We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Little Hotel”
Review of Scalloway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Scalloway Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scalloway
Certificate of Excellence
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice Little Hotel”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Myself and a colleague stayed here as we were away on business. What I will say is dont come here expexting 5star as you will be disappointed, however if you go with an open mind knowing its a lovely little hotel you wont be dissapointed. Like many little hotels the interior is slightly dated but it sits well with the style of the property.

The rooms was adequate with a very very comfortable bed and great view over the bay (room 301). The shower in the en suite was brilliant..... it really took on the term power shower! All the staff were very friendly and made our stay very comfortable.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank KarlB346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    67
    16
    4
    7
See reviews for
19
75
14
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Laramie, Wyoming
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We spent three nights at the Scalloway Hotel and loved every minute. The people were friendly and helpful. Our room (#203) seemed a bit small, but that was mostly attributable to the comfy king-sized bed. The bathroom, however, is actually spacious, with one of the best walk-in showers we have seen in all of Britain.

We had dinner in the bar two of the three nights, and the food was excellent. The mussels meunière were as good as anything on the continent and you know they were fresh. We highly recommend the Scalloway Hotel.

One brief warning for Americans: we couldn't find a place in Scalloway where we could use our ATM card. If you need cash, hit one of the banks in Lerwick. Fortunately, it's only about 10 minutes away.

Room Tip: There are no rooms on the ground floor, and the only access to the first and second floors is up som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WyomingCooboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We were delighted with this hotel. From the moment we arrived the owners and staff were friendly, welcoming and attended to all our needs throughout our stay. The rooms were comfortable, and the breakfasts and dinners absolutely delicious. The location is ideal for exploring any part of the Shetland Islands. I am not surprised this hotel is so popular with both locals and tourists, and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ste_Cambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Was here with friends and was a bit sad to see no Macaroni on the Menu which meant having to choose something else. I went for the Fish Pie- but it wasn't worth the price. It was really hot and nice tasted but lacked in fish. Staff are friendly and didn't have to wait too long in the busy place.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smoorikins666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline M, Owner at Scalloway Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thanks for your comments. We’re sorry you were disappointed by the removal of macaroni cheese from the bar menu, but we need to ring the changes from time to time. In its place at the moment is a delicious goats cheese and spinach open lasagne, with our own freshly-made herb pasta, and it’s proving very popular.
Our fish pie is a substantial dish, which regularly includes both fresh and smoked haddock, plaice, salmon, hake and monkfish. We reckon it’s very good value for money, and yours is the first complaint we’ve had to the contrary.
On the plus side, we're pleased to hear that you found friendly staff and quick service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Due to work commitments I had to stay over in Scalloway. The choice was easy as there wasn't an option, what a find ! I arrived quite late in the day and was greeted by friendly staff who were very informative. The room was very comfortable and exceptionally clean, what more could you ask for? The best was yet to come! I had dinner in the restaurant which was busy and had a buzz about it. The scallops starter and hake main course were as good as I've had. The question I always ask mauled, would my wife like this hotel? and the answer is definitely. Well done to the owners you are doing a great job it's just a pity I don't stay over in Scalloway more often.

Room Tip: Beautiful view from rooms at the front of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hunter123880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

A friend and I ate here two nights running. The first night, the food was excellent and the restaurant very busy. The second night, the restaurant was not busy and the food was not up to the standard of the previous night. We ordered a salad of gradvalax, beetroot and goat's cheese and when it arrived there was no goat's cheese in it. Also we had to ask for cutlery to eat our main course. The main course of roast lamb could have been hotter. We were told that the head chef was cooking that night so he should make sure dishes go out perfectly.

Also I felt that the owner made an inappropriate comment to me. So I regret going back the second night.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline M, Owner at Scalloway Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thanks for your review.
We’re pleased you enjoyed your meal on your first visit to the hotel. We're sorry that one of the ingredients was accidentally left off your starter the following evening. Chef offered to make two fresh starters, but you opted to have the goats cheese served separately, if a little belatedly.
We are mystified by your accusation that my husband made an “inappropriate comment”. We were both in the dining room while you were having your meal, and neither of us can recall anything being said which could have been construed in this way. After twenty-four years together, I know from experience that Mr McK’s humour can be a bit offbeat at times! I can only apologise if any offence was caused , as none was intended.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, UK
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We went for a bar meal rather than reserving a table in the restaurant. Our fish pie was of very good quality. The bar was extremely popular that evening with both diners and those wanting a pint or a dram, so it was not a relaxing meal - though a good eat. So the atmosphere was less than perfect, but there is no doubting that the Scalloway Hotel knows the food its customers will like.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scalloway
17.4 mi away
Busta House Hotel
Busta House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Busta
306 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Lerwick Hotel
The Lerwick Hotel
#2 of 6 in Lerwick
203 reviews
4.8 mi away
Glen Orchy Guest House
Glen Orchy Guest House
#3 of 6 in Lerwick
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Kveldsro House
Kveldsro House
#1 of 6 in Lerwick
139 reviews
0.0 mi away
St. Magnus Bay Hotel
St. Magnus Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hillswick
80 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Shetland Hotel
The Shetland Hotel
#4 of 6 in Lerwick
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scalloway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scalloway Hotel

Property: Scalloway Hotel
Address: Main Street, Scalloway ZE1 0TR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Shetland Islands > Mainland > Scalloway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scalloway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Scalloway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Scalloway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scalloway Hotel Shetland Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing