We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great walk, terrible guide”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Wli Waterfalls

Wli Waterfalls
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Hohoe
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
153 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great walk, terrible guide”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed the night at the Wli waterfall lodge (owned by a German couple) in order to get an early start on the falls the next day. The lodge itself is great and would highly recommend it.

We wanted to walk the upper falls which cost a suprisingly large amount at 30sidi. We decided to do the loop track which was acouple of hours longer but save dyou from going straight up and down.

I would highly highly reccomend to do the loop track, first of all, it was only perhaps an hour longer, secondly the view is far better as it takes you over a grassy hill so you get a fantastic view of the surrounding villages and forrests which stretch on for miles, and thirdly its a lot less step than going straight up.

the upper falls are beautiful, but the way down is very steep, not for the faint hearted!

Throughout the whole time the guide was unable to answer any of our questions, made no effort to make any conversation, went way to fast for everyone, left one girl behind, and at the end got angry at us when he asked for a tip and we gave him 5 sidi from 6 of us which in my opinion is far mor ethan he actually deserves considering he already gets 18sidi from each person he takes from the tourist office.

So, be prepared for a big steep walk, do your research before you go encase you get a bad guide and enjoy the beautiful views!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ainsley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    39
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Easy walk up to the lower falls, many tourists! The walk was OK, not particularly interesting but once we reached the waterfalls I was impressed! The biggest waterfall in West Africa is also the home to hundreds of bats! I did not even notice them until the guide pointed it out. We had a fab time and even attempted to climb to the upper falls until the rain and tough walk put us off (we only got to the view point, haha).

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nicky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kumasi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

I recommend you forget the tour centre and move on (the tour guide they gave us quit after 2mins walk. Service at Mount Afadjato is cheaper and far better.) There's no way you could get lost. I couldn't get to the upper falls

There are hotels nearby. Wli waterfalls lodge and Wli heights

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kwamayze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
81 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice forest walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

Getting to the lower fall is really easy (compared to other waterfalls in the region). Around 40 min if you walk fast and 50 min if you stop to take pictures or admire the luxuriant nature.
I would recommend going early ( we started the walk at 8.30) to avoid crowd and heat and preferably on a week day. We got very lucky coz we were alone the all time. We could enjoy the sight of all kinds of butterflies, dragonflies, birds and plants.
The place is well maintained ( there are some benches, pic nic areas, bridges ...)
We did notice some trash along the trail but not as much as people mentioned earlier, probably because it was not a busy day. I find it really sad though, that people need to liter in such a beautiful place. There should be a tighter control over rubbish disposal and the quantity of alcoholic beverages people take there. Apparently some come at Wli fall to party hard and leave all their party stuff right near the fall or on the trail.
People from the village nearby do clean up, we could see them sweeping early in the morning. They should not allow other people to come and waste their hard labour to keep the place clean. In front of such a pure thing one should just understand that you need to take back your trash.
We tried to swim but the water did not seem very deep and not knowing what was under ( we did not take a guide who could have enlighten us) we decided to be cautious. The fall is really impressive though, a must try! People from the village are really friendly , they kept greeting us. For once no one tried to stalk or get money from us.
10GHC for expat and 6GHC for locals. 1GHC for camera use.
Lovely walk! though it can get very hot in the forest. Bring water,go back home with your waste or put them in the bins!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AccraPineapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verona, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worth the hike!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

A day trip from Kpando, the Wli waterfalls is a must. If you go on a weekend, go early to avoid the crowds and tour buses. Go for the upper falls and the 1.5-3hr hike each way (depending upon your pace) is worth it. Your guide will have just flip flops, but you should definitely wear more supportive tail/hiking shoes. I was like a continuous stair climb for most of the hike. Bring a large 1.5l bottle of water, a camera, and some snacks. See cocoa trees and coffee. There were also a wide variety of butterflies of all different colors and sizes along the way as well.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jiffyzanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wli Waterfalls also viewed

 
Accra, Greater Accra
Amedzofe, Volta Region
 

Been to Wli Waterfalls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing