We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Die Tuishuise

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Die Tuishuise
Ranked #1 of 12 Cradock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A real gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Our second stay at this quirky but wonderful hotel, and accommodation. From the clear concise on-line booking, the exchange of e-mails and check in to the leaving this was a pleasurable stay. The restaurant, food and staff are excellent. Everyone is attentive and helpful. The only slight downside was a need to improve some of the plumbing, (but these were only minor niggles) The cottages are very well 'dressed' and maintained. The cleaning and care is exemplary.

The whole experience is one not to be missed.

Room Tip: All of the Tuisehuise cottages are different and individual, but they are all wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dickthed0c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    53
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
36
70
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

Absolutely Gorgeous!

We LOVED it!!!!
The care and attention we were given here was incomparable to anything we have experienced, and we travel a LOT.

The little house we were given across the road was very cute, and filled with antiques. It had a small garden with fruit trees, a back door led to a tiny kitchen and the rest of the house, which had two spacious bedrooms, which both had their own en suite bathroom, and a living room.

The staff are very warm and friendly, and they really take care of your every need. The food was great and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves!

BONUS: The Gardener saw how dirty our car was and washed it for us.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asagineechan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Have stayed here a couple of times, and each time the experience is the same, easy convenient and friendly assistance. This time it is however worth mentioning that the dinner we were served was excellent. Every dish a taste sensation of its own.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank PRdT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

I know title is usually reserved for the small town of Graaff Reinet but this place truly deserves the monicker. Beautiful house restored with an eclectic mix of antiques and wonderful modern linens and towels. Clean, comfortable and full of character. You can eat at the restaurant or self cater which was great as we were tired and did not want to eat out. Was great to have a cooked meal in such historic surroundings. Pity were only stayed the night. Can't wait to come back.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kelvin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria .South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

My family and I stayed at the cottages for one night (in December 2013) It was really a great decision to stop in this place. My boys and I were delighted to see this well renovated Victorian cottages .It was like going back in time for a short while. It was spacious, well equipped with extremely comfortable beds and very hot water.Everything was clean and neat. We had 3 bedrooms ,a living room,dinning room ,kitchen and 2 bathrooms.There was also a patio-garden and a private and covered parking for the car . The name of our cottage was "Milkbrook".
The assistants were extremely friendly and helped us diligently with any small request.The owner was very friendly too and extra bonus : she can speak some spanish too (in case you need it). I will definitely come back !

Room Tip: Every cottage is different. I can recomend "MilkBrook" and "Butler"
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilian64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
Level Contributor
89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

It is worth taking the time to stay in Craddock and see these lovely cottages. Old Victorian charm restored beautifully with antiques. Cottages line both sides of the street and each has a unique name. Ours was "Out of Africa". Pieces of fresh lavender on our pillows and towels. Shower was a little weak, but not uncomfortable and I was willing to overlook it because of the charm of the room. It was 2 bedrooms, although we only needed one, with a full kitchen and living area. The Inn is also just as beautiful. We enjoyed dinner and breakfast there. The service was wonderful. Met the owner; very gracious and friendly.

If you can, take time to go to Craddock and visit this interesting village and cottages. We loved it!

Room Tip: Ask for "Out of Africa" if you need to sleep 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knitgusknit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
169 reviews
165 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Stayed one night on our way to Graaf Reinet.
Accommodation is in old cottages that have been faithfully restored. Very old world with furnishings that fit the scene perfectly.Only comment our bed was a double and very hard.
Meals are served in the hotel accross the road that looks after all guests needs.
The food was excellent and the service even better.
Anyone wanting to experience The Karoo as it once was should stay here.
Very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: All the cottages appear quite similar . Ours was called "Out of Africa"
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OskarandSunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cradock hotels
0.5 mi away
Albert House B&B
Albert House B&B
#4 of 12 in Cradock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
8.1 mi away
Mountain View Country Guest House
0.6 mi away
Annie's Guest House
Annie's Guest House
#10 of 12 in Cradock
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Die Tuishuise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Die Tuishuise

Property: Die Tuishuise
Address: 36 Mark Street, Cradock 5880, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Cradock
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Cradock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Die Tuishuise 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Die Tuishuise is a collection of over 30 houses that line Market Street up to the Victoria Manor, a grand old colonial hotel, where delicious Karoo meals are served. Each house is beautifully decorated in its own distinctive theme with antique furniture. Cradock is a great base from which to explore the unique landscapes and animals of the Mountain Zebra National Park. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing