We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kronenhoff Guest House
Ranked #2 of 7 Kirkwood B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Welcome by staff always friendly.
Stylish well equipped rooms with attention to detail.
Excellent food in the Restaurant with great service.
Cozy fireplace in the Restaurant for cold winter nights.
Close To Addo Elephant Park and Port Elizabeth.
Have been there a few times and can recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnookumsCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2012

After a long drive and being a tad grumpy, this gem was a great lunch stop. Food was simple, but great and the coffee excellent. The garden big enough for the kids to run around in.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Shaun F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

The guest house is 30 minutes drive from the entrance to Addo Elephant Game Park. The staff can advise on game viewing and make reservations. The guest house is very comfortable with large well-equipped rooms, set in a beautiful garden and with a great restaurant. The owners and staff are superb and the welcome and service are impeccable. The owners did us a huge favour way beyond the call of duty which added immensely to our enjoyment.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicholasVellano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We were not greeted nicely. One lady showed us the room but not very polite and she hasn't been answering our questions in a good manner.
Service in the restaurant was not very attentive.
When we asked for internet, it did not work out and nobody cared about it.
At the end of our stay the cleaning staff took away clothes as she assumed the laundry bag was that of the hotel. It wasn't. After beeing washed by them they offered to bring it to the Addo National Park. Unfortunately very wrinkled. No excuse, nothing.
We cannot recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dieliebechristy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We chose this guest house for its relative proximity to Addo Game Park and it's reputayion as a great place to stay.We were not disappointed!
We were given a huge suite which had a four poster large bed, 2 setees, 2 satelitte TVs, a huge bathroom with power bath and 2 patios one which was very private.The room was beautifully furnished with solid teak? floors.
There is a lovely pool and secure parking.
We ate each evening in their restaurant the best in Kirkwood.
They have a comprehensive menu and wine list competitively priced.The food was delicious.
Jurie and Hendrien are charming hosts and they have trained their staffwell in that they are friendly and professional.
This is a gem of a place, quiet peacefull and exudes class.
My wife and I recommend itthoroughly.

Room Tip: all of the rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank finian29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Lovely family room. Very friendly staff. Well situated for Addo. Unfortunately the hotel has theonly restaurant within several kilometres. The choice was limited but excellent value.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

This is a decent place to stay if you want to visit the Addo Elephant Park which is about 30 minutes drive away. The rooms are very comfortable and are in two blocks facing onto a lawned area, a short walk from the main manor house. We paid a small premium for the honeymoon room which was huge and very well equipped. The facilities are more akin to a hotel than a guest house in that you don't feel like you are sharing the owner's home and there is a proper bar and restaurant area serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. The food is pretty average but quite acceptable.

Room Tip: The honeymoon room is very large and pleasant and well worth the small premium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pengaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkwood
14.5 mi away
Kuzuko Lodge
Kuzuko Lodge
#1 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
369 reviews
16.9 mi away
Homestead B&B
Homestead B&B
#11 of 22 in Addo
129 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lemon3Lodge Guesthouse
Lemon3Lodge Guesthouse
#1 of 7 in Kirkwood
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Happy Lands B&B
Happy Lands B&B
#5 of 22 in Addo
216 reviews
17.7 mi away
Zuurberg Mountain Village
Zuurberg Mountain Village
#1 of 2 in Addo Elephant National Park
337 reviews
4.9 mi away
Umlambo B&B and River Camp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kronenhoff Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kronenhoff Guest House

Address: 1 Sonop Street, Kirkwood, Sundays River Valley 6120, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Sundays River Valley > Kirkwood
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkwood
Price Range: £62 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kronenhoff Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kronenhoff Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing