We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A trip I look forward to.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kronenhoff Guest House
Ranked #2 of 7 Kirkwood B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A trip I look forward to.”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I travel to Kirkwood regularly on business and always look forward to it. Kronenhoff is somewhere to look forward to. The rooms are really good, from the big beds to the crisp linen. Service is pleasant and efficient. Swimming pool inviting and gym as well. Makes a nice home from home.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iancolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    23
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
16
49
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

We have stayed in many guest houses of late....ranging from Cape Town through to the citrus district of Kirkwood. Although we live in Port Elizabeth and my husband had a golf day at the nearby golf club, it was just too far to drive from PE.

What a beautiful hideaway, the rooms are simply stunning with all the attention to detail. We were served our magnificent dinner on our own private veranda as we just wanted "our own space" the meal was beautifully presented and very well priced.

As there was no one booking into our room on the day of our departure I a not forced to vacate my room by the given time......I had all the time of day to just relax and lie by the beautiful pool area.

This is a definite must if your are ever in this area, and very close to Addo, in theheart of the citrus growing area of the Eastern Cape.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betty's Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
143 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Within the guest house, good ambience, and ample outdoor sitting available.
Some of the staff however seemed startled, slow, others were efficient.
Food was average, pricing was good, The baked Camembert was dissapointing , literally baked in the oven, perhaps even microwave, with garlic thrown over it for measure, not the crumbed variety , I expected, and in comparison to the rest of the choices , rather on the expensive side

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

As a frequent visitor to the Eastern Cape I can really recommend this accommodation for its fine quality and style...from the room decor to the menu...the friendly helpful staff are very accommodating ...well worth a visit ...

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank capaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

As a frequent traveller over the last 25 years to the Kirkwood area and having stayed here on many occasions it is always the place where i will return to...fantastic hospitality and excellent service..a home away from home...a place where both the owners and the staff go the extra mile as part of a normal days work...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank capaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knysna, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed for one night and enjoyed the spacious room and bathroom. For the room we will come back. The service of the staff and quality of the food was very average. Staff did not respond on remarks. This happened in the evening and at breakfast. We could not have a cappucino in the morning because "we do not serve that in the morning". We walked along the cappucino machine and a sign stating that coffee should be strong!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Streetmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2013

The Kronenhoff Guest House was a lovely place to stay. We arrived after touring the Eastern Cape and spending a day exploring Addo Elephant National Park. After several days on the road we appreciated the luxurious accommodations and the polite staff. We stayed in rooms 3 and 4 and could not have been happier. I would agree with some of the other reviewers that this was by far the highest quality hotel/B&B we stayed at during our month in South Africa. The enormous beds and spa like bathrooms were a pleasant feature that gave us the opportunity to unwind.

We ventured over to the restaurant for dinner and found ourselves engaged in a conversation with Jurie (the owner) over drinks at the bar. During our conversation the room went dark as the power in Kirkwood went out. Luckily, several seconds later the power returned as the property has a generator. Our meals were delicious, priced well, and the service was great. We noticed that the restaurant had a good mix of hotel guests and local area residents.

The morning of our departure we met Hendrien (Jurie's wife and co-owner), and had a very pleasant conversation before enjoying breakfast in the restaurant.

We would recommend this establishment to anyone traveling to Addo Elephant National Park. It was one of the highlights of our South African vacation. We would also recommend visiting the nearby Daniell Cheetah Project, which gives you the opportunity to observe cheetahs, servals, leopards, lions, and meerkats.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JakeinSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkwood
1.5 mi away
Lemon3Lodge Guesthouse
Lemon3Lodge Guesthouse
#1 of 7 in Kirkwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
12.9 mi away
Hitgeheim Country Lodge
17.1 mi away
Zuurberg Mountain Village
Zuurberg Mountain Village
#1 of 2 in Addo Elephant National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Africanos Country Estate
15.9 mi away
Chrislin African Lodge
17.3 mi away
De Old Drift Guest Farm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kronenhoff Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kronenhoff Guest House

Property: Kronenhoff Guest House
Address: 1 Sonop Street, Kirkwood, Sundays River Valley 6120, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Sundays River Valley > Kirkwood
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kronenhoff Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kronenhoff Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing