We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great cottage;great hosts; great time”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
large cupboard with a safe for your valuables
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
large cupboard with a safe for your valuables
The view from the queen size bed
Bright bathroom with walk in shower
Fully equipped kitchen with gas hob and mini oven
Your private plunge pool
Your own unique poolside shower
Laborie village...a hidden gem!
Just a few steps from your door
Your beach to the right
Looking towards Laborie village
Looking out to sea early in the morning
Mama Tilly. Strong rum punch and great food!
Spectacular sunsets
Another sunset
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Laborie, Laborie Quarter, St. Lucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

raja8385
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great cottage;great hosts; great time”
Reviewed 24 June 2015 for a stay in March 2015

If you want to experience the "island life" this is the place. My wife and I stayed in the Driftwood Cottage in Laborie and loved every minute. From our arrival to departure our hosts, Tony and Jan, took care of everything : From where to dine to what to visit. They arranged for travel and excursions and planned a perfect set of days for visiting local places of interest (like Balenbouche Estate and snorkeling for example) Laborie is well off the beaten path and Driftwood Cottage was the perfect place to stay if getting to know the locals and participating in their culture is your cup of tea. Their knowledge of all things Lucian and their helpful suggestions made our stay just perfect. They made it possible to eat and live "local", a great experience. As for the cottage itself, it is located just off the beach and down the road from the football/cricket field. The town is within easy walking distance and there seemed to always be something going on at the field. We spent many enjoyable mornings and afternoons on the porch eating local foods - fresh eggs, bananas, honey, breads and freshly caught fish (maui-mahi in abundance). I could go on and on. The cottage inside was very open and the bathroom showcased the hosts creativity in local decorations. To us Americans, the kitchen, which is located just off the porch and through a separate door, was more than adequate and made preparing our own meals easy. The colors and canopy bed made everything feel tropical. The small town feel really made us feel at home as did our hosts.

Date of stay: March 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: The location just off the beach and our hosts
Liked least: The location of the bed on a platform was a little awkward
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
146adrian...
Quadra Island, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quiet, rural by the beach retreat!”
Reviewed 24 June 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Anthony (and his mom) and Jan were wonderful hosts. Tony in particular took time out to make sure everything was to our satisfaction and provided lots of information on where to eat, what to see and a rental vehicle!
Driftwood by the Beach is a cute, self-contained cottage with a view of the beach and just a short walk to a beautiful, mainly unpopulated beach with swimming that is unparalleled for the area. There were a few free provisions (bottled water,tea, biscuits) provided on arrival and the cottage had everything, including air conditioning and wifi!
There were a lot of animals in the vicinity- dogs, chickens, roosters and goats. So if you are not an animal lover, this might not be a good place for you. If, on the other hand, you like a rural environment and want to see the non-city side of St. Lucia, this is a great place to hang out!

Date of stay: March 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Host, cleanliness, price
Liked least: not right on the waterfront
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachBumI...
1 review
“Hidden Gem in Paradise ! !”
Reviewed 24 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

St Lucia and the Driftwood Cottage is a great connection if you wanna live and experience the Caribbean life!! The Driftwood Cottage is ideal for a couple or if your travelling solo!! Jan and Tony are wonderful hosts and go that extra mile to make your stay more enjoyable and relaxing !! They even provide a rental car if your wanting day trips ! Laborie is a small fishing village and I had no issues with the locals whatsoever !! Jan picked me up from airport got groceries and it's a short drive to your stay !! The writeup by the owners is exactly what you get and all the emedities are all in great working order and the WiFi is very good !! The cottage is directly across from the Mango Splash which is below Tony and Jan residence that fronts onto the beach !! Sunbeds and chairs, kayak, are also provided for your convenience ! If your desiring that taste of the Caribbean Life then the Driftwood Cottage is your choice !!

Date of stay: May 2015
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
j6oeb
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay with a beautiful beach”
Reviewed 17 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This place was so lovely and peaceful and tony and jan was great owners too and very helpful.. They have 4 lovely friendly dogs (all girls) and goats so I was always happy to have the animals around,
The room was lovely and clean with good air con and a fan also.
Tony picked us up from the airport which didn't cost us much and then took us to the supermarket to get some bits for the room. They had all the facilities you need ie: salt/pepper/oil/ tea/ coffees and sugar and much more ... Was so happy to spend my time relaxing on the balcony and the beach which you can see from your cottage.
The wifi was very good with great signal.
Laborie was great and the the people so friendly, always say hello, we went for food at the big bamboo where they serve the best food in laborie I thought..Kent the owner is so nice and even gave us a ride up to his other pub on the highway when his other was closed on the Tuesday... Could go on forever but you won't be disappointed if you stay here.. We are up in the north of Rodney bay which is nice but laborie is my favorite place .. Thanks tony and jan for helping us enjoy our stay .

Date of stay: April 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brigitte...
Apples, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
Google Translation

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.