We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous memories”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Mango Splash

Mango Splash apartment is on the ground floor of the house on the beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mango Splash apartment is on the ground floor of the house on the beach
Your private hideaway Your quiet, cool, comfortable room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Mango Splash apartment is on the ground floor of the house on the beach
Your private hideaway
Your quiet, cool, comfortable room
The desk/dressing table
Looking towards the front door
A fully equipped kitchen with an African scene
The morning sun shining through the glass bottle wall
Clean, comfortable bathroom
The path to the beach
Looking out to the beach
Looking to the left from the front of the house
looking towards Laborie village
Spectacular sunsets.
The famous Pitons
Dritwood Cottage, Bay Treehouse and the outdoor relaxing area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Laborie, Laborie Quarter, St. Lucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
SueSurrey...
Weybridge, Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fabulous memories”
Reviewed 31 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We spent 9 glorious days at Mango Slash in July but wish we had spent our whole 16 days there as now one could compare to Tony and Jan's helpfulness and hospitality and the terrific location right on the beach in the wonderful town of Laborie. Mango Splash was beautifully looked after and very homely, the pictures don't do it justice.
We made friends with 2 other couples staying at Tony and Jan's "Driftwood" cottage and their stunning brand new "Treehouse" with humming birds flying in and out of it and Tony and Jan were an amazing help to all of us.
They take looking after their guests very seriously and obviously love Labourie. The locals all know them and say how nice they are.
Tony and Jan invited the 2 of us to join them to see the St. Lucia "Zouks" play cricket, what a fun experience- and they won, "Go Zouks !"
When i told them how i wanted to see a steel band they told us of a carnival 'fish fest' in the town and we had the best time there dancing to their very own Laborie Steel Pan band (whom they are extremely proud of) and enjoying all the amazing local food stalls- Yum !! We loved mixing with the locals and experiencing all the places Tony and Jan suggested. We especially loved the new 'Salt Rush Cafe' right next to the jetty for tasty food and drink with the best view and the Merry Yeti bar on John Rudy beach for their super strong rum punch !!.
We rented Tony and Jan's 4x4 for a few days in Laborie and for the whole of the second week staying up north, much cheaper and it got us all over the island. Driving in St.Lucia is a real experience not for the faint-hearted !
Tony and Jan's work with a dog charity is admirable and although they have 5 dogs they will not bother you if you don't want them to, personally we loved them and will remember the dogs as part of our amazing experience at Mango Splash. Thank you Tony and Jan for the best time.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything !
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liliana B
2 reviews
“Perfect place and wonderful hosts”
Reviewed 19 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

What a beautiful place !!! Jan and Tony are wonderful hosts, very helpful and friendly.
The place is right on a beautiful beach, very comfortable and clean.
We fell in love with the place and Laborie.
The village Is still untouched by modern tourism . A real gem.
We will certainly come back here and stay at the tree house which is simply stunning!!!
Can't wait !!!
Thanks tony and Jan for a truly wonderful weekend
Liliana and Cristian

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and hospitality
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aleksejs...
New York
1 review
“Nice”
Reviewed 21 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Renting from Jan & Tony was a great decision! From my 1st contact with them, they responded very quickly every time I emailed them. The room was clean, the kitchenette well organized and stocked, the facility was just as expected. The apartment is well equipped and very clean and location, location at the quiet place of the beach. It was wonderful to wake up in the morning and go for our morning walk and swim. The owners, Jan & Tony were great and able to help us with any questions. Close to grocery stores, restaurants, bakeries. If you want a nice, quiet place to stay, then this is it. Thank you Jan and Tony. You are the BEST!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah P
Westminster, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Authentically Beautiful Adventure”
Reviewed 16 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

In a word, this location, this rental, this island and the people who live here are: Amazing. If you are looking for an authentic St. Lucian experience, this is the place for you. Tony and Jan are accommodating, knowledgeable and friendly. They made our trip memorable and many of the things we were able to experience were due solely to them. Laborie is absolutely beautiful and everyone who lives there are friendly and very welcoming to tourists who frequent Tony and Jan's rentals. Some of the highlights of our trip were:

- Hiking with Abbie (aka Charlie) up Gros Piton and again to a 5 level waterfall in the jungle in Choiseul/Saltibus. He took the "right" way up Gros Piton so we were able to fully hike the mountain from the bottom, took us to BOTH look-outs which other guides don't do, and even brought some fresh grapefruits to enjoy at the top. View is incredible and hike, while challenging, was enjoyable as long as you go EARLY (we started at 630). Waterfall hike was equally breathtaking though not for the faint of heart, experience was required as they way down to the waterfall would most likely frighten some tourists.
- Mama Tilly's is a staple in Laborie and everyone knows her. She is a wonderful cook and an incredible sweet woman. The food she prepared us (we went 2 different nights) were some of our favorites of the whole trip. Highly recommend the breadfruit balls, octopus, and her salad; everything was great but those blew us away. The rum punch will literally knock your socks off, I only had 1 and that was plenty.
- Dinner with William was a luxury experience in a rustic and beautiful place. William is a local and friend of Tony who currently works as a chef on large cruise ships. He is creative and passionate about his food and it shows. He prepared a 3 course meal for us and another couple which we were all blown away by. He was friendly and interacted with us while he cooked; he created the dishes on the spot and I know I'll never have anything like them again. The rum caramel sauce was heavenly.
- Exploring the beaches in Soufriere (Anse Chasnet, Anse Mamin and Sugar Beach) was a lovely time as long as you have a plan. Our plan, which worked, was to go and snorkel and enjoy the quiet in the morning hours before the hotel guests came down. Snorkeling at Anse Chasnet was lovely and quiet, beach is beautiful. Anse Mamin is a short walk but worth it; not a sole on the beach, very private with lovely swimming. The drive to both of these beaches is NOT for the faint of heart, I recommend a water taxi as the best way to travel there. Sugar Beach is popular for snorkeling and it shows, many large tour boats come and water is crowded. However, once they leave, the snorkeling is very nice and good for beginners; depending on the day there are jellyfish so they can be avoided by staying closer to the rocks. Both beaches have bars/restaurants which are nice but pricey; stay for a drink but then head home to have some Pitons on Laborie beach.
- The Reef Beach Cafe - we came for lunch and sat under the shade of some trees and enjoyed a great meal watching the kite surfers out in the water. The bakes with salted cod are a must try. Great place to spend a whole day since the beach is so close and prices are very reasonable.
- Antillia Brewing - amazing local craft beer in the heart of Rodney Bay. They have great food, good prices, cool location and of course....cold beer. While Pitons are great, this was unique and not something you can find just anywhere.

Overall, while we explored most of the island (Castrie, Rodney Bay, Soufriere, Dennery, Micoud) our favorite place was Laborie. It is beautiful, relatively devoid of tourist traps, prices are more than reasonable, people are friendly and genuine, and its quiet. The only thing I would have changed was staying longer. We hope to be back soon and miss it terribly.

Thank you Tony, Jan, Abbie, William, Tilly and all the other amazing people we met.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and Hosts
Liked least: we loved everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasiy
Thessalon, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 5 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We recently had the pleasure of staying with Toni and Jan for seven days. As mentioned in almost every previous post they are very good host. All three units are very clean have modern conveniences and are well maintained and totally relaxing. Laborie is a small fishing village untouched by modern tourism , if you are looking to experience St. Lucia as it was years ago , this is the place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Landa S
1 review
“I still have vacation brain”
Reviewed 31 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

My husband and I decided to take this trip for our 35th wedding anniversary. It was wonderful. This was my first week back to work and I find myself thinking about the relaxing time we had, when I should be working. We were able to get Lincoln as our tour guide for 2 days for a boat and a driving tour. I was fascinated with watching the villagers weave the fish pots from bamboo...true craftsmanship. Too large to fit in my suitcase but a smaller one was made for me while there. Jan and Tony are fantastic as we're the other 2 couples in residence, such a great group.Thanks to Jan and Tony for venturing to this location and sharing it with the rest of us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain M
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“21st Century Tarzan”
Reviewed 10 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Well, what can I say this was just amazing? A tree house like Tarzan’s only with running water, a shower, aircon and best of all ……a plunge pool or was it the humming birds floating about your head? With a sea view and surrounded by coconut tress? We were dreaming. We would wake up and we would be back in cold wet reality (or Blightly as we refer to it).

This place is most definitely THE very best place that we have stayed in our lives. It is superb. Truly superb. It will not be everybody’s ideal place but if you get the 'tree house in paradise thing’ which we did (all four of us from 4 to 51) then this is uber uber UBER cool. I have never seen anything so brilliant in all of my life and to be honest I feel like posting a bad review to keep you all away. But this is exceptional and such amazing fun. We kept saying the same thing all of the time ”beautiful”.

The village is almost free of tourists and you will not see many others. They tend to go to the big hotels and stay there. Best place for them and it keeps them off your much more beautiful beach right there in front of you. The locals are very very friendly, kind and generous. The is a very safe place. We even to our delight allowed our children to play outside unaccompanied other than by the locals. OK OK we admit that some may say that we inflicted them on others but that is a measure of how safe we felt it to be. We come from London so you can imagine. It is like a mini New Orleans 100 years ago with some very interesting buildings, people and culture.

It has a long beautiful beach with the odd fishing boat here and there and a small fish market with guys drinking rum and playing dominoes whilst weaving lobster pots from bamboo or some kind of local plant material. You will be able to take some absolutely brilliant photographs and if you like that sort of thing this spot is bang on the money being very much the real deal.

Our landlords were actually super amazing and we felt as though they knew (almost) everyone on the island and thus gave us a lot of very good advice. That advice enabled to go to some or the more esoteric and interesting places. We hired one of their cars on an ad hoc basis which is cheap and easy and means that you do not have the pressure of using a hire car that you have paid for every day. Laborie is after all a great day all by itself. It is that nice I am not kidding. I really like Laborie and its people and I am not easy to please I really am not being a fussy old so and so and proud of it too.

There I have killed my chances of booking this ever again. Howard in the interests of honesty there is my review. Add this to your bucket list and you will sell your soul and those of your children for a few more weeks here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean, well built, air conditioned tree house with plunge pool and humming birds with a beach er .....hello
Liked least: Leaving - I cried
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Mar 2016
Thanks Iain,
Sorry, I must have sent you the wrong link. Of course this review is for the Bay Treehouse.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing