We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Absinthe

Absinthe
Ranked #1 of 22 Restaurants in Kamares
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, View, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Romantic environment with a great view and protected from undesirable weather.
Lexington, KY
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“So good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

This is a very nice, casual restaurant not far from the port. The servers were charming, and the food was good. Everything was fresh. I enjoyed the fava dip; others said the grouper was good the night we visited. Prices were reasonable. Nice setting on the stairway.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CW1807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    93
    27
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

An extraordinarily tasteful restaurant, in all its part from first of all the food, but also the interior, the service and the wiew. Greek with a very tasty - and needed - spicy twist.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SusaSall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Spicy Goat and Healthy Salad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Here is where I tried my first Sifnos specialty of goat, it was tender and spicy in a light broth. My salad was of the finest arugula, shaved parmesan cheese, sliced green apples, pine nuts, sunflower seeds and a light dressing. Cost was about 23 Euros with house wine

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank julesntanza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Excellent food with a stunning view.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

This was probably the best meal we had on the island and on our last night here.Their presentation of the plates was well thought of and their dishes totally out of the ordinary.I had the spicy goat(absolutely stunning to the taste buds)and my wife had the seared tuna claiming it was the best she had so far.The only put off was the slow service,probably because of the congestion last night due to the strong winds that attracted a full house.It is the only restaurant with a terrace that we have seen so far that is glassed in.Great wines and interesting decor go with it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SoiledGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roeselare, Belgium
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

I thought this would be a special place - on number 1 in kamares! - but that isn't it for me... the meat i had was very dry with no special taste. There are places nearby that are much better!! And cheaper! So for me this was no price-quality.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sofiafrombelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George P, Manager at Absinthe, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Sofiafrombelgium

As soon as you open our menu,this excerpt is the first you see.

"Dear honored guest,

Thank you for choosing to dine in Absinthe. Our aim is to make your evening a memorable one by serving you in a friendly and professional manner and offering you a wide variety of dishes to choose from that are prepared with the highest quality ingredients available.

Most of the selections on our menu are composed and prepared individually at the moment your order is placed. In rare instances, minor delays may occur in times of high congestion. Should this be the case, our staff will inform you in good time and will do its utmost to minimize the inconvenience.

Should any of the dishes you ordered are for any reason not to your satisfaction, please don't hesitate to inform us we will gladly re-do or change them free of charge."

You claim you had a meat dish here that was not to your liking but neglected to state which one from the over SIXTEEN to chose from.

You also found our prices expensive but not specifying what you payed for what you supposedly ate here so I'll help you out a little on this matter.

Our prices for the meat dishes range from €5.50,the highest costing €15.50 and these prices include 3 small complimentary starters,fruit and a glass of liqueur at the end of the meal even if one orders a starter only!We know the prices of the other restaurants on the island and we believe we are in par to them.

We will continue to do our utmost to keep our no.1 rating on TripAdvisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Absinthe also viewed

Apollonia, Sifnos
 
Platis Yialos, Sifnos
Apollonia, Sifnos
 

Been to Absinthe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing