We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very hard to pay...”
Review of O Argiris

O Argiris
Ranked #4 of 22 Restaurants in Kamares
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$23
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very hard to pay...”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

The location is excellent, the food good. We ate with the high tide lapping the side of the restaurant just three meters away. I agree with a lot of other comments that the waiters were all taciturn.
Everything was 4 stars until we came to pay. Had to ask three times for the bill and twice for my change. It took about thirty minutes. Not acceptable in a far from busy restaurant.

Helpful?
3 Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    70
    34
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best meal we had in Kamares”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

O Argiris is a taverna situated on the waterfront on the opposite of Kamares town. The food is traditional and absolutely amazing, the service is more casual. If you are looking for a delicious meal in a warm and relaxing setting, and a beautiful view on Kamares town itself you will find it here.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank HNK1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“we ate here twice, so nice”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We loved our stay in Kamares, and loved walking around the cove to this enchanting restaurant. The view back to Kamares was wonderful! (Prettier to look this way than the other direction.) I had lamb with wine and dill - delicious - my husband had his favorite: Greek salad and grilled octopus. A treat we shared, before the meal, was chickpea balls...delicious. It was so good we returned another night, and I had the same meal again because I adored it. Just as good the second time. Very pleasant service, no rush, just perfect. Don't miss the chickpea "soup" from the oven. Hope I can come close to recreating this. I had no idea I loved chickpeas so much.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank keepmovingmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greece
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Home made food fast service”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

One of the best choices in Kamares,if you want home made, clean food.You should try Souvlaki Chicken,Rebithokeftedes,Mastelo and Tirokafteri.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marygew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
Level 6 Contributor
51 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“beatiful setting good food”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We had a nice dinner here. Most of the diners were Greek which is always a great sign. I had the lamb chops and they were wonderful. The view looking across the harbour to Kamares is great after dark. Get an outside table, and enjoy a wonderful dining experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EastCoastTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed O Argiris also viewed

Kamares, Sifnos
Kamares, Sifnos
 
Sifnos, Cyclades
 
Platis Yialos, Sifnos
 

Been to O Argiris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing