We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Sensational Carribean Experience”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
large cupboard with a safe for your valuables
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
large cupboard with a safe for your valuables
The view from the queen size bed
Bright bathroom with walk in shower
Fully equipped kitchen with gas hob and mini oven
Your private plunge pool
Your own unique poolside shower
Laborie village...a hidden gem!
Just a few steps from your door
Your beach to the right
Looking towards Laborie village
Looking out to sea early in the morning
Mama Tilly. Strong rum punch and great food!
Spectacular sunsets
Another sunset
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Laborie, Laborie Quarter, St. Lucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Gordon Y
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Sensational Carribean Experience”
Reviewed 18 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018
3
people found this review helpful

Driftwood is a charming wooden cottage with an open plan bedroom with a shower room and bathroom area to the rear. A separate kitchen area is adjoined. To the front is a large porch/patio area which provides excellent space to relax. The cottage although not directly on the beach is very close indeed and the sound of the waves can be heard from the property. The cottage is set in gardens of lush greenery, banana trees, breadfruit trees and palms and there is a seperate kitchen/dining area that can be utilised for social gatherings of all the guests. We had one evening meal here which was just a wonderful setting. Behind the cottage is a tree house which is occupied by other guests of Tony and Jan, our hosts. To the front is the main house which is set on the beach front and from where all the guests can relax on sunbeds. Laborie itself is a fishing town and it would be fair to say that it is not geared up for tourists which is exactly why we loved it. You feel that you are experiencing the real St Lucia and not the tourist window dressing. The people are genuine polite and helpful but can be a little loud sometimes! There are enough shops and eating places dotted around the village to cater for most needs. Our favourite venue was the Salt Rush Cafe on the beach, run by Wilson Aimable who is a charming man. The sunsets from his bar were incredible.Tony and Jan are extremely knowledgeable about the area and provide excellent advice from organising trips to little day to day needs. Nothing was too much trouble for them. All in all if you want an interesting Carribean holiday you would be hard pushed to find a better one than this.

Date of stay: March 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harry-pot...
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it”
Reviewed 7 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We both loved the set up of the "cottage" with its lovely gardens and dining table under cover and looking over the garden. We had the sea in view and it was only 30 yards walk to the beach. Deck chairs were available free. Tony and Jan were great company and very helpful and friendly. They has the set up great. They owns three properties and they introduce you to each other by getting someone in to cook a meal in a room adjoining the garden of Driftwood and Tree house. We made such good friends.
Tony is up to date with all the events and keeps you informed. He has a jeep we rented and enjoyed our trip around the Island. He has several dogs and being a dog lover it was great for me. "Coal" was very friendly and would walk with you along the football field or along the beach. Had a fantastic memorable holiday.

Date of stay: February 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Hospitable hosts with attention to detail in unspoilt Caribbean village - Labourie”
Reviewed 11 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018
2
people found this review helpful

The friendliness and beauty of this unspoilt village of Labourie envelopes you. It is matched by the laid back but efficient owners who live nearby but do not intrude.

We stayed in Driftwood which has a relaxing balcony (regularly visited by humming birds) that faces the sea although you cannot see it. The waterfront is only about 60 m away. A lot of thought has gone into designing the accommodation which is both rural but totally functional and everything works.

We were so enchanted that we happily wandered around the village and beach watching life go on in a place that hopefully will stay that way for many years to come.

Date of stay: February 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
15 Feb 2018
Thanks for the lovely review John. Just for future guests you most definitely can see the sea from the porch. From one angle it is a little obscured when seated,by a palm, which I will thin out today. Thanks for pointing this out.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
junglepal...
USA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed 5 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018
2
people found this review helpful

Ahhhhhh what can I say... Driftwood Cottage is a Caribbean Dream. Situated on a lovely beach. With a wonderful porch to relax and rejuvenate your soul. It has everything you need including a kitchen. The owners Jan and Tony are fabulous and go out of their way to make your vacation special. We had a private dinner prepared by Lincoln which was delicious and a wonderful massage from Barbara. We ate at amazing restaurants... Ladera, Boucan, Mango Tree, go for lunch, it’s cheaper and you can see the beautiful views of the Pitons. If you like Indian food, Indian Chef in Vieux Fort is very good. We have been going to St Lucia for 25 years and love the local heart of Laborie.

Date of stay: January 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinpZ9...
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“You will GUSH about Driftwood”
Reviewed 22 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018
3
people found this review helpful

Driftwood By The Beach is a two-person beach-side standalone cottage built by the caring and competent couple Jan and Tony Collinson.

It deserves a rating of 7 out of 5, if only that were possible! Read the reviews. When was the last time you saw a modestly priced place with a universal rating of 5 out of 5?

Here's the thing about the Caribbean Sea, to which I have traveled regularly for 40 years: big cruise ships, big all-inclusive resorts, big crowds, big traffic, big prices -- all have contributed to undermining the attractiveness of many islands. Used to be that you could find unassuming local people, reasonably priced local food, magical uncrowded beaches, etc. That's much harder now.

St. Lucia is sadly afflicted with dense tourism (particularly around Castries) but if you go to Laborie Bay at the south end of the island you'll find old-style Caribbean. It's a fishing village. Few tourists. An empty, perfect beach. People, food and ambience almost entirely untouched by progress.

Driftwood is so exceptional that I imagine we'll go there (or to its adjacent sister property, the Bay Treehouse) every year. Occupancy hovers near 100% so we're already checking 2019 flights so we can book. Jan and Tony LOOK AFTER YOU. It's personal and friendly service taken to an extreme.

Date of stay: January 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dream7017...
1 review
“Wonderful Holiday”
Reviewed 26 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

We had a fantastic time - we wanted to just chill and that's exactly what we did. Tony and Jan are wonderful hosts and are always there to help or give advice. Driftwood is lovely and a testament to their creativity - comfortable, clean and well equipped. They have lots of dogs who we fell in love with and it was great to have their company on the veranda and on trips into town and on the beach. We hired Tony and Jan's car for a couple of days and that is well worth doing. Loved the Reef restaurant and rum punch at sunset at Salt Rush with Wilson who makes you very welcome. If you want a taste if living in the real Caribbean & you love dogs this is definitely for you - it's like staying with friends! Highly recommend.

Date of stay: December 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marleggla
Bergen, Norway
2 reviews
“Even better than we hoped part 1”
Reviewed 10 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We came from cold/wet Bergen Norway looking for paradise. We found it in Laborie on the first part of our stay in Driftwood. The small cottage is lovely, and has everything you need for a relaxing stay(away from the all the big resorts with all the tourists) on St Lucia.
In Driftwood you feel part of the community. The locals would pass by saying good morning/good afternoon/good night(depending on what time of day it was), and always asking how we were enjoying our stay in Laborie.
Tony and Jan who own Driftwood, Mango Splash + Bay Treehouse(reviewed on better than we hoped part 2) are excellent hosts offering advice and tips on what to do/where to eat/organizing excursions.
Don't bother renting a car while you are staying here. Tony has a car which can be borrowed at a very reasonable rate.
Choosing too stay in Driftwood means you have to like dogs:- Tony and Jan are involved in the rescue and upkeep of some of the stray dogs in Laborie. All the dogs are really friendly, only looking for a bit of affection(and maybe a bit of ham from the fridge for breakfast)
The terrace outside the cottage is where we spent many a happy hour. Drinking the local(excellent) Piton beer whilst watching the hummingbirds on the bird feeder.
If you want the real St Lucia then stay in Laborie at one of Tony and Jan's properties
Thanks again Tony and Jan for two unforgettable weeks.

Date of stay: October 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.