
229 reviews
24.5 mi away
St. Magnus Bay Hotel
St. Magnus Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hillswick
84 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Shetland Hotel
The Shetland Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lerwick
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scalloway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scalloway Hotel

Address: Main Street, Scalloway ZE1 0TR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Shetland Islands > Mainland > Scalloway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scalloway
Price Range: £134 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Scalloway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Scalloway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scalloway Hotel Shetland Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing