We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money!”
Review of Hotel Boulis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Boulis
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Kamares
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2012

The hotel is situated not far from the port of Sifnos: Kamares.

The advantage of the hotel is that you have a beach just in front of the hotel but I recommend you visit all the lovely beaches of the island but for that you will need to rent a motorcycle or car.

The rooms are decent in size, have a fridge, a small TV (never turned it on I have to admit) and have also an AirCon unit in them. The staff keep the hotel and the rooms very clean despite the mountain loads of sand that come and go every day! Towels are changed every day and bed lined very often as well.

Overall a very food value for money.

You have to try the hotel's restaurant, it makes excellent local dishes! A bit pricey but worth it!

Last tip, all the night-life happen at the capital of the island: Apollonia which is 5km away. You will find there several shops, place to eat and drink. Just be careful on the roads... Sifnos is mountainous and there are many many turns!

Room Tip: Only a few rooms face the sea but it is worth asking when booking. Also avoid the ones that have the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Solo_Londoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2012

An old hotel with great potential. It was very clean , the owners were very helpful and polite. The must of this hotel , the 1minute walk to the beach., the cons the expensive room rate .

Also the cafene tavern in the patio was beautiful, with excellent food and wine.

Room Tip: Ask a room with a balcony .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giulia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We already have been twice to stay in Hotel Boulis and are already planing to go back again! We love the Greek Islands and every time we go, beautiful Sifnos has to be part of our trip. Lyn and Andoni are making us feel so welcome, they feel like family. We are a family of 5 and get two rooms next to each other. Rooms have air conditioning, comfortable beds, plenty of space, a fridge and are very clean which is always important to me. They also had a balcony where we could enjoy the most beautiful sunsets with a bit of Ouzo before going down to the convenient and wonderful restaurant. We have tried other restaurants in Kamares on our first visit, but didn't even bother the second time, the food right here at our hotel was so good and the staff so helpful and friendly it made our stay even more relaxing. The beach is just a short stroll through the back yard and the view to the bay is stunning. Thank you to all at Hotel Boulis!!

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony to enjoy the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarianneBNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

The Hotel Boulis is located some 50 metres from the beach at Kamares, the port for the beautiful Cycladic Island, Siphnos. The owners, Lyn and Andoni, are wonderful hosts who speak perfect English. The hotel has its own bistro/restaurant called Kafenes, and Andoni is one of the best cooks/chefs you could wish for anywhere. Rooms are clean, comfortable and airconditioned. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Easy walk to shops, eateries, ferries and bus stops as well as the local taxis and car/motorcycle hires. If you are going to Siphnos, this is the place to stay!

Dr Norman Ashton

Room Tip: If possible ask for a room with balcony overlooking the beach/port.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norman A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We loved our stay here. It was so worth having a room with a balcony overlooking the beach and ocean. Room was spacious with a large fridge. I always think it would be great if hotel rooms supplied a kettle and some basic cutlery thus allowing guests to make a cuppa from time to time but Boulis does not supply those things. Lyn is very hospitable and helpful which we appreciated. Location in Sifnos can't be beaten but as others have said, make sure you rent a car and go exploring. Lyn has some great suggestions!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ripeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

This hotel can't be beaten on location, it's practically IN the sand dunes, wonderful sunset from the balcony (rooms at the front). Delightful leafy courtyard restaurant within the hotel serving home cooked Sifnos food, really friendly and helpful staff plus fully functioning internet. Certainly ticked all my boxes :-)

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clarecita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

After having done Ios and Santorini my cousin and I had planned to relax and stay at Hotel Boulis for four nights but had to extend it due to myself becoming ill. On arrival into the port we were excited to see the hotel's sign from the boat which made it quick and easy to find being a five minute walk to and from the port. In the morning we were even more surprised and happy to see that the beach was literally down the garden path and out the gate, 100m to the crystal clear blue water's edge which was viewable from the hotel restaurant's courtyard. The hotel's restaurant, Kafenes, was a definite highlight! Home cooked by a father, daughter and friend team, and reliable and friendly wait staff, the Sifnos Greek food was fantastic with a thorough variety to choose from including local Sifnos cheeses, ingredients that were home grown and even dessert. It was also great to see locals, Greek tourists and other tourists all coming together at the restaurant, clearly a testament to the great cooking!
The hotel itself was nice and roomy, an optional standard buffet breakfast was provided. The bedroom a good size with airconditioning that worked and a ceiling fan, tv and fridge and ensuite as well as a balcony where we could sit out on plus always clean. The staff on reception were friendly and knowledgeable, able to recommend activities to do and when I got sick they pointed me in the way of the free doctor on the island and regularly checked to see how I was going and if I needed anything. Greeted every morning with a smile and with free transport to the port on the way out overall it was a relaxing and easy experience, I would highly recommend this great family owned hotel and restaurant!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nikki287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamares
0.2 mi away
ALK Hotel
ALK Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kamares
102 reviews
0.4 mi away
Delfini Hotel Sifnos
Delfini Hotel Sifnos
#1 of 14 in Kamares
335 reviews
2.6 mi away
Petali Village Hotel
Petali Village Hotel
#1 of 7 in Apollonia
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Margado Accommodations
Margado Accommodations
#4 of 14 in Kamares
132 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cape Napos
Cape Napos
#1 of 3 in Faros
39 reviews
0.1 mi away
Morfeas Pension
Morfeas Pension
#2 of 14 in Kamares
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boulis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boulis

Address: | PO Box 726, Kamares 840 03, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Sifnos > Kamares
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Kamares
Price Range: £40 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Boulis 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Boulis is directly on the sand in the middle of Kamares beach, with the rare advantage of being in a quiet, rural area away from the main road, yet only a few minutes walk to bus stops, shops, ceramic workshops, etc. The rooms at the Boulis hotel are clean and comfortable, each containing: private bathroom and balcony or veranda, refrigerator, air-conditioning, ceiling fan, TV and direct dial telephone. Our bistro-style "Kafenés" is a quiet corner in the hotel garden courtyard offering distinctive mezedes and delicious full meals, home-cooked using local products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Boulis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boulis Hotel Sifnos
Hotel Boulis Sifnos/Kamares

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing