We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“what a lovely and nice place”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Mango Splash

Mango Splash apartment is on the ground floor of the house on the beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mango Splash apartment is on the ground floor of the house on the beach
Your private hideaway Your quiet, cool, comfortable room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
Mango Splash apartment is on the ground floor of the house on the beach
Your private hideaway
Your quiet, cool, comfortable room
The desk/dressing table
Looking towards the front door
A fully equipped kitchen with an African scene
The morning sun shining through the glass bottle wall
Clean, comfortable bathroom
The path to the beach
Looking out to the beach
Looking to the left from the front of the house
looking towards Laborie village
Spectacular sunsets.
The famous Pitons
Dritwood Cottage, Bay Treehouse and the outdoor relaxing area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Laborie, Laborie Quarter, St. Lucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
gbeister
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“what a lovely and nice place”
Reviewed 17 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We spend three nights at MangoSplash and loved this place so much. Its directly next to the beach so you just need to open the garde gate and you touch the beach. The owners of Mango Splash are more than lovely and nice and seem to be very nice integreated/connected with the village (Laborie). The house is very clean and everything you need is in place and in a perfect condition. The village of Laborie is (as far as we know) one of the best locations in St. Lucia you need to visit. The people in thevillage are more than friendly and when you walk down the road everyone says hello or wishes you a nice day or evening...Its such a relaxing and peacefull place. The beach is clean and the water is crystal clear and you can watch the fishermans getting their daily catches and offering them fresh. There are several nice local restaurants in the village where you can get excellent meals for a nice price. We went with our little daughter (less than 2 years old) and Mango Splash and the entire village were just perfect. We highly recomment this place to all.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shad W
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb superior accommodation right on the beach”
Reviewed 12 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Jan and Tony are fantastic hosts who provide everything you could possibly want from ground coffee and a cafetiere to masks and snorkels!
Mango Splash is a studio apartment; they also have the most beautiful Carribean style cottage, Driftwood, and the amazing Bay Tree House built up in he trees with views over the bay. The three properties form a delightful little oasis where you can choose as much or as little socialising with the neighbours as you like. Jan and Tony suggest activities that you might like to join in with; we really enjoyed a trip out to a local Indian restaurant with our neighbours from Driftwood and Bay Tree House - it's like a delightful house party with your own self contained property that you can retreat ton.
The beach is just outside the gate, shaded by coconut trees, a great place to hang out on the sunbeds and watch the locals walk by on their way to Rudy Bay beach where there is a bar, cafe and craft stalls.
The town centre of Laborie is a 5 minute walk along the beach where there are shops, bars, restaurants and fish to be bought straight from the fishermen. Laborie is just how the Carribean used to be before the developers moved in.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueSurrey...
Weybridge, Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fabulous memories”
Reviewed 31 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We spent 9 glorious days at Mango Slash in July but wish we had spent our whole 16 days there as now one could compare to Tony and Jan's helpfulness and hospitality and the terrific location right on the beach in the wonderful town of Laborie. Mango Splash was beautifully looked after and very homely, the pictures don't do it justice.
We made friends with 2 other couples staying at Tony and Jan's "Driftwood" cottage and their stunning brand new "Treehouse" with humming birds flying in and out of it and Tony and Jan were an amazing help to all of us.
They take looking after their guests very seriously and obviously love Labourie. The locals all know them and say how nice they are.
Tony and Jan invited the 2 of us to join them to see the St. Lucia "Zouks" play cricket, what a fun experience- and they won, "Go Zouks !"
When i told them how i wanted to see a steel band they told us of a carnival 'fish fest' in the town and we had the best time there dancing to their very own Laborie Steel Pan band (whom they are extremely proud of) and enjoying all the amazing local food stalls- Yum !! We loved mixing with the locals and experiencing all the places Tony and Jan suggested. We especially loved the new 'Salt Rush Cafe' right next to the jetty for tasty food and drink with the best view and the Merry Yeti bar on John Rudy beach for their super strong rum punch !!.
We rented Tony and Jan's 4x4 for a few days in Laborie and for the whole of the second week staying up north, much cheaper and it got us all over the island. Driving in St.Lucia is a real experience not for the faint-hearted !
Tony and Jan's work with a dog charity is admirable and although they have 5 dogs they will not bother you if you don't want them to, personally we loved them and will remember the dogs as part of our amazing experience at Mango Splash. Thank you Tony and Jan for the best time.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything !
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liliana B
2 reviews
“Perfect place and wonderful hosts”
Reviewed 19 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

What a beautiful place !!! Jan and Tony are wonderful hosts, very helpful and friendly.
The place is right on a beautiful beach, very comfortable and clean.
We fell in love with the place and Laborie.
The village Is still untouched by modern tourism . A real gem.
We will certainly come back here and stay at the tree house which is simply stunning!!!
Can't wait !!!
Thanks tony and Jan for a truly wonderful weekend
Liliana and Cristian

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and hospitality
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aleksejs...
New York
1 review
“Nice”
Reviewed 21 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Renting from Jan & Tony was a great decision! From my 1st contact with them, they responded very quickly every time I emailed them. The room was clean, the kitchenette well organized and stocked, the facility was just as expected. The apartment is well equipped and very clean and location, location at the quiet place of the beach. It was wonderful to wake up in the morning and go for our morning walk and swim. The owners, Jan & Tony were great and able to help us with any questions. Close to grocery stores, restaurants, bakeries. If you want a nice, quiet place to stay, then this is it. Thank you Jan and Tony. You are the BEST!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah P
Westminster, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Authentically Beautiful Adventure”
Reviewed 16 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

In a word, this location, this rental, this island and the people who live here are: Amazing. If you are looking for an authentic St. Lucian experience, this is the place for you. Tony and Jan are accommodating, knowledgeable and friendly. They made our trip memorable and many of the things we were able to experience were due solely to them. Laborie is absolutely beautiful and everyone who lives there are friendly and very welcoming to tourists who frequent Tony and Jan's rentals. Some of the highlights of our trip were:

- Hiking with Abbie (aka Charlie) up Gros Piton and again to a 5 level waterfall in the jungle in Choiseul/Saltibus. He took the "right" way up Gros Piton so we were able to fully hike the mountain from the bottom, took us to BOTH look-outs which other guides don't do, and even brought some fresh grapefruits to enjoy at the top. View is incredible and hike, while challenging, was enjoyable as long as you go EARLY (we started at 630). Waterfall hike was equally breathtaking though not for the faint of heart, experience was required as they way down to the waterfall would most likely frighten some tourists.
- Mama Tilly's is a staple in Laborie and everyone knows her. She is a wonderful cook and an incredible sweet woman. The food she prepared us (we went 2 different nights) were some of our favorites of the whole trip. Highly recommend the breadfruit balls, octopus, and her salad; everything was great but those blew us away. The rum punch will literally knock your socks off, I only had 1 and that was plenty.
- Dinner with William was a luxury experience in a rustic and beautiful place. William is a local and friend of Tony who currently works as a chef on large cruise ships. He is creative and passionate about his food and it shows. He prepared a 3 course meal for us and another couple which we were all blown away by. He was friendly and interacted with us while he cooked; he created the dishes on the spot and I know I'll never have anything like them again. The rum caramel sauce was heavenly.
- Exploring the beaches in Soufriere (Anse Chasnet, Anse Mamin and Sugar Beach) was a lovely time as long as you have a plan. Our plan, which worked, was to go and snorkel and enjoy the quiet in the morning hours before the hotel guests came down. Snorkeling at Anse Chasnet was lovely and quiet, beach is beautiful. Anse Mamin is a short walk but worth it; not a sole on the beach, very private with lovely swimming. The drive to both of these beaches is NOT for the faint of heart, I recommend a water taxi as the best way to travel there. Sugar Beach is popular for snorkeling and it shows, many large tour boats come and water is crowded. However, once they leave, the snorkeling is very nice and good for beginners; depending on the day there are jellyfish so they can be avoided by staying closer to the rocks. Both beaches have bars/restaurants which are nice but pricey; stay for a drink but then head home to have some Pitons on Laborie beach.
- The Reef Beach Cafe - we came for lunch and sat under the shade of some trees and enjoyed a great meal watching the kite surfers out in the water. The bakes with salted cod are a must try. Great place to spend a whole day since the beach is so close and prices are very reasonable.
- Antillia Brewing - amazing local craft beer in the heart of Rodney Bay. They have great food, good prices, cool location and of course....cold beer. While Pitons are great, this was unique and not something you can find just anywhere.

Overall, while we explored most of the island (Castrie, Rodney Bay, Soufriere, Dennery, Micoud) our favorite place was Laborie. It is beautiful, relatively devoid of tourist traps, prices are more than reasonable, people are friendly and genuine, and its quiet. The only thing I would have changed was staying longer. We hope to be back soon and miss it terribly.

Thank you Tony, Jan, Abbie, William, Tilly and all the other amazing people we met.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and Hosts
Liked least: we loved everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasiy
Thessalon, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 5 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We recently had the pleasure of staying with Toni and Jan for seven days. As mentioned in almost every previous post they are very good host. All three units are very clean have modern conveniences and are well maintained and totally relaxing. Laborie is a small fishing village untouched by modern tourism , if you are looking to experience St. Lucia as it was years ago , this is the place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing