We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem of a hotel tucked away in Cappadocia” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gamirasu Cave Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gamirasu Cave Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ayvali
Certificate of Excellence
India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A gem of a hotel tucked away in Cappadocia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2007

We had a fantastic time during our stay at Gamirasu Cave Hotel - from the moment we stepped in (after a grueling overnight bus ride from Istanbul) until we left three days later.

The hotel is secluded and tucked away in a small village, away from the hustle and bustle of the larger towns in Cappadocia. The ambience of the hotel is wonderful, warm and welcoming - from the patio with the great valley view to the dining room and, of course, the guest rooms. The management has taken great pains to restore the caves that house the hotel, and our rooms were amazing -- great attention to detail and to the comfort of the guests.

What made the hotel a truly special experience for us, however, was the staff. They were incredibly welcoming, friendly and went out of their way to make our stay a true delight. Baris, Gumus, Abdullah and the owner, Ibrahim, took us in hand and arranged our tours, dinners and a trip to Avanos. This attention was an incredibly refreshing change from what we had encountered in the other hotels we stayed in during our trip, and made us feel that we were part of a family and not mere guests!

The food at the hotel is very good. We were not sure what to expect but, to our surprise and delight, found ourselves served with excellent local wine and a four course meal! The breakfasts also rank among the best we had on our entire trip - loads of fresh local fruit, breads, eggs and a spread of jams. Very very different from the "cereal/bread/jam/one fruit we had encountered in the other hotels.

Despite the secluded location of the hotel, getting around to the main towns is not an issue. The hotel offers a free service to and from Urgup and the staff are very willing to arrange transportation.

If you are looking for a television set in your room or the bustle of a larger town or restaurants/activity within walking distance, then Gamirasu is definitely NOT the hotel for you. If, however, you seek a secluded location, ambience, warm surroundings and a taste of the real Turkey, then Gamirasu Cave Hotel is the place for you!

I am planning my next trip to Turkey - and another visit to the Gamirasu Cave Hotel is definitely included in my itinerary

  • Liked — Comfortable, charming, great attention to detail
  • Disliked — Cave rooms can be a bit chilly
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TAMemberIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    828
    79
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
215
411
35
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
328 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2007

We had a wonderful time during our two night stay at the Gamirasu Cave Hotel. Our tours were arranged with the hotel (one private tour, one group tour) and they were both wonderful. We particularly enjoyed Birsen (spelling?) our guide on the group tour. The hotel staff were wonderful and the food was great! They also have a good list of Turkish wines that go perfectly with the meals. I would highly recommend this hotel if your travel plans take you to the magial land of fairy chimneys!

  • Liked — The character of the hotel
  • Disliked — climbing the stairs to the restaurant!
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank rubybouvier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2007

From the time we arrived at Kayseri airport until we were returned to the airport after 4 nights, this hotel was amazing. It actually felt more like a well staffed home than a hotel.

Our room was actually a suite of two bedrooms, a living area and a bath (an upgrade over what we had booked) which was very comfortable, clean and well appointed. The linens were beautiful. I believe this was the least expensive of the hotels we stayed in in Turkey and there is no question that it offered incredible value for the money.

This hotel is in a tiny village about 10 miles outside the main town of Urgup. Being in the village was great and very quiet. Anytime we wanted to go anywhere outside the village, somebody from the hotel would drive us into town and when we were done with our sightseeing for the day, we would just call and someone would immediately come to pick us up. Sometimes it was a driver, sometimes a hotel employee and sometime the owner of the hotel.

The meals at Gamirasu were unsurpassed. Every dinner was a five course meal of local specialties and great value for the money. Everything was fresh and delicious. The wines were excellent. The indoor dining room was very homey. The outdoor dining terrace was great.

The staff of the hotel couldn't be more helpful and friendly. From arranging cars, to shuttling us around, to advising on sightseeing options, everyone was great. Our drivers were always on time and spoke good English.

In short, we stayed in 4 hotels on this trip to Turkey and I've stayed in many more on prior trips. Gamirasu was the best and most pleasant place I have stayed in Turkey.

Although I was travelling with a friend, I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LovesToTravel47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2007

I wasn't going to place a review here as my co-traveler Gora14 did such a good job! But this place really deserves as many plaudits as possible.

This was the most magical place I have ever stayed.
I can only tell you to read my friend's review which mirrors my experience exactly.

I was a lone adult with a 5-yr-old and all I can say is that 3 1/2 months later, we are still talking about our experience & rubbing it in to my husband what he missed!
I loved every little thing about it & wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel to anyone.

Do not stay here if you like or expect standard Hilton-style rooms, as the rooms are all individual & have their own idiosyncracies. Ours was not a cave room, but I loved it to pieces & my daughter was captivated from minute one. Why anyone should complain that there is no tv is beyond me - why look at a tv when you have a roof-top restaurant with unique & stunning views on which to while-away an evening. Our room also had a delightful Juliet balcony which overlooked the caves on the other side of the ravine.

The staff were lovely, from Filiz the receptionist, to the cleaners, and any nervousness about having 5 kids in-tow were swept aside by their aims to please.

I have to say that even at my age, I had a tear in my eye when we said goodbye.
It was a wonderful, wonderful holiday.

  • Liked — Absolutely everything
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed June 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bottams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2007

We stayed 2 nights in Gamirasu Cave Hotel on 20 and 21 August 2007.
First impression was great view arround, and totally relaxed atmosphere of this place.
And very good staff in all, especially Filiz, and that moment chief of the reception..
After good food (local Turkish food) and rest in big bed, during the nights and mornings was so great silance...
Ideal place to rest from city noise and traffic..
We really recomend this hotel... It is also one of few hotels, which are real cave hotels! ... not only by name.
Bogdan from Poland,
Jean Pierre from France

  • Liked — Views arround and inside hotel, and great silance
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Bomis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aussie in London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2007

Gamirasu is a really beautiful cave hotel nestled in gorgeous gardens. The staff are fantastic, particularly Felice who gave us loads of useful information for planning our stay in Cappadocia. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff at Gamirasu, they are so genuinely helpful and friendly. The breakfast and dinner are really nice aswell! Also don't worry about getting to/from Urgup from Gamirasu, they are able to take you there and back as necessary for free (although we did hire a car for our time in Cappadocia and would recommend this as a cost effective way to explore the region at your own pace).

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank skippyspots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2007

The Gamirasu Cave Hotel was an amazing place to stay. The hotel was tucked away in a small friendly village. It was a beautiful little spot among the cave houses.

The staff were beyond friendly and helpful. We arrived at the hotel after dinner time was over, however, they served us as well as many other people. The food was so good that we couldn't imagine eating in any other place. In addition, we had 1 day in the cappadocia region and the hotel staff helped arrange a rental car for us and helped us plan the sights we were to see in a day. They made our visit very easy and enjoyable.

The room (#6) was amazing! We felt like royalty staying in this suite. Unfortunately we didn't have as much time to hang out in the room as we would have liked.

  • Liked — comfortable, huge beds, luxury bathroom
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank klh10009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ayvali
6.6 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
7.0 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#13 of 27 in Uchisar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
6.4 mi away
Yunak Evleri
Yunak Evleri
#7 of 64 in Urgup
5.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Argos in Cappadocia
Argos in Cappadocia
#7 of 27 in Uchisar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
7.0 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Resort & Spa
5.9 mi away
MDC Hotel
MDC Hotel
#8 of 64 in Urgup
5.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gamirasu Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gamirasu Cave Hotel

Property: Gamirasu Cave Hotel
Address: Ayvali, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup > Ayvali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ayvali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gamirasu Cave Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gamirasu is the name of an exquisitely restored 35 rooms troglodyte cave house opened in 1998, in Ayvali Village near Urgup in the heart of Cappadocia, Turkey. The hotel is located in a restored thousand-year-old Byzantine monastic retreat which offers modern conveniences without distracting from the spiritual feeling of the area which has been known to be inhabited for more than five thousand years. Gamirasu cave Hotel is featured in major international travel guides as one of the best cave hotels of Cappadocia. Recently Business Insider choose '' 50 incredible hotels you should sleep in during your lifetime '' It is also mentioned as a romantic escape for honeymoons in wedding magazines. A 12th century Byzantine Christian church forms part of the Gamirasu, and until recently, part of the hotel was still used by Christian monks. Much care has been taken to blend the historic facades with the natural curves of the Cappadocian landscape to preserve its traditional style and appearance whilst providing you with the utmost in modern conveniences. The finish is stylish and the atmosphere inviting and romantic. Indeed, it is the perfect honeymoon destination, with many couples choosing the intimate cave suites for access to some of the most breathtaking and unforgettable scenery in the world. The sense of tranquility and authentic village atmosphere around the Gamirasu is instantly soothing, with nothing to disturb you but the sound of birds and sumptuous aromas drifting across the warm air from the old Monastic kitchen. Breakfast consists of all local and organically grown produce, including freshly baked bread, clotted cream, honeycomb and fresh fruit. A 7km hiking trail departs from the front door of the hotel and follows a remote valley with a beautiful brook flowing down the middle. In every direction, you are surrounded by breathtaking views, extraordinary natural shapes and a myriad of cave-dwellings to explore. It really is the most mesmerizing of destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Prestigia so you can book your Gamirasu Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gamirasu Cave Urgup
Hotel Gamirasu Cave
Gamirasu Cave Hotel Turkey/Ayvali, Cappadocia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing