We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sifnaika Konakia Traditional Settlements
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Kamares
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We couldn't have asked for more from Maria. It was a wonderful place to stay.

Stayed: June 2011
1  Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2011

This place is a great option, away from the mire crowded shorefront hotels. Simple, but pleasant rooms, an onsite cafe, and parking make it a very easy place to stay. The host is very helpful- so much so that she thoughtfully brought a camera part we left in our room to the ferry before we left. The walk from here to town is a little risky at night with no footpaths or light, but it's really only a couple of hundred metres. Excellent value.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravellerN0tT0urist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

A lovely place, made very special by the owner Maria, who was friendly and helpful. She even organised a taxi for us when we returned to Piraeus and collected us from the ferry when we arrived and left.
The hotel has a lovely barbecue area in an orchard with a fully equipped kitchen for guests to use, so we were able to cook for ourselves a couple of nights. The gardens are lovely, with a hammock, terraces with sunbeds dotted around, seating areas with books, CD players, and a bar/cafe. It was so quiet and lovely with great views from our terrace.
Sifnos is a beautiful, unspoilt island, with sandy beaches everywhere. Our favourite beach was Faros which has a lovely cafe/restaurant and a canoe you can borrow, but the beach in Kamares is also lovely and a 5 minute walk from the hotel.
Our favourite restaurant was Leonidas in Kastro which is owned by Maria's husband, who is also the chef, well worth the trip if you have a car. The Old Captains bar in Kamares was our favourite bar, a great place to chill out with a beer and watch the sunset, with great music too! have been to Sifnos 2 years in a row and I am sure will be back again

Room Tip: We had a junior suit which was very good value, had a large terrace with a sea view and view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank annegiddings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Very rarely you meet a hotelowner like Maria. She is engaged in your wellbeing and your total experience of Sifnos. The rooms are so nice and clean. We travelled with two children (age 2 and 4) and everybody in the family felt at home from the first minute. The children could find a lot of small shaded places to play or go to the playground in the garden.

All though our children went to bed very early compared to locale children, Maria kept on giving os advice on local festivals and happenings that were interesting for us. Some day when the children are not so tired in the evening we will go, we promise you, Maria.

So if your looking for a vacation with a beautiful and friendly hotel. Stay at Marias hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vibekestorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

I am the husband of the woman who talked about a dark side. I must say that as soon her review appeared the owner of the place, Maria, called my wife. She was very distressed because the waitress, Pascalina, left leaving her alone during high season. Maria said that Pascalina was paid very well, she was no prisoner at all, she could go wherever she pleased, and Maria herself was not the sister of the cheaf of the police, instead she doesn't even know the policemen on the island who change every year. Evidently Pascalina told us a lot of lies.
The place is realy beatiful, we loved especially the sunset from the terrace, overlooking the beach of Kamares, which is one of the best on the island. We rented 2 quads from a place nearby and went evrywhere, it was very exciting. Go to Crissopigy beach and snorkel in the narrow passage in the promontory where the church is built. Kastro is also beatiful, with the church of Epta Martyres jutting into the see. You can swim at the foot of the church going down by steps carved in the rock. Coming back to Kastro take the road going left and stop to eat at the restaurant overlooking the little port.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike-287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

I am the hushand of the woman who wrote the review talking about a dark side. The hotel is beatiful, every room has a terrace overlooking the sea, it is just 10 minute on foot to the beach of Kamares which is one of the best in Sifnos, very good for playing with the rackets, We rented 2 quads just outsise the place and went all over Sifnos, it was exciting. What we liked best was Crissopigi (go snorkeling in the narrow passage under the church), Kastro and its restaurant above the little port. In Kastro, you can swim and snorkel at the foot of the church of Epta Matyres, going down the steps carved in the rock from the promontory jutting into the sea where the church is built.
As soon as the review of my wife came out, she received the telephone call of a very distressed Maria , the owner of the place, telling us that Pascalina, the waitress, had left her on August 5th, wih the ferry ticket we bought for her, leaving her with non help at all in high season. Pascalina was a big liar, because she had been regularly paid (Maria keeps the receipts), the chief of the police is not the brother of Maria, who doesn't even know who the policemen are since they change every year. Pascalina was no prisoner at all, she was able to go wherever she pleased, Maria diidn't hold her passaport, and she could go on Internet in her free time (as we saw her too). So I think she cheated us with a sad story in order to obtain a free ferry ticket, hoping we would give her the money back which is what actually happened.
My wife apologize for having written the review without having talked before with Maria, but we are very glad to know the a nice and kind person like Maria is not in any way involved in mistreating a waitress.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

This really is a very special place. Maria, the owner, met us from the ferry and took us to our room which was very clean and spacious. We were offered homemade lemonade and, as it was Sunday, traditional chickpea stew - delicious! The studios/apartments are set in beautiful terraced gardens - lots lof lovely pots of plants and many little corners to sit and relax. Great views to the sea and countryside. Maria was always on hand to give ideas of where to go and what to see - her English was fantastic! Her family run a restaurant in Kastro, Leonidas, which has the best food we had in all the islands we visited. Well worth a visit. If you have a car and get the chance take a trip to the northern tip of the island to Heronissos and have breakfast on the beach at Ammoudia Taverna - just perfect! This is a lovely place to stay and Maria makes it even more special. We won't hesitate to go back and thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NJB27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamares
0.5 mi away
Delfini Hotel Sifnos
Delfini Hotel Sifnos
#1 of 14 in Kamares
335 reviews
0.2 mi away
ALK Hotel
ALK Hotel
#7 of 14 in Kamares
102 reviews
2.5 mi away
Smaragdi Hotel
Smaragdi Hotel
#1 of 3 in Artemonas
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Margado Accommodations
Margado Accommodations
#4 of 14 in Kamares
132 reviews
4.9 mi away
Niriedes Hotel
Niriedes Hotel
#1 of 8 in Platis Gialos
149 reviews
2.9 mi away
Windmill Bella Vista
Windmill Bella Vista
#2 of 3 in Artemonas
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sifnaika Konakia Traditional Settlements? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sifnaika Konakia Traditional Settlements

Address: Kamares 84003, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Sifnos > Kamares
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kamares
#5 Family Hotel in Kamares
Price Range: £42 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sifnaika Konakia Traditional Settlements 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Hotels.com so you can book your Sifnaika Konakia Traditional Settlements reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sifnaika Konakia Traditional Settlements Sifnos/Kamares

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing