We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mountain escape!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mountain Zebra National Park

Mountain Zebra National Park
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Cradock
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Port Elizabeth
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mountain escape!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Come and enjoy the beauty of this park!
Awesome view of the mountains with a Lamb shank on the menu.... settling all the moods and worries of days gone by.
You will always return to this little gem.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KatendaPE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    61
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
215 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Magic mountain park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Mountain Zebra NP offers an awesome wild life and scenic experience. Cheetah and Lion roam freely with a wide range of plains game. Never a dull moment. There are 3 great 4x4 only routes as well as the regular roads through the park. The breath taking mountain route Kranskop is a must. Spoil yourself and visit you will not be sorry. This was my third time.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Back_Road_Tours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect stop over”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

This National Park is well balanced the upper plains are full of game. Well worth a stop over visit on your journey. Friendly and knowledgeable staff. There is a Camp site and family chalets which are clean and comfortable. The recently introduced Lions have increased the Parks popularity so booking for overnight stays is advisable. Day visits are also possible.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

We only had a day trip to this beautiful park, but it was well worth it! There is a well stocked shop, and very good restaurant, with very kind and helpful staff. The Park itself is a very delightful place, the roads are good, and the wildlife plentiful. The views are spectacular, and I would thoroughly recommend this place to anyone.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank dickthed0c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Must See!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

Really, a must see for any animal lover, nature enthusiast and/or photographer!
A beautiful national park with stunning views and wildlife.

We stayed in one of the houses behind the main building. These are conveniently equipped with a small seating area, kitchen, bathroom and two bedrooms. We were a bit cold (due to the season) so we bought firewood in the main building and lit a cosy fire in the fireplace. The store in the main building provided everything you needed. The Staff were friendly and the food in the restaurant was good.

Michael, our guide, was brilliant! We saw a lot of local wildlife and we had a lot of fun with him, but he seemed to be looking for something he couldn't find (he kept getting out of the Jeep and searching for a radio signal). At the end of the tour, when we had all returned to the restaurant, we found out what that was as there was a lot of excitement among the staff and Michael yelled "EVERYONE BACK IN THE JEEP", and took off along one of the private roads of the park.

The excitement turned out to be one of the newly introduced Lions, who was lying in the sun and looking at a group of Heartebeast for her breakfast.

We loved our stay and will definitely be back!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Asagineechan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mountain Zebra National Park also viewed

 
Tsitsikamma National Park, Eastern Cape
Eastern Cape, South Africa
 

Been to Mountain Zebra National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing