We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very hospitable and comfy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lemon3Lodge Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 7 Kirkwood B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very hospitable and comfy”
Reviewed 22 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed here only one night on our trip through South Africa, but it was a very good night. Proper beds in a spacious room (we had room 5, one of the bigger ones).

Very helpful owner who not only gave us recommendations for sightseeing in the area but also recommended how to drive from there to our next two locations (!) and what to do there. The advice turned out great so that was excellent service.

I rated the location as average since it's a little far from Addo national park and Kirkwood itself isn't very touristy, but it was worth the drive.

Breakfast was nice with freshly baked bread and more choice than I would expect from a guesthouse.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ijansch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    30
    2
    4
    2
See reviews for
23
69
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Surrounded by orchards, quietly situated, we found this trendy lodge. Complete with pool, spacious rooms and very good beds. A great breakfast and a host who makes you a nice dinner, when on sundays the restaurants are closed.
Host and owner Diederik feeds you with heaps of usefull tips, arranges daytrips, makes reservations and is a very socially engaged man. As co-founder of the Nkosi foundation he supports activities in the local townships and can talk about this in an inspiring way. A very good Lodge that -if desired- can also give depth to your stay and makes you understand SA better.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Irene d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
211 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We stayed at Lemon3 Lodge for only one night. The owner is most hospitable and told us to make ourselves at home in their lounge area. He was going out for the evening but left us to do our own thing. The bedroom was adequate--a bit sparse but hey you are only there one night. No TV in the room but there is one in the lounge area (unfortunately we couldn't figure out how to change channels but that's OK).. We were told only one restaurant was open on a Sat night so we went to the local supermarket and bought some cooked chicken and salad and wine and took it back to Lemon3. Worked well. The breakfast was very good and we even got a proper expresso coffee which we were greatful for.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussiepam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Ver nice rooms, great staff and cute little restaurant. The tourist info recommended us to this easy to find hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Enterprise, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We stayed at the Lemon3Lodge for three nights between Christmas and New Year this year and had a wonderful stay. We had made reservations with Diederik a couple of months in advance because it was the busy season and had asked Diederik what were some of the sights in the area that we would want to see. He recommended Addo Elephant Park, the Schotia Game Reserve and the Daniel Cheetah Breeding Project, all of which we would recommend. He also offered to make reservations for us at Schotia and the Cheetah Breeding Project, which we took him up on, and we would highly recommend having reservations at these popular places especially if you are visiting during the high season. Diederik and his partner also support two projects at the local townships and gave us a “tour” of the local township and the food pantry and foster children projects that they are supporting. On one of the nights we shared a delicious dinner cooked by Diederik with a fun couple from Italy. The Lemon3Lodge and Diederik’s hospitality was a highlight of our visit to South Africa.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeHay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
114 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Although we did not really find anything wrong with Lemon3Lodge, it did not totally live up to our expectations either. Our room was very good and clean, Oscar is an excellent host and the breakfast was good. We booked dinner in advance, but was only told on arrival that they no longer serve dinners. We had to drive a couple of kilometers into town to get something to eat that night. It remains good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whalerboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elst holland
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2011

Our first time in the Addo Region was a big succes, thanks to the many elephants we saw, but also because of the hosts of Lemon3lodge! What a pretty lodge they run amidst the lemon and orange orchards. We enjoyed ourselves a lot by the pool and the hosts took their time to explain about all the things the region has to offer.
The rooms were beautiful and luckily cool thanks to the airco. Breakfast was good with an eye for detail and finally a lodge with some good coffee!!
Next time we visit the Addo area, we most certainly will be going back to Lemon3lodge......

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hamoen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkwood
18.4 mi away
Homestead B&B
Homestead B&B
#10 of 21 in Addo
108 reviews
1.6 mi away
Umlambo B&B and River Camp
1.5 mi away
Kronenhoff Guest House
Kronenhoff Guest House
#2 of 7 in Kirkwood
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Happy Lands B&B
Happy Lands B&B
#6 of 21 in Addo
189 reviews
15.8 mi away
Addo Dung Beetle Guest Farm
18.7 mi away
De Old Drift Guest Farm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lemon3Lodge Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lemon3Lodge Guesthouse

Property: Lemon3Lodge Guesthouse
Address: R336 Main Road | Addo Elephant National Park, Kirkwood, Sundays River Valley 6120, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Sundays River Valley > Kirkwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lemon3Lodge Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern and trendy 4 star guesthouse near Addo Elephant National Park. Air conditioned double rooms with en-suite bathroom, Coffee- and tea facility, comfortable chairs, writing desk, TV and free WiFi. Swimming pool, sundeck, shade, garden and a 4 ha lemon orchard. Lounge with DSTV- international, dvd, music, book, information and a honesty bar. Safe off street parking. Wireless internet available all over the venue. Breakfast with yoghurts, muesli, cornflakes, fruits, fruit salade, cheeses, cold meats, tomato, cucumber, marmalade, Dutch sweets and a selection for fresh bread and toast. Meet & greet the locals during our Nkosi FOundation township tour where we visit our cooking project. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Lemon3Lodge Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing