We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent bar food”

Scalloway Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Scalloway
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Two AA rosette restaurant showcasing local produce, particularly lamb, fish and shellfish
scotland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Excellent bar food”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Ate here twice on a recent visit to Shetland. We ate in the lounge bar. It was some of the best pub grub I have had. Not the cheapest, but quality was excellent, especially the cod (as you might expect). Friendly service and nice atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank comrade98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    76
    26
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
181 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Nice meal”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Nice meal in this place, ate in the bar area and was offered the bar menu and restaurant menu. Food was reasonably priced and was good. Bar was a bit crowded but was OK. There was a specials board offering catch of the day as well as any other specials.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TeamleaderScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claxon Bay
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not family friendly”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Whilst visiting Scalloway for the Easter holiday's I decided to try the Scalloway hotel for some food. Knowing that trying to fit in 4 kids and 2 adults can be tricky in a bar/lounge environment I'd called ahead to determine if there would be an issue in kids being allowed in at 6 pm, staff were great and all was well. The food was fine for the adults but there was no choices for kids, whilst awaiting the meal 1 telly had sport and another was showing Shrek, this was great for keeping the kids quiet and all was well until the owner showed up. With 1 TV already showing some rugby he turned Shrek to football. The kids not knowing what had happened started to moan and I enquired of the manager if it would be possible to leave it as it was as the kids were in fact watching it, however I was met with an abrupt reply that he "was not running a kindergarten" whilst this is in fact true, I was more stunned at the discourtesy shown. I was not expecting the lounge bar to be showing a kids film, but the fact that it was & then the manner in which we were treated means that whilst it may not be a kindergarten the owner is running as a business it certainly is the last £90 of mine he'll see.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 73Mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline M, Owner at Scalloway Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thanks for posting your review. I’m disappointed you feel our bar menu isn’t child friendly. We offer dishes like fish and chips and our own scampi and lamb burgers, all available in smaller portions. If none of that appeals, we can easily rustle up something else like sausages or a plate of pasta, on request. I know for a fact that our kitchen did their utmost to meet your requirements, creating freshly-made, little individual fish pies for your children.
The TV isn’t normally on in the bar, unless it’s showing a big sporting event, but I’m sorry that your family’s viewing of Shrek was curtailed, and that you had to contend with our in-house ogre instead. Despite that gruff and grumpy exterior, he does actually quite like children!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Best in Lerwick!”
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and dined from this restaurant. I should say this is one of those rare places where you find good food, good accommodation and a peaceful location. Highly recommended for eat in and stay!

Helpful?
Thank Allen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancs
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Freindly place”
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Saw reviews on TripAdvisor and gave it a go. Local Real ale was excellent albeit £4 a pint. Food very good and local produce wiyh fsntadtic seafood. Had the crab starter and monk fish scampi main both if which were excellent. Will.be back again some day

Helpful?
Thank paul k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scalloway Hotel Restaurant also viewed

 
Lerwick, Mainland
 

Been to Scalloway Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing